We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burghfield House

Burghfield House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Burghfield House to your Saves list
Burghfield House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnoc-an Lobht, Dornoch IV25 3HW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
1 review
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Burghfield 22/23 February 2013 following recommendation from my brother in law. When we arrived we received a warm welcome on cold, windy day. There was a roaring log fire in the hallway, just lovely! Our room (room 2) was HUGE!, beautifully decorated and well equipped. We booked for dinner on Friday evening... We were led to candlelit room, with stained glass windows. The service and food was superb!! Could not have asked for any better. After venturing out for the evening and returning to the room for some well deserved rest, we discovered the most comfortable bed ever! Breakfast in the morning was also very good! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the burghfield and hope to return again in the summer! We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dornoch. Ideal for locals too if they fancy something to eat!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Burghfield. From check-in to check-out, the whole experience was brilliant! Unfortunately we were the only people in the whole hotel which is a shame for them, but great for us. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was perfect. Our room was very clean, big and had great views (room 3).

The Burghfield will now be our number one 'go to' hotel in Dornoch. It's great value for money as well. Try and book in for dinner on a Friday night, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try and reserve rooms 2 or 3, they are the biggest and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballater
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

As retired hotelier I was keen to experience the hotel as training is sadly lacking in many establishments. On arrival (tuesday) after finding the receptionist we checked in and requested a table for dinner @ 7pm - response - our restaurant is only open on a friday & saturday !! Our room was a large double & clean but only 1 seat. The bed was so soft it resembled sleeping on a sponge. Breakfast, whilst fine, did not relate to what was on the menu !! Some management training is needed here !!

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We married on 1st October in my husband's church of St Finbarrs in Dornoch and had our reception at the Burghfield. Absolutely first class service from staff and students alike giving us and our friends and families treasured memories. A very special place!
Julie Bhatti

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Well maybe not quite in that league and many things about the hotel were great. The rooms were really comfortable, we had a really friendly welcome and the lunch and two breakfasts that we had there were absolutely fine. But one or two occurrences made us wonder if we were on television. On our first morning our group of ten ordered breakfast. After 25 minutes the waiter emerged and asked if if we would kindly repeat our orders so that he could ensure that he had taken them correctly. On our second morning we awoke a little after 8am on Sunday after a wedding and a very late night to the sound of a window cleaner happily cleaning our windows. Fortunately we had closed our curtains. Our freinds next door had not and had the surprise of their lives.
Hey ho. We won't be going back.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, walking distance to the shops in Dornoch, lovely setting and grounds, staff is friendly and helpful, knowing they are in training helps make you a little more patient, the breakfast was slow, but ohh so good!! The oatmeal was the best I had in Scotland!! Croissants wonderful, buttery and fresh!
We were very comfortable here. The price was very reasonable.
We would stay again if we are fortunate enough to return to the area.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms so make your reservation early. Ask for a corner room, the view is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I was very impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the room which had great views and a gorgeous big bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the time it took for breakfast to arrive. I had to wait half an hour for my cooked breakfast so I only had time for a few mouthfuls before I had to leave as I was there for work and had a meeting to attend. I understand that this is a training hotel but the room wasn't cheap and if breakfast was due to take longer than usual it would have been nice to have been warned, or be able to order in advance. It was a shame as the quality of the food was fantastic when it did arrive but I didn't get to eat it! I would stay again but factor in a much more leisurely breakfast next time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burghfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghfield House

Address: Cnoc-an Lobht, Dornoch IV25 3HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burghfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burghfield House is a fine country house settled in one of the Scottish Highlands' historic cathedral towns. Offering high quality accommodation, fine dining, and bespoke event hosting, the hotel has something for everyone. Burghfield House, operated by The North Highland College, is unique. It is run as a training hotel. Burghfield House provides a learning, teaching, and commercial environment, featuring a private dining or conference room, a lounge which can accommodate up to forty people, a thirty seat restaurant, and six letting bedrooms. The design, decor, and furnishings combine to provide a subtle blend of modern efficiency with traditional comforts. Dornoch itself is an ideal destination for short breaks and business conferences. Its proximity to Inverness makes it easily accessible, and a wide range of activities such as golf, fishing, stalking, bird watching, and walking are available within the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Burghfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghfield House Dornoch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burghfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.