We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be a fan.....but not going back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chiquito - Braehead

Chiquito - Braehead
Xscape | King's Inch Road, Renfrew PA4 8XU, Scotland
0141 885 6040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Renfrew
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Used to be a fan.....but not going back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having been regulars at chiquitos we are extremely disappointed in todays visit. We booked a table for 6 adults and 3 children. When we arrived it was almost empty but it still took over 20 mins for a drinks order.

Food was mediocre at best. We ordered a srawberry daiquiri and when it finally arrived the fresh strawberry wasnt that fresh infact it was mouldy. When we pointed this out it was taken away and we were given a fresh one in its place. This was despite the mouldy fruit touching the glass. Of course they charged us for it.


All in all it took almost two and a half hours to be served our lunch. A service charge was added which we didnt pay but what a cheek!!

Needless to say wont be returning

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    14
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't recommend it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was here today with my family. We waited ages on drinks then again on our starters then ages to wait on main meals. When my partners main meal arrived there was a hair on his burger and his chips were cold. Service is appalling in here. Table was all sticky too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killearn.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Where to start! Ordered 3 starters, waited ages. Then advised by waitress that order was mislaid-in fact it looked like the couple at the next table got our calamares-when they arrived the nachos had clearly been reheated and were burnt. Pointed this out to waitress who did nothing. Kept pestering us to order more drinks as the service was pedestrian. Chicken fajitas-poor as chicken overcooked and dry. Pulled pork/BBQ enchilladas spoiled by cloying BBQ sauce. No reductions on bill despite long wait and burned nachos. Wont be back. Go elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We once enjoyed this place but the chefs don't seem to put the same effort in or have pride in their food. Sent Back burned nachos. Didn't get sour cream. Like the rest of the eateries in xcape, it's not cheap. The staff were helpful and apologetic and a meal was deducted from the cost, but we've been disappointed the last 2visits. Must do better!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstone
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Always good food, and excellent service, weekends might have to queue but worth the wait :), only slight down side menus can be somewhat limited depending on what you are prepared to eat, as sometimes I can be a fussy eater.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Braehead also viewed

 

Been to Chiquito - Braehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiquito - Braehead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.