We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bumblebee Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bumblebee Cottage
Save
You added Bumblebee Cottage to your Saves list
Embo Street | Hilton of Embo, Dornoch IV25 3PW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Bumblebee Cottage is a wonderful place to stay. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated with a spacious ensuite. Fresh milk in the room was a nice touch. There is also a separate sitting room for guests to use. It was nice to have the extra space to relax in, and because Bumblebee Cottage only has one guest room, you can have the sitting room all to yourself. Breakfast was great, served in the sitting room looking out over Esther and Steve's beautiful garden. Esther's homemade jams are delicious, my favourite being the gooseberry jam.

The best thing for me about Bumblebee Cottage was our host, Esther. We wanted to stay longer just so we could learn more from Esther about gardening, being self-sufficient and her wonderful lifestyle. Esther is one of those people you come across every now and then in life who is a true inspiration and has a wonderful soul.

Bumblebee Cottage is a fantastic B&B with wonderful hosts. I wish I could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We visited Bumblebee cottage over a year ago (June 2011) and promised ourselves we would recommend it but somehow it slipped off the to-do list. We agree with all the other very positive reviews. This is a real gem of a B&B with very friendly hosts and great accommodation & food. We bought some home made jam and also recommend that.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A very warm welcome from Esther and Steve on our arrival as always. Room very spacious and comfortable, bathroom had bath and seperate shower. Fresh milk provided each day in small flask instead of those silly little cartons, this along with the other extra touches such as flowers and small dish of sweets, made the stay even more enjoyable. The garden and views of Dornach Firth were excellent. Highly recommended, just sorry we did not stay longer.

Room Tip: Room very comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

esther was very friendly and helpful went out her way to help us

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We only stayed one night on our way home from Orkney, but Esther and Steve made us very welcome. Our room was spotless, well-appointed and beautiful. we also had use of a lovely lounge where an excellent breakfast was served.

The garden is absolutely glorious and I just wish we'd had time for a little wander.
We'll definitely come back again. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

A beautiful setting, fantastic comfort with everything thoughtfully provided. Highly recommended. An exceptional place to stay. Glad to be made welcome as a solo traveller in a quieter time of the year.

Room Tip: There is only one! that is part of the attraction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Wonderful quirky cottage,lovely lovely people and superb breakfast served in your own private dining room looking over the fabulous garden to the sea, Perfect. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, if you're travelling anywhere in the area its worth going out of you way for, my only regret is that we were so busy chatting I forgot to buy eggs and some 0f Esthers delicios jam

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bumblebee Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumblebee Cottage

Address: Embo Street | Hilton of Embo, Dornoch IV25 3PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumblebee Cottage stand on an elevated site with beautiful scenic views enjoying peace and tranquility. Your suite of rooms will provide you with all the home comforts you are used to and more. The beach is a fifteen minute walk away and a short drive will take you to some lovely local walks.The warmest of welcomes awaits you at Bumblebee Cottage and our aim is to make your stay as special as the area is. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bumblebee Cottage Dornoch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumblebee Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.