We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great course and lovely clubhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dornoch Golf Club

Royal Dornoch Golf Club
Golf Road | Dornoch, Dornoch IV25 3LW, Scotland
44 (0)1862 810219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Dornoch
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Old Tom Morris in 1886, this challenging, historic course has spectacular views of the North Sea and goes almost straight out and straight back, with the angle changing subtly at each hole.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great course and lovely clubhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Played 2 days in September 2012 and both courses were in superb condition. Ate in the clubhouse on both days and thoroughly enjoyed our whole experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    17
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortingall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you play golf and want to experience something special, go to RDGC. I got a hot, sunny day with no wind - the course is phenomenal, a tribute to those who created and reshaped it along the way. The scenery is amazing and the day will live in my memory.

Tom Watson was asked "What's the toughest shot in golf, Tom?". He responded quickly, "Your second to the second at RDGC!". It's only 140 yards long - but not many walk onto the third tee with a score worth returning. Me included.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Great Golf, but Kinda Misses on Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

You can't say enough about this great old golf course -- every shot is a challenge, every vista is stunning, every par akin to winning a Nobel prize. But another reviewer, "Hudsondeal", got it exactly right -- they treat visitors with some disdain. They take your money but don't share their heart. I probably won't be back... there are a hundred other great golf courses in Scotland. Drive up the road to Brora for a real welcome and even better golf.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful except for lack of welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Royal Dornoch is one of the great golf courses of the world, and it's a privilege to play it. But a great golf course should also have a great staff that takes pride in welcoming every golfer who walks through the door as if he or she was a member -- having played often at courses like Winged Foot, Shinnecock, and Cypress Point, where I am sadly not a member, I can tell you that is the case at those courses. Royal Dornoch needs to fix this problem sooner rather than later.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not beyond the means of mere mortals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We did not have time to play Royal Dornoch but had the opportunity to look at its condition and enquire about green fees.
The course looked to be in superb condition (I have never seen better). I was unaware that there is a second course there being the Struie. Whilst clearly not as challenging a course as the primary one it is nonetheless in immaculate condition and a twilight ticket to play it represents superb value for money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Dornoch Golf Club also viewed

Dalcross, Scottish Highlands
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Brora, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Royal Dornoch Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Dornoch Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.