We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park to your Saves list
Embo Beach, Dornoch | Sutherland, Dornoch IV25 3QD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Elgin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been going to Embo for over 25 years now. More when I was younger I must admit, but now I have a son I wanted him to go too. I love it there, but unfortunately it is getting to the point of needing some up-datng. The games room/arcade is not a pleasant place to be. It's dark, dingy and needing a good scrub to be honest. Un-boarding the windows would be a good start - letting natural light into a room always helps! The pool was great, clean and safe. Reception satff were fantastic. The static caravan we had was great, we had everything we needed. But the biggest bonus point? The beach. The beach is stunning. It has never changed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
118
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We travelled for the first time with our 23 month old daughter to Grannies from the North East, after a long drive we were pleased to arrive at the caravan park. Although a little dated in reception the staff were welcoming and very pleasant.
Our caravan was ready at 4pm and as we had never experienced a caravan holiday before we were a little unsure what to expect. To our surprise the caravan was fantastic (No 59) clean, spacious, modern. Our daughter loved it too and found it great to explore. Although we arrived when the weather was taking a turn for the worse (we went the week of the floods at the end of sept) we spent Tuesday in the caravan all day and it was very warm and cosy.
The rest of the week was much better weather wise so we were able to explore the area. We didn't use the facilities on site much so cant comment too much on that, though my daughter loved the park there, and she loved the beach, which I have to stay is stunning even in stormy weather - it was fun to watch the waves (we were right on the beach front) and the sun rises were amazing when the sun came out towards the end of the week, we loved going exploring on the beach for shells etc.
The shop was well stocked in case you forgotten anything and we did go to the restaurant on the Thursday evening and the food was fine, not a huge menu, typical bar grub but was cooked well and tasted good. The staff in the restaurant were very good and accommodating especially with our toddler, especially when my daughter was playing peek-a-boo with one of the staff members!
We visited Falls of Shin - good fun, Dunrobin Castle - well worth a visit, Glenmorangie Distillary - we had wanted to take the tour but the lady organising the tour forgot to mention all the steps and was quite abrupt with us when we were about to start the tour so we told her we wouldn't bother and left.
All in all, a much enjoyed trip. We would definitely go back which I feel is a sign of a good holiday and we would try and go for longer than the 4 nights as there is so much to explore if you enjoy that.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view property where possible, the views are amazing and such a lovely sight to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

+ stunning scenery in all directions, picture perfect sun rises over the sea, long golden beach, abundant bird & sea life, decent dog walks, variety of outdoor entertainment for kids, plenty of space between the caravans of this well set out park.

- caravan was a disgrace! dirty (bean covered handprinted) net curtains, chocolate (presuming & hoping) coated kettle handle & draining board, greasy & sausage roll marked oven tray, coffee stained fire hearth, cigarette burns in carpet at front door & double bedroom, large chunk missing out of kitchen floor, double bedroom heater inadequate as was the tog rating on the duvets provided, torn & ragged carpet in main area, pile of rice krispies under seat cushioning at dining table (must have been important & left for later), tv screen the same size of a national newspaper folded!

I did inform the booking agent that I was taking a dog & paid the appropriate fee as required. I presumed that this would be for a deep cleaning process afterwards. I did not realise that I would be provided with a sub-standard van.

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan with an odd number in the 21 & below....uninterrupted view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetholm
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was like a bad version of fawlty towers, the staff were rushed off their feet all the time with no obvious signs of receiving any training, every time we ventured into the bar and restaurant we were just left to fend for our selves with no customer service at all.
The caravan was dirty with a patio table on the decking that was rusty around the rim and very dangerous, we had to wash all the cups and glasses before we could use them.
swimming pool is tiny and cramped with set times to be pre booked, we used golspie pool instead!
We emailed a serious complaint tot the head office of Parkdean and phoned but we have been ignored completely, if this is the best we can do in this country there is something seriously wrong with our society.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent the weekend here at this Holiday Park, the Caravan was fab, very clean and comfy. The staff were excellent. The park itself was well maintained, and the views splendid. Dornoch beach was good too for a great walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned home from a visit to what I was hoping to be a nIce well equipped site . We booked through the booking office and was asked would I like to upgrade to a 2011 model caravan for a additional £65.00 to which I said yes too . When we arrived I was immediately disheartened on the state of the reception looking all run down and in desperate need of a repair at least . We were greeted by a really nice lady who booked us in and gave us our keys to our caravan . We arrived at our caravan to find deffinatly not a 2011 model but much more rusty and older run down model although it was on the beach view . Once inside things really didnt get any better as the inside was really tatty and plainly just worn out . We then found out the heating and hot water wasn't working due to a faulty boiler which took 4 phone calls and a visit to reception. For them to finally fix . The walls in the bedroom were mouldy beside the bed the shower was held together with string and leaked all over the floor when you used it . When coming to cook our dinner in the oven we then found out the oven did t work !!! We had given up at this point and just resided to the fact that it wasn't going to be a good place to stay . A letter of complaint with full photos will be going off in the post first thing Monday morning just wished I had read the reviews before traveling 700 miles to stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was my second visit to Grannie's - the first was about 15 years ago, and both times I have enjoyed my stay here. Location is fanastic right on the beach. Entertainment was reasonable however we did not see too much of it with having two young children under the age of two. Caravan was very good although there were a few problems with the water temperature in the shower room. It was clean and comfortable enough for our stay. I would recommend this place to other people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park

Address: Embo Beach, Dornoch | Sutherland, Dornoch IV25 3QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dornoch
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone loves to stay at Grannie's!And it's easy to see why. This Grannie's got a heated indoor pool and nine hole crazy golf, an adventure play park on the sand and direct access to legendary Embo beach. Lucky guests can spot bottlenose dolphins across the Dornoch Firth, and get out and about to explore castles, waterfalls and wildlife parks. Yes, there's plenty here for everyone and their granny!* Set by the famous white sands of Embo beach * A superb location for exploring The Highlands * Magnificent views of the Dornoch Firth * Heated indoor pool with spa bath and sauna * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grannie`s Heilan` Hame Hotel Dornoch
Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park Dornoch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Grannie's Heilan' Hame Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.