We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch at the carvery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Paisley Rd, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at the carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great selection. Chef knows how to cook a bit of beef always tender and the honey ham is superbe. Amazing selection of cold starters and not always the same which is great. Good selection of deserts although most not home made. Not the cheapests but well worth the money. Really really miss the jazz band they used to have on a Sunday would be great if they brought it back. Lovely safe very friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Director of Sales at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    165
    108
    64
    58
See reviews for
103
107
25
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived at 6:30 AM but Glynhill had 2 rooms ready so we could freshen up and leave our bags. We stayed 2 nights. It seems that hotels in Scotland do not use top sheets so I called down and they brought one up. The rooms and bathroom were clean. There was a window but no AC and it was quite warm in the room. In addition, there was a band playing all evening right under our room. There was free internet but coverage was spotty. There was a hair dryer but there was poor lighting where it was located. It seems there must be a regulation about having hair dryers in bathrooms. Low water pressure in the shower. They arranged cabs for us to go places. Breakfast was a plentiful Scotland cuisine, lots of beans, tomatoes and mushrooms, good hot coffee and tea. The lounge was a great place to sit and chat with the group that was 15 people, comfortable and the service was prompt. Overall for the price, it was a good place.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room over the lounge area if there is a Band playing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Director of Sales at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated. We have taken note of your comments regarding the issues raised and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having read some of the recent reviews with respect to this hotel I feel obliged to make my own comments. I have just spent the weekend in this hotel with my wife for our 18th aniversary. The hotel was booked by my sister in law as a suprise for us and she chose this hotel as she new we had stayed here for the last six years with friends for the Christmas Party Nights. We are booked in again for this year. In all the years we have visited this hotel we have never had a complaint. The rooms are always clean and well looked after, the food is always excellent and the staff in all areas are very polite and cannot be more helpful. We had been booked in for the Dinner Dance night, but when we realised there was a Michael Buble Tribute Night on we asked to change. This proved no problem to the staff and within 10 minutes we where shown to a fully laid out table that had been purposely made ready for us. A throughly enjoyable evening with excellent table and bar service. It seems to me that some people purposely go to a hotel, not to enjoy themselves, but to find fault.Very much looking forward to 22 December 12.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Director of Sales at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Elizabeth

Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that you had a good time with us during your anniversary weekend and look forward to seeing you again on the 22nd!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

nice quiet hotel overall, reception staff for us were grand, we were left waiting a few minutes to check in even though at the time there was 3 people behind reception and only one of them serving busy with guests, room was good and clean, the beds were very firm, swimming pool was clean, changing rooms could do with a makeover as let the place down a bit,the bar staff, 2 girls in the cocktail bar were fantastic, cheerful and chatty and livened up what could of been a dull space and were really helpful,breakfast the next morning was really good,wide selection , even including little pots of nuttella which made my 5 year old very happy.and within easy reach of airport and Braehead shopping centre.overall really happy with our stay here, perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Director of Sales at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Jeni

We are delighted to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My second visit to this hotel in as many months, and as i remember food exceptional in the restaurant, a perfect steak,
breakfast average,
rooms almost boutique in style yet modern & clean, if im honest bed not that comfy, wi-fi not brilliant but good in places,
staff pleasant and attentive .
All I Can say Is Don't Loose the chef he is the star of your show.
sorry never got time to use the pool

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Director of Sales at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Bernie

Thank you for your kind comments, they are as always very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have attended 2 conferences at this hotel this year and have had the pleasure of enjoying their buffet lunch whilst there. The range on offer from hot to cold food was excellent, fresh, lovely and warm and tasty, most importantly well cooked.

When it got to the sweets now there were lots to choose from and they were delicious but not good if you are on a diet as I am.

Cannot wait until the next meeting there in a few months time.

Room Tip: I did not stay in the hotel only attended a conference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Director of Sales at The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments regarding the food at the hotel. Good customer reviews are always very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glesga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I booked this hotel through Late rooms with no problems this was after I tried to book direct with hotel only to be quoted a higher price when I queried this I was spoken to as if i was something that was on the sole of the receptioness shoe. After a very heated conversation which I admit to being rude myself I asked to speak to the manager after being put on hold she came back on the line and said he was unavailable at this point she apologised for her manner but was quick to point out that her curt manner was because I failed to understand what she was saying. I am a 55 year old who has travelled extensivley round the world and never been greeted in this fashion before. The wedding I was attending was at 2pm so I called the hotel to ask if I could do an early checkin to be advised this was fine, on arrival at the front desk I was again greeted by a false smile on the reception desk girls face and advised that because we were early the room may only be partly ready keys given to us and with a point of her finger to the stairs we made our way up to the room on opening the door it was disgusting wet towels on the bed and rubbish spewing from the bins, managed to get the housekeeper who made up for the reception staff as within a few minutes she has us sorted into a fresh room with her apologies. The wedding, waiting staff ,and the food was fantastic its just a pity about front of house staff, maybe management should reverse the roles of some staff and put the cheeky madams at front of house in the housekeeping roles and vice versus. I will never stay in this hotel again and will certainly not recommend it to family/friends

Room Tip: Room that I stayed in was 230 its located at the back of the hotel and near noise coming from what l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 169 Paisley Rd, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This commended 145-bedroom hotel is ideally located only 1 mile from Glasgow International Airport (not in flight path), 5 minutes from Braehead Arena & Shopping Centre, Xscape Leisure Park and 10 minutes from Glasgow city centre. The hotel now boasts 97 rooms of the modern, contemporary club style. A new guest lift has been installed to service 3 floors of bedrooms; facilities also include 3 bars, Carverie, Bistro and Gourmet restaurants with weekend entertainment and an exclusive leisure club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glynhill Hotel And Leisure Club
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club Renfrew, Scotland
Glynhill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.