We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Hall to your Saves list
Mar Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Earl of Mar Estate, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A welcoming team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel with high calibre rooms. Thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the long room with the pianist playing and singing. The mist striking part of the stay had to be the polite but friendly staff.

Definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Our staff will be thrilled by your kind words! Guest satisfaction is paramount, and every member of our team endeavours to provide all guests with a personalised and attentive service.

I am so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us, and would love to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    177
    84
    50
    34
See reviews for
99
396
6
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for one night while attending a wedding in a local venue. From the moment you approach the hotel you get the feeling that this is a beautiful property in a stunning setting. Staff were friendly, efficient and always professional. Our room downstairs was beautiful with quality fixtures and fittings. The bar area was a lovely place for a nightcap but if I had to be picky in a 5* establishment I was surprised to see paper napkins at breakfast, I expected linen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am so pleased that you appreciated the stunning locale of Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort. The views over the Kilpatrick Hills and River Clyde truly are breath-taking. Each room has been individually designed, ensuring that each guest enjoys a unique experience when they stay with us.

I have taken on board your comment regarding napkins at breakfast, and have passed it onto our Dining Team for discussion at their next meeting. Feedback such as yours is essential in ensuring that we continue to progress and improve.

I hope you are able to return soon for a longer stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in November.

The hotel is beautiful especially the grand hall and its everything you would expect for 5 stars.
We stayed in a room 'below stairs', it was huge with a giant bed, gorgeous bathroom and with really classy furnishings - I'm always impressed by Scottish hotels which don't automatically assume everyone wants tartan and paintings of the wild landscape. We were also pleasantly surprised by the turn-down service in the evening - not many hotels still do this! There's even a wee games area en route to the swimming pool although the staff seemed to hurry about in this part of the hotel, it was a bit creepy late at night if alone.

The swimming pool and spa area was lovely but it seemed a shame that the building didn't make the most of its location - big windows out onto the hills from the pool itself would have looked amazing.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the bar on the second (as the Italian was closed on Tuesdays), both delicious with friendly service. The pianist in the lobby was brilliant and the Christmas tree made it very special. The breakfasts were the highlight though with the views over the river.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, we were treated very well and Mar Hall's history and atmosphere give it real personality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
What a lovely review. I’m so pleased that the staff, room and standard of cuisine were all to your satisfaction. The pianist really does enhance the festive atmosphere at Mar Hall at this time of year.

We put so much effort into cultivating a uniquely luxurious experience for each and every guest, and I am so pleased to read that we’ve nailed it for you!
We very much hope to welcome you both back soon.

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
426 reviews 426 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Just what we wanted. Excellent one night stay en route from Liverpool to Port Appin to break the journey. Room was comfortable and clean. Bars were quiet but I suppose as it was Boxing Day night that was to be expected. Breakfast was first class. Overall, would stay again definately.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am delighted that we ticked all the boxes during your brief stay with us. Many guests cite breakfast as a highlight of their visit, and I am so pleased we came up trumps here for you.

Next time we hope you will be able to enjoy a longer stay with us – the estate is breathtakingly beautiful in the summer, and our golfing facilities are second to none!

Kind Regards,

Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel grounds & hotel itself have a real WOW factor. First Impressions of the hotel are great. As it was Christmas we were offered mulled wine & mince pies whilst waiting to check in. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in a delux room, it was Stylishly decorated and big with a gorgeous view of the water & hills. Later We had cocktails in the Spike bar in front of the open fire & dinner in the Italian restaurant which were lovely and had a great atmosphere.
We wished we could have stayed another night & taken in more of of this beautiful hotel & it's stunning scenery.
We would definitely reccomend this hotel to a friend & can't wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Our stunning 240 acre woodland estate offers the perfect romantic retreat for couples seeking a luxurious escape from the city. The panoramas over the gardens or Kilpatrick Hills and River Clyde still take my breath away, and I am delighted to read that we blew you away here.

Our well-stocked and elegant Spike Bar is the perfect place for atmospheric pre and post-dinner cocktails, and is so cosy in the winter. Our Il Posto Restaurant serves up exquisite Italian cuisine, and I am pleased

We have a highly focussed and passionate team of chefs in our Il Posto Restaurant, so I am delighted you enjoyed the carefully crafted fare they prepared for you.

We can’t wait to welcome you back for your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Booked a late birthday treat for my husband on 21st dec. I felt the need to let everyone know how well we were treated in Mar Hall.
From arrival we were treated as VIP's. Room was exeptional with views to die for! Food was fabulous - so fresh and lovely an hot!
Evening entertainement from the pianist/singer was just perfect. Breakfast in the morning was just superb, couldn't be better!
Attention from staff was second to none-Attentive without being pushy.
Special mention foe reception staff - Ailsa and Allan went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.
Next Year''s birthday will be a hard act to follow. Many thanks to All!

L Brown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow! Reviews like yours are what we live for here at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort! Our whole team work so hard to ensure that guests receive the highest possible standard of personalised service, and I am over the moon that we were able to help you give your husband such a special birthday celebration.

We would love to welcome you both back for another relaxing retreat soon!

Kind Regards,

Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 16th December. We had lunch which was very tasty and well presented. The breakfast was excellent, good choice and attentive service. Our room looked onto the gardens at the back and was comfortable, clean and very quiet. We had an excellent nights sleep. The staff are extremely friendly in the hotel area, restaurant area and also the spa. Good pool which we used on the Sunday night. We would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveInglis, Manager at Mar Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort.

Our chefs are dedicated to creating the highest quality cuisine with the best Scottish ingredients, so I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and lunch. Next time, I recommend you try out our atmospheric Cristal Resaurant or try our Italian fare in the Il Posto Ristorante

Our staff are dedicated to providing our guests with the highest levels of customer service, and will be delighted with your kind words of praise.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Mar Hall Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hall

Address: Earl of Mar Estate, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Bishopton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mar Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mar Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hall Bishopton, Scotland
Mar Hall Hotel Bishopton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.