We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Normandy Hotel to your Saves list
Normandy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at the Normandy last week as we had an early flight out of Glasgow -park and stay package. Arrived at the hotel and the staff were very friendly and attentive however they did not advise us to book a table for dinner and when we did so we had to wait 80 minutes for a table. Car was checked over and taken to the car park. Dinner once we got a table was nice and the staff were warm & helpful. The room was very, very small however had everything we needed, there was a noise from running water or a heating shaft that keeps you awake - avoid room 208 & 209. Up early and the bus was there prompt to take us to the airport. On return we waited 25 minutes for the bus to arrive when it did it was full and the driver was going to the Normandy and then the Erskine before returning to the airport (approx 30 mins) so we had to wait. We decided to get a cab and told the hotel about this, they apologised but that's it - they need more buses on this transfer at busy times as this spoilt this service for us. Not sure if I would use this stay & park service again or recommend to others as I was disappointed on the return transfer.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms 208 or 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    283
    188
    127
    131
See reviews for
130
455
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Normandy last week, I didn't book it myself buy know it was very cheap. The room was tiny, not my kind of hotel, but I was at a Hen party & we were there for the Dirty Dancing show which was FAB, except the meal you get (I did not eat any of it!!) The disco afterwards was also great! All i can say is you get what u pay for, The hotel is only a 3 star (being generous). Only good point of the stay was the breakfast & the show/disco, I personally would not stay again but in all honesty I probably would not have booked in the first place after seeing the pics & reading the reviews.
Hope this is of some help to anyone who is looking to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We got a great deal for an overnight stay, 15 days car-parking and return transfers to Glasgow Airport, However there was a certain amount of trepidation because a previous experience here had been below average.
However, this time we were perfectly happy with everything. In particular, our room though small, was tidy and well fit for purpose: the level of lighting - a problem on our previous visit - had been improved. The towels were beautifully fluffy - much better than most more expensive hotels we have stayed in. The return transfer from the airport was much faster than we could have reasonably expected.
So we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel location is good, also the shuttle bus to/from airport is essential.
rooms were small but usually everyone staying for couple of hourse only and realy doesnt bother!

free car park and free Wi-Fi also available which was really good. I ordered Room service for my dinner, Pizza and onion rings.... very well coocked and after a long day I really enjoyed it. bar staff were so nice and helpful.

the only thing which was not quiet professional was receptionist! called Hanna, she needs more training on her manner, doing face to face customer service is very difficult job and as an experienced reception manager I can say she is not good for this job. at least she can smile when gust approaching her but she doesnt.I had contact with your night receptionist which was a guy and I cant remember his name, but he was very friendly and helpful.

for my first experience with Normandy it was not very bad...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here overnight recently as part of a stay, park and fly package. We stayed here numerous times in the past and we know its not a flashy hotel and serves the purpose of what we need it for - staying the night before we fly and parking the car for two weeks. The last time we stayed here was 2010 and the rooms had just been refurbished, so it was actually fine and so we had no problem booking again.

We arrived just after two for check in (which is what it said on the booking). The outside area was strewn with cigarette ends and really grubby. We arrived at reception only to be told our room wasn't ready and we would have to wait about 5 to 10 minutes. No problem we thought, it appears there was some sort of party the night before and things like this happen and it looked like a good night was had by one and all.

Approximately an hour and a half later we are still waiting in the seating area at reception with nobody telling us what was going on. Meanwhile other guests were arriving and getting told the same thing. At this point a complimentary coffee or other drink could have been offered for the inconvenience of the arriving guests, but it wasn't.

We eventually got our room allocated. The carpets were stained, the furniture had nothing but ring marks on them from bottles and glasses. There were chips in the wallpaper where people have obviously hit either trying to get to the toilet or had a few too many. The bed was clean so that was OK but when you got on it you fell in to the middle as the suspension was gone (well used then, if you get my drift). Through the night also the hotel is very noisy with all the comings and goings of guests going to the airport, so if you happen to get a room next to the lift area as we did, ask for another - you will not get a wink of sleep.

We went out to eat to the nearby Xcape place next to Braehead Shopping area. We thought the restaurant prices in the hotel were excessive for what it was. The bar prices, in our opinion were expensive as well so opted not to use it, so cannot comment on the evening meals.

Breakfast in the morning was actually very nice and the staff in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful. The park and fly part of the hotel was also very well run and no problems there, but if you want a better standard of hotel - pay a little extra as we intend to do next time and go for the 4 star option.

We probably won't use the hotel again. It was only for a night and we didn't pay very much for the hotel, so we didn't complain.

I would not recommend staying here although the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Bar staff need to be a bit more polite breakfast was lush, disco was brill, cabiray wasn't the best wouldn't go back in a hurry as the dinner time is just abit late, checkin was quick and they where pleasant

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying from Glasgow Airport, check in was very good and we were then directed to our room, the room was very small and felt cramped, we did not sleep much as the bed was so uncomfortable. We used the bar and restaurant and the food was of a good standard but a little pricey and the same can be said for the bar. The public areas are pleasant to sit in, but it is the rooms that let this place down! We left our car at the Hotel for a week which was included in the price of staying as was transport to the airport, this was very efficient travelling to the airport but on the return terrible, we had to wait for over an hour!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located on the River Cart, 1 mile from airport. Ample free parking as well as secure parking facility for 500 vehicles on site. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant.Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-csape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.