We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not excellent, awful sleep quality, poor breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Crieff
England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“OK but not excellent, awful sleep quality, poor breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is set in a lovely place surrounded by beautiful hills. It is an old spa building keeping its Victorian charm, but with many modern additions. My room was very nicely decorated, spotless clean and the dinner was very good. That is all I can say positively about it, as most things were not up to 4-star standard. It was a disaster in terms of sleep quality and service during lunch and breakfast. My bedroom had an old sash window, which could be opened only after about a 10-minute struggle but then I couldn’t close it. When I asked at reception if they could fix it, they just sent somebody to close it. When I got too warm during the night and opened it for few minutes, I couldn’t close it again. Not that good in Scotland in January. I know an old hotel will have its quirks, but being able to open and close bedroom windows is basic expectation, especially as there was no air-con. What was worst was that my room was connected to another bedroom by a locked door and there was a 2cm gap at the bottom of the connecting door. As a result, I could hear EVERYTHING that was happening next-door. Including the TV that the guest decided switch on maximum between 1.30am and 2.30am! Not the hotel’s fault but it is not difficult to put a proper door to separate rooms. The breakfast was a real struggle as there were 2 waitresses serving over 100 people, and you couldn’t just get up to get your own tea, coffee and toast. As a result, we spent the breakfast constantly ‘hunting’ for the waitress’s attention. It took us about 15 minutes to get a tiny cup of tea (no teapot!) and another 10 minutes to achieve getting some toast. The scrambled eggs were awful, the only reminder that it came from eggs were the many shells. Buffet lunch was the same struggle with getting water – there were no jugs of water but two stressed waitresses were running around pouring small glasses of water. They were not obviously prepared to cater for such amount of people, which is really strange for such a big hotel. A hotel with over 200 bedrooms cannot rely on 2 waitresses serving morning and lunch drinks. If they are understaffed, they could surely afford to invest into buying some water jugs, teapots and self-service toasters.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Oh my goodness, this was clearly not our finest hour. We're really sorry for testing your patience Fidgetus. We'll act on all your feedback and only hope you'll give us another chance to impress someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    634
    291
    170
    60
See reviews for
998
545
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Magnificent setting and the quality, facilities and service match the vista over the Vale of Strathearn one way and the southern Highlands behind on the other. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed; food is good; service at reception and in the hotel bars and eateries very good. Parking and activities aplenty. No chance of boredom even if the weather is poor. Drinks are very pricey however

Room Tip: Facing southerly rooms have the better view I'd say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review and top score rating, Halmataj, With so much more for you still to discover, we hope that it won't be too long before we tempt you back to the Hydro - especially as you live so close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I booked a stay at the Hydro as part of my boyfriend's Christmas present as I had got him a voucher for the segway experience and thought it would be nice to turn it into a mini break. When you arrive in the reception area it looks lovely and luxurious and this is what I was expecting our room to be like too. The room was nice and it was spotless but I couldn't help feeling like I was expecting more after seeing the lovely photos on the website. I was also under the impression that there would be a bath in the room but we had only a shower. Having looked on the website again though it does say most have baths but not all - we got one of the few with only a shower then which also made gurgling noises through the night and woke us up. Our room was quite a distance from reception - on the top floor and at the end of the last corridor. I got the feeling that as I had booked it as a January special that we got the "worst" room they have. As I say though, it was still a nice room but after looking at the website I was expecting the wow factor from the hotel and I just feel it wasn't there.

The dinner was included in the deal and we ate in the Brasserie where the food was nice. We had been told about the new Italian restaurant Piccolo by the receptionist when we checked in and after looking at the menu had decided to eat there. When we phoned reception to book it however we were told it was closed on a Sunday so we weren't sure why they let us know all about their new restaurant if we couldn't eat in it as we were staying on a Sunday for only one night.

The hotel offers a lot of different experiences and the the segway experience was great. It was a lot of fun and the views from the top of the hills out over the countryside are stunning. We managed to get some clear weather and although it was freezing (which is where a bath would have been appreciated afterwards!) it stayed dry and I would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We feel rather silly MissGM1 for recommending the Piccolo Restaurant when it was closed! Sorry. It's not clear if you requested an alternative room with a bath, as we may have been able to move you. Please remind us next time you visit and we'll really wow you. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have been at the hotel many times and I am never disappointed, staff is helpful. Childcare well organised. Food and entertainment it is very good. Over Xmas I have been twice and the celebration is great. Lots of things for the kids to do

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
To receive such a stellar review from a regular guest always means the world to us, marenbea. Thank you! It's lovely to have you as an advocate and we hope to welcome you back for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here just after New Year, in one of the lodges up the hill. Really well equipped and fantastically spacious house (Mr James, I seem to remember - 550) which backs into the woods. Overall, the few days we had here were great for all the family. Mum and dad, kids (6 & 3) and uncle and grandparents, who we'd taken away as an anniversary gift.

Loads of relaxing, quality family time, but this place also gives you the chance to let the kids have their own fun so you can have yours too. Nice spa and well equipped gym, but it was the stunning outdoor space which really won it for us. Beautiful walks and runs to be had.

Had a great dinner in the Brasserie too with great kids options that don't just do down the predictable 'nuggets and burgers' route. Our girls' smoked salmon looked the best dish of the night.

All in all, a fantastic few days. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
It's brilliant to hear that the freedom of self catering combined with the convenient hotel facilities proved 'just the ticket' for your family New Year break, Christian_Ceri. We're really chuffed that you're already planning to return and hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just home from our annual brilliant Scottish Country Dance weekend at Crieff Hydro where everything was just as it should be. Accommodation was perfect and bed so comfy and a special mention must go to all the staff who are so courteous and friendly as well as doing their jobs so well. Anywhere that can fill a hotel at this time in January is obviously doing something right!! There were 340 dancers staying over, plus the regular hotel guests and we all agreed it was a wonderful weekend. I appreciated the temperature of the swimming pool too - most acceptable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We were all 'dancing in the aisles' after reading your terrific review, 25traveller25. Thank you. There's always a great atmosphere in the hotel when the Scottish Country Dancers visit and this year was no exception. Glad you had a lovely time and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I spent the weekend at the Hydro for the second time and it was excellent. I had a wonderful weekend. The food, the rooms and the entertainment were excellent and can thoroughly recommend the hotel and it facilities. I also had a hot stone massage in the spa, which is to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We knew that we were in for a great review when we spotted your review title and top score GillHelena and it didn't disappoint! It's brilliant that your second visit to the Hydro was so enjoyable and here's hoping we'll be welcoming you back for lots of future breaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.