We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth making the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant

Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant
43 High Street, Crieff PH7 3HT, Scotland
+44 1764 654008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Crieff
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant in Crieff is a mix of finest Indian and Nepalese cuisine. We use the most authentic and quality ingredients to prepare a world class food. All our food are created by a very experienced chef and served by our enthusiastic and friendly staff. Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant in Crieff takes pride for being able to provide an excellent customer service and train every member of staff to ensure our customers receive outstanding service. They will not only take care of your order and drinks but guide you through menu if you have never been to our restaurant in Crieff. If you are not fond of spicy food you could always request our team members in advance and we will change our ingredients to suits your special need yet try every possible way to keep the authenticity. Our restaurant in Crieff aims to provide delicious food, impeccable service and best dining experience. We have spent large amount of effort and energy to prepare our special menu that resonate the authenticity. We are very picky about our ingredients to prepare our delicious food. We expect a very high standards from our supplier ensuring our produce is always fresh and full of nutritious. Sumeru Indian Restaurant in Crieff carefully evaluate all our suppliers before we buy our ingredients.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth making the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant in the summer of 2012 and had a wonderful meal which was served by the very knowledgeable and obliging owner. The restaurant was very quiet but they had only just opened so the word had not got out about how good the place is.
We were meeting up with the same bunch of friends on New Years eve and took the chance to make the trip up to the Sumeru again for what we hoped would be another memorable meal. We were not disappointed. The staff were lovely, the selection on the menu was superb and the quality of the food we ordered was outstanding. This is not your typical indian - no kormas here! If you like indian food - you should try this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratnasumeru, Owner at Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
dear sumeru guest
thank u so much for ur valauble time to write us on tripadviser.
very glad to know u enjoyed the meal on ur both visit . we would love to welcome u back to sumeru again in ur next visit .

kind regards
ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    18
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't walk past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is a little gem that we stumbled across on a wintry sunday night whilst walking the streets of Crieff with an open mind on what cuisine we may go for. Despite relatively modest decor and the restaurant being quite quiet (note this was a Sunday night), the friendly and attentive staff managed to create an excellent ambience. The food was fantastic, as good Indian cuisine as we have eaten (note 2: we generally eat one a fortnight in London!). The chicken buttana starter and the chicken tikka makhani massala main were the pick the pick of our dishes!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratnasumeru, Owner at Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
dear sumeru guest
thank u so much for taking ur valuable time to write us on tripadviser.
glad to learn that u enjoyed the meal at sumeru .
hope to see u in near future
kind regards
ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best kept secret in Perthshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I live in Crieff and I am delighted to say this is by far the best restaurant in the area, the food is so fresh and cooked to perfection, the choices are so varied, outstanding ,friendly staff and first class service, an absolute must if you live in the area, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratnasumeru, Owner at Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
dear sumeru guest
thank u so much for taking ur valuable time to write us on tripadviser .
glad to know u enjoyed the food at sumeru . we will always do our best to provide the fresh and quality food and service to our valued guest .
hope to see u soon at sumeru
kind regards
ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently visited Creiff with my family and visited this restaurant on our last night of our holiday for a takeaway. Firstly the service was first class, the gentleman took the time to go through some of the menus choices and make some recommendations based on our tastes. I followed the recommendations made to me, and was so glad I did. The food was outstanding, wonderful flavours working well together with very fresh coriander and good quality spices. The south indian garlic chilli was perfect for me and the Murgh Makhini perfect for my wife who likes milder flavours. The rice was light and fluffy and heavenly, and pickles were clean and sharp. I dont think weve had a better takeaway and served by passionate people. We work in the food business and so can appreciate great food and service all the more. I would recommend this place highly to anyone visiting the Creiff area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratnasumeru, Owner at Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
dear sumeru guest
many thanks for taking ur valuable time to write us on tripadviser.
very glad to know that u enjoyed the food . thanks for choosing us for the take away on ur visit to crieff with ur family . hope to welcome u back to sumeru on ur next visit too
kind regards

ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food & excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Food is absolutely fantastic, always so tasty, authentic and fresh!! Restaurant has a lovely atmosphere too and the staff are so welcoming.
Have eaten many times from here, I always opt for the same dish but my husband tries something different each time and we have never been disappointed, all the dishes are delicious.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and always make an effort to chat to you, the owner is a lovely lady and I believe her husband is the chef, the manager is really friendly too.
I have recommended Sumeru to friends and work colleagues and will continue to do so....really glad Crieff has such a nice Indian restaurant and take away offering great food and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratnasumeru, Owner at Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
dear sumeru guest
thank u so much for ur valuable time for writing us on trip adviser.thanks u so much for ur lovely review.
i am glad to know u have enjoyed the every dishes u have tried . we will keep up our hard work to maintain the quality foood and service to our valued customers .
thanks for ur love and support and we always want the feed back from our customers so that we can do our best to please our customer .
kind regards
ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumeru Authentic Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.