We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for a night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Paisley Rd, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Ayrshire, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good place for a night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a lovley hotel,The rooms are of good size and very comfy,the bathrooms are clean and modern,the food was tasty,and the entertainment was fab.Breakfast was buffet style.plenty on offer. The breakfast room was bright and airy,staff very efficient helpfull.
The recepion staff made us feel welcome when we arrived .really enjoyed my stay here
thankyou.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    179
    116
    68
    64
See reviews for
112
123
28
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

i was in room 114 had to walk up and down stairs and a maze of corridors. not good for elderly customers. on entering my room it was freezing. there were 2 gas radiators one of which was not working!!! i switched on the smaller one at a high setting and a little heat came out. radiators were antique and dusty inside and needed to be upgraded. general appearance of room was very tired and needed a fresh coat of paint and upgrading. i have never seen such a dirty carpet!! at first i thought it was a dark brown (it was) but when i sat down i could see years of dirt. i suffer from allergic rhinitis to dust mites and i have suffered badly since i stayed here. the bottom part of my bed had some questionable stains. the bathroom had broken tiles on the floor, and the seal around the bath was stained. on a brighter point the breakfast was excellant and the bed and bathrom linen was immaculate. i have stayed in premiere inns and they were far superior than this room.

Room Tip: do not go into this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is a very nice hotel. Reception area, bars, and function rooms all very nice. The rooms are fine although nothing that would set it aside from any nice 3 star hotel. Everywhere is very clean and fresh and I slept well.

Where's the problem? Service.

The reception and bar staff both great. But the restaurant staff in the carvery grill and the breakfast staff are awful. Very unfriendly, unorganised, messy, unattentive, to be honest I don't really know what they do.

At the carvery, we were seated but not given any information about how to work the carvery, how to order starters or drinks. We were literally seated and not spoken to again until I requested the attention of a waitress. Starter plates were not cleared and left piled up on the already small tables which meant we had to eat our main course around them - most other tables were in the same situation. No new cutlery was given out for main course. When we left the table all the plates were still piled up and we were not offered desert.

Breakfast? Disaster. The woman who was wearing a red tie and I assumed to be some kind of supervisor was horrible. Every table was messy. Resets were not done properly and tables reset with half the required cutlery. I asked for a pot of tea, was told I would get it shortly, never heard about it again and ended up just leaving without having tea. Constantly running out of bowls and plates at the buffet and had to chase the FOH staff to get such things - in fact the chefs were coming out with bowls as the around 6 FOH staff seemed incapable of running around 20 breakfast buffet covers.

A nice hotel, but need staff training.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were at a dinner dance held in one of the function halls and stayed the night.I was disappointed with the room it was very small and could have done with a lick of paint and the carpet was dirty. There was a broken tile on the bathroom floor and i stood on it with wet feet when i came out of the shower and it stuck to my foot it could have cut my foot we had to put a towel on the floor to walk on.I don't think it warrants a 4 star more a 3 star unless you are in the new bit. The photos that you see on there web site are the refurbished rooms which are lovely.The kettle and cups are in an odd bit in the wardrobe where you hang your clothes. One night in the room was enough if staying any longer i would have asked to move. A plus was the breakfast it was really good plenty choice and loads of tables.The staff were very nice and friendly.Would use hotel again but would not stay in room 115.

Room Tip: It would be better to pay the extra for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here July 2013 and the room was nothing short of a sauna!! We asked for a fan and were finally given a small tableside fan which didn't really help. I was 38 weeks pregnant and REALLY struggled.

Decor is nice and bar was very friendly although very expensive.

Pros: Friendly, good buffet breakfast
Cons: No air conditioning, rooms are very stuffy, expensice for drinks (even non-alcoholic!!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good hotel, fantastic staff on reception, arrived early from my flight and allowed to check in straight away.Very clean, nice rooms plenty hot water, rooms very warm if you don't turn down the radiators! Breakfast first class all you could ever want to eat, great selection. Evening meals good if you have the roast of the day, others I found a bit bland. Leisure club good, nice pool, sauna/ steam room. Overall nice hotel, nice staff and would stay again.

Room Tip: If road traffic annoys you, choose a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I visited this hotel with a coach group in August this year (Edinburgh Tattoo tour) The hotel is stated as 4* this is definently not what I would class a 4* hotel 3* yes. The parking is adequated for coaches as well as cars. It is obvious from all the various function rooms this hotel thrives on weddings, birthdays etc, when we arrived ther was a funeral receptiion going on!!
The location near the airport (10mins)almost makes it an airport hotel but the shuttle which is advertised is a bit hit and miss to say the least. It has a leisure club with a swimming pool and gym,though I did not get chance to use these they appeared useable and reasonably clean. Our group had half board on 2x nights with just bed and breakfast the third night. The dinners were fine with a variety of cooked/carvery style options and vegetarian options available.Our group was given a private area for our meals. Tables nicely set with clean linen and staff very welcoming. Plenty to start with, a variety of items such as samosas, spring rolls chicken wings etc as apertisers. There were a great range of sweets available as well, so a good choice
Breakfasts equally good with a great choice of cereals, cold and hot items. The sliced haggis on the hot breakfast buffet is to die for.However breakfast was a little chaotic, on one morning a queue ran out of the entrance of people waiting to get a seat as staff had failed to turn up and tables were not getting cleared or served. A quick call to reception resulted in room cleaning staff clearing all the tables in quick fashion so problem eventually resolved. As stated the food is high quality. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very muddled in my view with one lift around through the bar area. (Which is seriously overpriced!!). My room was clean and very good quality for and on speaking to the others in the group proved to be the same good quality throughout. The general concensus was the rooms were getting a little jaded but still in an acceptable condition an upgrade should be on the cards soon I would hope.Hotel really in the middle of no-where so dont expect a scenic walk around the area. Reception was very proficient and functioned well.
This hotel is a great stopping off point but be aware of the functions going on throughout the season(most of year!!)
Would I recommend it. yes as it is well priced well located and on the whole well worth the money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over function rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 169 Paisley Rd, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This commended 145-bedroom hotel is ideally located only 1 mile from Glasgow International Airport (not in flight path), 5 minutes from Braehead Arena & Shopping Centre, Xscape Leisure Park and 10 minutes from Glasgow city centre. The hotel now boasts 97 rooms of the modern, contemporary club style. A new guest lift has been installed to service 3 floors of bedrooms; facilities also include 3 bars, Carverie, Bistro and Gourmet restaurants with weekend entertainment and an exclusive leisure club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glynhill Hotel And Leisure Club
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club Renfrew, Scotland
Glynhill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.