We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Log cabin adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Fillans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Cabins
Save
You added Riverside Cabins to your Saves list
St. Fillans PH6 2JZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Log cabin adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

These cabins are indeed made of logs! We had a splendid stay in cabin 2 recently. Jim is really on top of his game. Our cabin was like a home away from home, and extremely clean and tidy (a white cotton glove would remain untroubled by a molecule of dust!). The location is idilic, backing on to the river Earn and perfectly sited to explore both Perthshire and the Highlands. I have recommended to family and friends, and we would certainly come back again.

Cheers Jim!

Chris and Ananda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Lord Winsock Thank you for your positive comments and our house-keeping staff will be particularly pleased when they read your comment " a white cotton glove would remain untroubled by a molecule of dust" We are pleased that our central location allowed to explore the beauties of Highland Perthshire and we hope to see you on a return trip soon. Best wishes JIm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    15
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Riverside Cabins are not just cabins, they are Log cabins. My partner and I along with our 11 year old dog spent a 3 night break in Cabin No 1. It was really comfortable and cosy, very clean and tidy and just loved the fact the walls were logs and not flat wood panelling. It definitely adds to the character of the cabin. We were welcomed by Jim, the owner who couldn't have been more helpful. He explained how everything worked and gave us loads of information about places to see. The cabin has everything you would need for a great break as it is near lots of places to visit. The river bank was great for our dog to wade in and for us to sit and read, so peaceful. The little village of Comrie nearby is a lovely place too with a fabulous bakery, deli, butchers, hotels to name but a few. I definitely recommend spending some chill out time at Riverside Log Cabins and look forward to visiting again in the future. Thanks again Jim for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is near the office so has pretty good WiFi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Monzi1 Thank you for reporting on your recent stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Yes Log cabins do have an extra charm and unlike many who claim to offer log cabins but have flat boarded chalets, we have the real deal with round interlocking logs. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer

cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

what a fantastic place, we stayed in cabin 1 it was spot less, clean and relaxing beds very comfortable the cabin is very well equiped, the site is clean and tidey. there was myself, wife and 3 boys plenty of room and plenty to do thanks to jim and liz for there hard work in supplying leafets of trips to go on my boys loved playing on the river bank and fishing, strongly recommend you visit some of the local distilerys (i managed 3 in 4 days) the scenery and wild life is fantastic, pleanty of places to eat the pub at the falls of dockart was excellent 20 min drive.once again jim thanks for making us welcome see you again soon
regards
The johnson family from nottingham

Room Tip: cabin 1 picks up the free internet whilst sitting in cabin all the others you have to walk to the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Derek Really pleased to hear that you had such a good time and that the boys were kept busy. duringtheir break. There are many Distillery Tours but our favourite is The Famous Grouse nearby at Crieff which has a serious distillery tour and some fun for the kids in an interactive experience.
We hope to see you return soon.

cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cornforth, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent 3 nights with some friends at this lovely little retreat.... The cabins were more than what we expected, modern, clean and tidy....... The owner Jim was very helpful with information about the surrounding area's...

If you want peace and quiet and to be with one with nature this, is the place to be...
Will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: There is a lovely swimming pool at the front of the cabins..... Its called a river, It was brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Kyle L we are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations in your recent short break with us and are happy that you describe the cabins as clean tidy and modern> We lookforwardto your return visit Cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have just returned from a friends getaway, it was effectively a reunion of sorts at the Riverside Cabins.
To be honest when my mate said the name of the place I had never heard of it, but he had been there once before, and all I can say is a its a great wee find. We stayed for three nights arriving on the Friday and departing this morning.
Bearing in mind it was a group of about 18 people, we stayed amongst 3 cabins, and it had all that you needed and then more, and the nice wee touches like the tea and coffee, FreeSat from Sky just in case for a rainy day which we escaped and the cabins are well comfy and cosy too.
It's cool having a wee river out the back nothing better than sitting out having a cuppa and saying Morning to Donald and Daisy Duck, and occasionally Daffy as I dubbed them lol.
Some people mention about the noise of the traffic, if you listen for it you will hear it, it's an uncontrollable factor that should not put you off.
I was not the only one within the group that has said about a return visit, cos I know my Dad would love it especially since you can go fishing a wee bit up the road too.
Mobile phone reception is limited but that too is uncontrollable, and depends on your network too and at the end of the day you don't go away to be on the phone all the time. WI-FI signal reduces further away you are from cabin one, but once more who does go away to be online all the time.
Jim was a great host there to greet us on our arrival answer any questions we may have had and since we had no need to bother him was there for our departure too,to see us off.
This would be an excellent base for a wee visit to Scotland, or if from Scotland a great chance of getting away for a few days.
Thanks again for having us Jim.
Cheers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Redman 12
Thank you for taking the time to give such a comprehensive review of your stay recently
We are pleased that your get-together went well and look forward to welcoming some of your party back for a return visit. Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Excellant accomondation, well equiped, clean, good quality, well looked after log cabins. Great location for fishing,watersports or hillwalking or chilling out? Extremely comfortable and relaxing surroundings, ideal for couples or family.Jim was very helpful during our stay in may 2013, it was great looking at the river and wildlife from our cabin, will definitely be back soon. Jean van lierop

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Jean

Thank you for your very positive review concerning your recent short break. The wild life around is indeed so plentiful and daily we see deer, pheasants, red kites, osprey and herons. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon

best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this lovely log cabin with family last September (2012) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cottage was very well-equipped and furnished with (joy of all joys!) a bunk bed much to our children's amazement. It was cosy and our host, Mr. Jim Bradley was very informative and extremely helpful. He spent some time chatting with us about his family and we shared stories and it made for a very enjoyable evening.

Our cottage was right on the banks of River Earn and it made for some spectacular pictures. The surroundings were very serene and we all enjoyed watching nature in its tranquillity and listening to the gushing sounds of the river. Our children enjoyed sleeping in the bunk bed, exploring the walking paths nearby and sitting outside the cabin and watching the river. We explored Perthshire quite a bit and enjoyed the organically sourced, local food. It was a splendid holiday, fantastic value for money and it was very special also thanks to Jim's cordial nature, care and warmth. We will definitely be staying at the Riverside Log cabins again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Psarma, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of west Perthshire. We look forward to welcoming you back when the family need their batteries refreshed once more Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cabins

Address: St. Fillans PH6 2JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in St. Fillans
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Riverside Cabins St. Fillans, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.