We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the journey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurkhas

The Gurkhas
1,East High Street, Crieff ph73af, Scotland
01764650350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Crieff
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The gurkhas is situated in the heart of crieff.!!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the journey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We always make a point of having a least one meal from here on a visit to Crieff and have never been disappointed. The Lamb Choyla starter is particularly yummy. Only wish we could find somewhere as consistently good in London.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rinad21, Owner at The Gurkhas, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Namaste dear customer, and thank you for your time to write review on TA. We are really happy to heard that you enjoy our hospitality and even more to heard that you dine here every time you visit to Crieff. please let us know on your next visit and really looking forward to see you.
Dhanyabad.
The Gurkhas Family
Crieff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recommended by a local in Crieff and were not disappointed. Excellent food and friendly/attentive staff. Well worth a visit. Will definitely return on our next visit to Crieff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rinad21, Owner at The Gurkhas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on TA and genuine thought about our restaurant. I remember serving you that day and pleased to know that you like our hospitality. This is a family run restaurant and this kind of review encourage us to improve more and more and to work more harder. Love to see you on your next time visit to Crieff or surrounding.
Dhanyabad
The Gurkhas Family
Crieff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
“"Great restaurant"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very clean ,wonderful food and lovely staff.I would eat there again and price is reasonable.Well worth a visit.we will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rinad21, Owner at The Gurkhas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi firstly Namastey from The Gurkhas Family and thank you so much for your time to write review on TA. WE all delighted to hear that you enjoy our hospitality and love to see you on future.
Dhanyabad
The Gurkhas Family
Crieff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friends and I visited this restaurant on Friday and had a lovely time. We were a fairly large group and the staff went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable, even to the extent of offering us a free round of drinks and encouraging us to try some Sake. The food was very tasty and plentiful. I would definitely visit again with friends or family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rinad21, Owner at The Gurkhas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Namaste Julie! Thank you so much for your time to write review on TA and good to see you all at that evening and more delighted to heard that you all enjoy our hospitality because of you all as a local support we are on our 3rd year of service and many years to come. see you soon.
Dhanyabad
The Gurkhas Family
Crieff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb Food, Highly Recommened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were staying at the campsite in Crieff, telephoned for a takeaway only took 30-40 minutes, met the delivery man at the barrier (he was very nice). Excellent food & plenty, hopefully next time we visit we will go to the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rinad21, Owner at The Gurkhas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Namaste and thank you for your time to review us on TA and happy to heard that you like our delivery service next time we love to see you in our restaurant.
Dhanyabad
The Gurkhas Family
Crieff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gurkhas also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Gurkhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gurkhas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.