We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay by Royal Dornoch Golf Links” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Golf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The First Tee, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay by Royal Dornoch Golf Links”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I usually expect golf hotels to be somewhat spartan. This is definitely not the case with the Royal Dornoch Golf Hotel. The building is a magnificent mansion. Rooms are relatively large and extremely comfortable--all furnishing were new. The bar and leisure room were very inviting. Golfers could relax and talk about their round or watch the big screen TV over a pint. The restaurant overlooks the magnificent views of the golf course and served some of the best food I had in Scotland on my recent trip. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Best of all, the hotel is right next to the Royal Dornoch Golf Links clubhouse. You walk from your room to the first tee. All-in-all I had a wonderful stay and plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for view of golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear StephenJ,
Thank you for your very generous and kind review posted recently following your stay at The Royal Golf Hotel.
Naturally I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. A fine compliment indeed to say chefs food is some of the best you have tasted in Scotland during your trip !
We do believe that the walk from the hotel reception to the first tee is probably the shortest in the world from a hotel to a golf course !
I do look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch and The Royal Golf in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
58
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we arrived to the hotel, I though that ok another old old hotel looking quite good but providing mediocre quality. And how wrong was I.
The rooms are very nice and modern - actually when you walk the corridors you would not guess that the rooms are so nice.
The FOOD! This part was the biggest surprise for us. Head Chef (Sam) is really a world class chef. The seafood risotto that was served was so good - probably one of the best risottos I have had. Also other parts of our menu was very good. The food was supported by great wines we found from their wine list.
Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Panu R,
Firstly may I thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on tripadvisor following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch.
Infact it was the Head Chef, Sam, who drew my attention to the fact we had received another review. It was no wonder he mentioned it considering the nature of the review ! You wouldn't believe how many guests are truly delighted with his Seafood Riosotto. This is his signature dish and it never fails to impress.
To say he is 'world class' is a fantastic compliment and we are very grateful for your comments and enjoyment of the food.
Thank you again and I hope we can offer Highland Hospitality to you once more in the future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

One of the best golf experiences lies 300 feet from your door. Inside awaits a cozy, exquisitely furnished living room/ bar area for after your round. Upstairs the rooms are fairly newly rennovated. Our Ross suite was Scottish in decor, comfy, new large bathroom with great shower. Bed excellent. Large windows overlooking the first tee, eighteen green, and Donoch Firth.

Friendly, efficient staff. And good dinner too. We ate here one night, delicious.

Room Tip: ross suite overlooks first tee. bed is an american king. the singles are tiny, but do the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear othello 1111,
Thank you for your wonderful review posted recently following your stay with us. You certainly appear to have enjoyed all aspects of your stay which is very pleasing and I do hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Golf Hotel for two nights in August, 2012: Its staff was very welcoming and helpful; the room was comfortable and clean; and the food in the restaurant served cheerfully. I would definitely stay at the Royal Golf Hotel again simply for the excellent service and, of course, proximity to the golf course.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Hudsondeal,
Thank you so much for your kind review posted recently following your stay here in April.
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Dornoch and The Royal Golf Hotel. I hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Were not for its location, this hotel would not merit a 4/5 rating. The hotel is expensive and needs upgrading. The bed sagged - not really acceptable in a high-end hotel and the bathroom needed sprucing up. Carpeting in the common areas was somewhat worn and should be replaced. Breakfast was good and overall, service was excellent. People were helpful and most accommodating. We loved the views and access to the golf course and phenominal beach. This hotel has great fundamentals and could easily be ranked 5/5 if these elements were addressed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Anne D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel.
I take on board your constructive comments. I have to admit I am slightly baffled by your observation about the sagging bed as the mattresses were all renewed just over two years ago and should still be in excellent condition. We will of course check all the beds in order to discover if there is a problem with one of them. During last winter we re-furbished 16 of our 22 bathrooms to a lovely stylish and contemporary standard so I can only deduce that you stayed in one of the rooms where the bathroom was an existing one.We felt these bathrooms were still in excellent condition, however we will now review this based on your comments. If you get an opportunity to e-mail me on the hotel address just to let me know which room you stayed in that would be really appreciated. As you may know we close during the winter from mid November until Mid March so will be carrying out maintenance during this period which includes the points you mention.
I am pleased you found the service to be excellent and you thought the team were helpful.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you get the chance to visit us again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a great hotel for a golfing stay, with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, although our upper level room didn't have many windows and no view at all. The restaurant was fantastic, in terms of both the high quality of the food, good service, great ambience and wonderful outlook over the golf course.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Deat popjm,
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel. Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food and ambiance, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dornoch in the future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I recently decided at the last minute to alter our travel plans to include Dornoch as a place to visit. So glad we did as this turned out to be the hidden gem! The staff at this hotel were great...the hotel was just as good as the staff. We awoke our first morning to the sound of a tee shot from the first tee as our room overlooked the first tee! Pure delight! The town was gorgeous....only regret was we did not have more time there! No question we will return and will look forward to staying here again...loved it!...hotel and golf highlight! I have been fortunate to golf in a fair number of places around the world and this hotel/golf combination is right at the top!

Room Tip: Ask for the Donald Ross suite!....overlooks the 1st tee! Wow!!! The gorse was in full bloom in mid m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear rodjcalgary,
Thank you so much for posting your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel.
Naturally I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a magnificent review to say this golf course/hotel combination is one of the best !
I am so pleased that you changed your travel plans at the last minute. I do hope you will visit us again before long and remember to allow more time to spend here!!
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel

Address: The First Tee, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Golf Hotel, is perfectly situated overlooking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Championship Golf Course, the 6th best golf course in the world as judged by Golf Digest. All 22 bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard, most having superb views across the golf course and the Dornoch Firth beyond. Free WiFi internet access. The Conservatory Restaurant serves locally sourced,fresh seasonal food in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.