We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hated it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Normandy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“hated it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

stayed here for 1 night with 2 kids. Bathroom door jammed then broke, no hair dryer i was told by reception to do my hair at the sister hotel(erskine bridge), bed sheets had stains on them, bunk beds wobbly and mattres on double bed dipped to the side, i complained in the morning and the receptionist wrote it in a book, we complained to the manager when i got home and he took ages to get back to us, so i called head office and got a full refund.. The staff were very sourfaced and not helpful, Waited 35mins on a taxi to take us to the erskine bridge to use the pool, he drove like a maniac.. the food is slightly cheaper at the erskine/ They need to update the rooms and the staff/

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    248
    171
    117
    126
See reviews for
117
406
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

My husband, two boys (ages 3 & 7) and I stayed at the Normandy hotel for 2 nights on a Friday and Saturday. We were there for a wedding and the bride had reserved a "family suite" for us to stay in. After reading the reviews in Trip Advisor, I was not looking forward to staying there but I did not want to offend the bride and groom! Check-in was a breeze and I was pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room... It was much larger than I expected and I thought the layout of the furniture was great. I'm not sure exactly what the other rooms look like as far as furniture and layout but in our room there was a Full/Queen size bed, and although it was a bit frumpy it sure beat sleeping on an air mattress in a small cramped room as we did for the previous 8 nights. There were bunk beds up against the wall next to our bed. Our boys loved them and I must admit I did too as the mattresses were very comfy! The bathroom was ok, there were some tiles that had been replaced by different colored tiles, of course it took me a while to notice as I thought it was suppose to be that way. I thought the room was quite spacious considering there were 4 of us and we had 6 suitcases and still had plenty of room to move about. The decor is definitely dated, there were some areas where the wall paper was coming away at the corners. The only mold I saw was between the windows but I'm sure you can find mold in just about any building you go into in Scotland.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful, the staff was very helpful and very nice as were many people in Scotland. Maybe we were one of the lucky ones that had a good experience there!?!?!?

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

I can only endorse the views of the 13 Feb 2006. The shuttle bus service is only once an hour and when we came back there were too many passengers for the bus - we were told by the 'very polite' driver we would have to wait for about 15 mins for him to return. About 30 mins later and the amount of passengers increasing - there was no way we were all going to get on the returning bus - my husband and I paid for a taxi back to the hotel. I spoke to a receptionist re the problem of too many passengers for the bus and she blamed the road works on the motorway!
The accommodation was poor as was the 'included' meal. If you go off the fixed menu beware that the main meals start as some ridiculous price in excess of approx £15.
If you want a nice pleasant start to your holiday DO NOT go to this hotel. The moral of the tale- you only get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

Stayed there with my girlfriend for one night, lovely meal and the room was small but comfortable and it dident cost an arm and a leg for a nice night out.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located on the River Cart, 1 mile from airport. Ample free parking as well as secure parking facility for 500 vehicles on site. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant.Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-csape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.