We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Save Saved
You added The Achray House Hotel and Lodges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Late availability 40% off
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in St. Fillans
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really enjoyed the location and the porridge. Loch Earn is very picturesque and the highlight was the osprey fishing during our dinner. Some of the food was good some not to our taste. Nice room with a very good view.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    68
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
210
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed a lovely four-night break at this hotel, which is set in a stunning peaceful location on Loch Earn. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely big comfy bed. It also had a great view over the loch. The owners Alan and Jane were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and they worked so hard, with little or no additional help (or so it appeared). The pretty village of St Fillans is an ideal spot from which to explore the area whether on foot or by car. We toured around the Loch Lomond area, went on the Steam Ship on Loch Katrine, visited the Famous Grouse distillery in Crieff and generally took in all the wonderful views at every turn! On our last night we had dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent - everything we ate was absolutely delicious, imaginative cooking and all beautifully presented. The breakfasts were also good - the home smoked salmon and scrambled eggs are a hi-light. At the risk of (or in the hope of!) receiving a caustic response I am going to mention my pet hate of pre-packed butter, sugar and jams etc at breakfast. How nice it would have been to have perhaps had a couple of local jams/marmalade and a pot of butter. However, this did nothing to spoil our enjoyment of the time we spent in St Fillans and we would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for a family get together and pleased to say that the hotel really was excellent.

A warm welcome from the owners, clean, well equipped room and great breakfasts.

My wife and I both agreed that the evening meal on Saturday night was one of the best we have eaten.

Would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I hired the one bedroom Ancala Lodge which is attached to the Achray House Hotel for a one week stay in beautiful St Fillans. We used the lodge as a base to tour the southwest coast and central highlands areas. It proved to be an ideal base within reasonable driving distance of many scenic areas such as Inverrary, Oban, Inverlocharig, Fort William, Glencoe, Killin, Pitlochry, Aberfeldy, Stirling and Crieff. The drive back from Glencoe to St Fillans was particularly special with snow capped peaks adding to the spectacular scenery at every turn.

The lodge itself was clean and comfortable with adequate facilities for the two of us, with a fantastic view facing Loch Earn. Service generally was excellent. We reported a minor problem with the electronic shower which was repaired by the time we returned to the lodge that afternoon. We also reported an ill-functioning TV which was promptly replaced with a brand new flat-screen model!

We did not use the hotel facilities much as our brief stay in Scotland was pretty hectic with all the touring we did as well as touching bases with relatives in the Crieff and Stirling areas. We did however partake of their bar menu on a couple of occasions and found the food, especially the chicken and leek pie, to be well prepared and of good value.

Owners Alan and Jane Gibson proved to be excellent, knowledgeable hosts who are obviously proud of of their hotel and of the beautiful part of Scotland in which they ply their trade.

Recommended.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel. We rented one of the attached self-catering lodges which we found to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Picked the hotel off a search engine and the best thing I have ever found on the internet. Big family weekend with and important event and everything was perfect. Beautiful location - on the first night we watched the dear on the opposite hillside which was stunning. Rooms spacious clean and well equipped and the beds massive and so comfortable. Breakfasts were brilliant, as much or as little as you wanted. The eight of us had already decided on the four course dinner menu having read the reviews and we weren't disappointed. I can honestly say I have never had such a delicious meal - everything about it was good. Portion sizes were excellent but so well balanced that at no time did we feel over faced or over full - perfect. One of the best weekends we've had. Our hosts Jane and Alan worked so had and never stopped and this superb hotel is a credit to them. Thank you both for making our special family visit so perfect.

Room Tip: Lochside view was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Lovely hotel with beautiful views. Our rooms were spacious, modern and squeaky clean.The breakfasts were excellent too! Loved the porridge!
All staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for your kind review, and recommendation.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for just one night. Evening meal of chicken and leek pie was delicious. Vegetables just perfect. Scrambled egg with smoked salmon for breakfast. mmmmm. Very efficient hard-working staff. Beautiful location. Only downside was the amount of "travellers" seemingly camped on the lake side. Not good for the hotel business one would have thought.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor or lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your generous review.

On the camping, it all tends to happen at the other end of the loch from St Fillans, primarily because most of the campers are fisherman, and as all the foreshores in the village of St Fillans are private, and as there is a restriction on fishing from 18:00 to 06:00, most fishermen ignore the village in favour of the open water of the loch towards Lochearnhead.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Achray House Hotel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Address: Loch Earn, St. Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St. Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in St. Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Achray House Hotel and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
The Achray House Hotel And Lodges St. Fillans, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.