We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sun holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park to your Saves list
Embo Beach, Dornoch | Sutherland, Dornoch IV25 3QD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Livingston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sun holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

just back from a weekend here and had a great time, caravan was superb, site was brilliant, also had good weather, will go back again, got it through sun holidays and upgraded, very reasonable. there was a couple of guys on singing on the saturday night in the club, don't know there name but they were brilliant,also tried the restuarant and found it very good.

Room Tip: allow 5hrs from central belt with a stop for lunch. and worth upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    70
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
123
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to go for a short break with kids especially if the sun is shining. Fab location on the beach although not much to do if weather is wet. Caravan very clean and beds comfy. Only gripe is you have to pre-book swimming.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from a Monday to Friday stay at Grannies Heilan Hame and we had a lovely relaxing break. We were really lucky with the caravan that was allocated to us as it was a privately owned van and it was beautiful, a real show home - central heating, ensuite toilet, lovely decor and spotlessly clean. Excellent value considering we came courtesy of the Sun voucher package.

We didn't use any of the facilities so cannot comment on them, but the caravan park is situated in a fantastic location for touring the Highlands, but you definitely need a car. The nearest town is Dornoch which is 3 miles away.

The beaches are amazing, although the beach directly near the park is a bit rocky, and a bit sea weedy, keep walking a bit further either left or right and the beach widens out to a beautiful expanse of white sand. It is a lovely walk from the site into Dornoch, stop for coffee and stroll back alongside the golf course. If you drive the scenic coast road from Embo to the A9 you will see the seals sunbathing on the sandbanks.

During our stay we visited John O'Groats (not much there but good to say you have been!), Tongue which is right at the top of Scotland, and Dunrobin Castle where the falconry display was very informative and entertaining with birds sweeping low over our heads.

The whole stay was really enjoyable, weather could have been a bit better, but that is always out of our control and certainly didn't spoil the holiday. Just make sure you pack clothes for every occasion - wind rain and sun!

Room Tip: Our caravan was P66, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a mon to fri stay and it was awful, the electricity kept tripping out on our caravan we reported it everyday and somedays twice a day, my husband had to get up 6 times through the night to go out and turn the electricity back on, it finally got fixed at 7pm on the Thursday evening we were leaving the next day and had to be out by 10am.
My children enjoyed the evening entertainment, the staff were really good and the kids had lots of fun.
The pool you have to book the day before and if you haven't booked by 9am you haven't got a chance of getting a space.
We complained and they did give us back part of our money, unfortunately in vouchers I certainly won't be going back to Dornoch will have to try elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A great journey up the A9 from Glasgow with scenery all around to die for, we arrived to this quaint little holiday park & were greeted at first by a dust storm from a nearby crop farmland. Reception check-in was very quick, my partner & I were given an 8 berth caravan No.89 right next to all the amenities.
On the top floor of the amenities centre was a bar/restaurant, bar/entertainment & the reception itself. The lower level consisted of Grocer/gift shop, takeaway, games room with slot machines, arcade games & mini tenpin bowling alley with 2 lanes. Also on the bottom level was the swimming pool with Jacuzzi with separate sauna & solarium. The swimming had to be booked in advance at the reception to avoid overcrowding. In the park there was a good size play area for the young kids & and an area set aside for dog walkers.
We only used the entertainment the once, it was ok but nothing brilliant. The usual bingo, quiz then singer with music at the end of the evening. Children are asked at end of the evening to stay seated with their parents, but not every parent took heed of this & it kind of spoilt my night as I like a wee dance at the end of the night but not with young children running around the floor. Think this should be more addressed as the kids get their time at the beginning of the evening.
0n to the park itself, it really is set in an awesome, quiet location a couple of miles outside Dornoch town. The scenery is fantastic with loads of different wildlife.
We pretty much used this as a base to explore further northeast to the villages & towns up the A9 right up to John O' Groats. I would recommend this beautiful part of Scotland, if only we could guarantee the good weather!!

Room Tip: Caravan looking on to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having booked a "dog friendly" van, I was very apprehensive about it having read previous reviews, however, I was very pleasantly surprised. We had a nice modern centrally heated van (much needed as the weather outside was freezing) with a first class view over the absolutely beautiful beach, and was very clean apart from a few stray dog hairs from previous occupants, but really nothing major.

The site has had quite a revamp since we were last there, and is very tidy and fresh, although the pool changing is still old fashioned, with no family changing available. A shame 'cos it is a nice, warm wee pool.

The beach is fabulous with very clean golden sand, and also lots or rock pools, and you can walk for miles. Great for walking dogs, and for the kids. It was absolutely freezing when we were there, but, dressed for the weather, we still enjoyed it.

Great kids playpark, large and catering from young to older children.

The evening entertainment consisted of live acts at the weekend, which were singers of decent standards, and a balloon act on the Tuesday, which was quite amusing (unexpectedly). At other times there was the resident singer who was OK. There was also kiddie entertainment which we did not go to. Husband not amused that they did not sell his favorite Belhaven brew, but it seems usual for these type of sites to sell limited brands.

Overall, a great week though. came home chilled.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just back from a long weekend at Grannies Heilan Hame. I have mixed opinions on this site so I will split by pros and cons....

Pros
Stayed in a brand new Pentland caravan number N26 The Views. It was a 3 bedroom with a central lounge 2 bedrooms toilet/shower at one end and the double bedroom and another toilet/shower at the other end. Flat screen tv with dvd player. Beautiful fancy fire with multi coloured back lighting. Washer dryrer in a separate room. An absolute gorgeous caravan and I would say the best I have ever been in.

Location right by the beach. Did not get to spend any time on it due to the weather however I would imagine this would be a very pretty beach in the summer time.

The staff were excellent in every department. From the reception to the friendly shop keeper - every one of the staff we came across actually. My son celebrated turning 4 whilst here and Zoe on reception kindly organised a reserved table for a night show with balloons. He was taken up on the stage by Sid and Lizzy and had Happy Birthday sung to him and was presented with his birthday cake. Was very pleased with this and my son was delighted.

Cons
Amusements/arcade was very dingy and had not a lot of things to do. A couple of the machines were faulty also - the ones where you try to win a cuddly toy (the hand grab type thing) had a mind of its own with you having no control over. You were never ever going to win!!!

The Munch Box takeaway - disgusting to be honest. Please dont waste your money here. Use the restaurant instead which was better.

Daytime entertainment for the kids was very very poor with not much going on.

To summarise I would not rule out a return to Grannies. It is in a beautiful part of Scotland and we visited areas nearby - Loch Ness Falls of Shin to name a few - so as a base it would be great. The site itself just needs a little bit more pizazz in my opinion.

Room Tip: Choose a Pentland caravan and you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park

Address: Embo Beach, Dornoch | Sutherland, Dornoch IV25 3QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dornoch
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone loves to stay at Grannie's!And it's easy to see why. This Grannie's got a heated indoor pool and nine hole crazy golf, an adventure play park on the sand and direct access to legendary Embo beach. Lucky guests can spot bottlenose dolphins across the Dornoch Firth, and get out and about to explore castles, waterfalls and wildlife parks. Yes, there's plenty here for everyone and their granny!* Set by the famous white sands of Embo beach * A superb location for exploring The Highlands * Magnificent views of the Dornoch Firth * Heated indoor pool with spa bath and sauna * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grannie`s Heilan` Hame Hotel Dornoch
Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park Dornoch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.