We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dog Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galvelbeg House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Galvelbeg House to your Saves list
Galvelbeg House
Perth Road, Crieff PH7 3EQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi & home-baking!
Ranked #1 of 28 Crieff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tobermory, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Dog Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A warm, friendly welcome! Comfortable en suite rooms. Delicious breakfasts.
We stayed here because we travelled with dogs who were welcomed too, and provided with dog blankets and personalised treats!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Mary,
So glad you and your group from Tobermory enjoyed your stay with us. Our 2 dogs, Murphy & Bailey, love to have some new friends coming to stay with them as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
73
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkirkara, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very welcoming ambience; delicious food; helpful information available; comfortable rooms with beautiful decoration & views; parking facilities; thoughtful amenities in rooms - couldn't have chosen a better stay in a central location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your super review, we certainly seemed to have ticked all the boxes. It was nice to have our first Maltese guests, another one off the list...!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just spent two lovely nights at Gavalbeg House. Nigel and Stella were very welcoming and helpful. We loved the Easter buns in our rooms when we arrived and the breakfast was one of the best that I have had - locally sourced ingredients, home made granola and a lovely view of the Ochils from the breakfast room.

If we were to return to Crieff, this is the place we would stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Billi,
Many thanks for your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your Perthshire Breakfast, good luck with making your own granola at home!!

Look forward to welcoming you back to Crieff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse at the weekend primarily because it was dog friendly (1-2 March) and I really liked it. Two minutes walk into the centre of Crieff and a stones throw from a wide choice of restaurants and bars. The house is lovely, really clean and well kept (and no smell of dogs - despite having one I can't stand dog smelling houses!) We stayed in a twin room at the front of the house- weren't bothered by traffic, really quiet. Good quality bedding and linen, bright white towels in the bathroom. Nice bright dining room downstairs with a lovely view. Choice of cereals, yogurt, muesli, fruit salad, granola, toast, range of teas, juice. Highly recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon for breakfast! English breakfast was good too. Lots of information and leaflets on local activities and Nigel also had lots of suggestions. Nigel and Stella very friendly and hospitable.I liked the personal touches. Welcome sign on the blackboard our first night, they left some dog treats in our room and a fluffy blanket for our dog.Stella provides home baked treats in a glass jar (coconut marshmallow thingy very nice!)Nigel gave us champagne glasses so we could enjoy some fizz we'd brought along. After breakfast we were given bacon wrapped in tin foil to give to our dog -they really are dog friendly! If pushed, i'd say the only downside was no communal lounge area so you need to hang out in your room if you want to take some time out. But thats at a push. Big garden area in the back which you're encouraged to use. I liked it and would stay again.Crieff is lovely, nice shops surrounded by beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Angela, many thanks for your super review, glad that you liked Crieff and all it has to offer. We do our best to be dog-friendly and I think that Angus enjoyed his stay here and meeting our 2 boys!!
I don't like to criticise guests when they write such lovely reviews, however I feel that I must point out that being in Scotland and in the wonderful county of Perthshire we offer a "Perthshire Breakfast", with food sourced from local producers.
We have looked at providing a guest lounge, however the size and layout of the house doesn't really allow it, hopefully next time you come back it will be summer and you can make full use of the garden furniture!!
For guests staying for longer periods of time then Rooms 2 & 4 are larger and have more room to relax in.
Thanks again for a great review and look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Nigel, Stella (and Murphy & Bailey)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just spent a very pleasant weekend in Crieff and spent the night at this nice B&B. The house is lovely and situated a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants (and just next door to the very popular Yann's restaurant). We thought at first it might be noisy because of the road but all the rooms look towards the back (with gorgeous views in passing!) and we didn't hear a single car during the night! Room 4 was in no way luxurious but clean with good storage, a small flat screen tv, all the tea/coffee commodities with the lovely touch of Stella's homemade bakery (thank you for the yummy crispy cake!). The en-suite was very small but again, clean and functional. What really makes this place is the friendliness of Nigel and Stella and all the touristic information that are at hand around the house. Whether you need advice on walks or somewhere to visit (in our case,simply the meaning of the word "quair") they will happily help. Don't be put off by the dogs, they are gorgeous, lovely, friendly,quiet and stay in their own part of the house! Overall, a nice wee place to stay. Oh, I almost forgot to mention breakfast!!! My partner had a huge full Scottish breakfast while I opted for delicious scrambled eggs with smoke salmon. Also had nice fresh fruit salad (not tinned fruits!), juice and toasts. So stuffed we didn't eat again until dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Helene, Thank you for your review and so glad you enjoyed your visit to Crieff. We are close to Yann's restaurant and also many of the other great pubs and restaurants in the town centre.
I need to mention that unfortunately not all of our rooms face the rear of the house. All our double/family rooms (2, 3, & 4) are at the back and have great views over to the Ochil Hills. Our two twin rooms (1 & 5) are at the front of the house and although we are conveniently situated on the main A85 Perth Road the rooms are not too noisy as the traffic gets very light overnight.
Thanks for the comment about Stella's home-baking it is definitely one of our "star" attractions.
We do try and offer advice and help on anything our guests need and if I don't know then usually Google and Wikipedia can assist...!!!
Glad you weren't put off by Murphy & Bailey, we are dog-lovers but we realise that not all our guests might be the same, so they are always kept behind their "baby" (dog) gate and will be only too happy to be made a fuss of if you want.
Finally so glad that you enjoyed your Perthshire Breakfast and it kept you going all day!

Hope to see you again, loved your other review of The Lounge, Crieff (our favourite place to eat)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A wild winter's night to Crieff with the snow blowing down. The House is easy to find , with off street parking. There was a warm welcome from Stella, with the offer of a glass of mulled wine, and the room was comfortable and clean, with some home baking. There were plenty of magazines and maps to ponder, and guides to walks etc.
An excellent Perthshire breakfast : overall very good value, and we plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, it was good to hear that the mulled wine went down well!! Nothing better when you come in from the cold (apart from a drop of Baileys in a coffee!!).
Glad to hear you enjoyed your Perthshire breakfast, a good start to the day especially when it's a bit chilly outside and you are taking in some of the beautiful walks the local area has to offer.
Hope to see you back again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed for two nights while attending a wedding in Comrie and Galvelbeg House is first class, friendly, welcoming, efficient and accomodating and I enjoyed two excellent breakfasts too. I can recommend Nigel and Stella's B&B without hesitation and will certainly stay there again if business or pleasure calls me to Perthshire.

Room Tip: I stayed in number 4.....................lovely views from the rear of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Tim, Many thanks for your great review. It was good that you had some good weather to enjoy the wedding and catch up with your friends and family. So glad that you enjoyed your "Perthshire Breakfast", definitely the main meal of the day and sets you up for the day ahead! Thanks about the room tip, yes all the rooms (2, 3, 4) at the rear of the house have some lovely views.
Look foirward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Nigel & Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galvelbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvelbeg House

Address: Perth Road, Crieff PH7 3EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Stella warmly welcome you to Galvelbeg House, a high quality family run guesthouse offering Bed and Breakfast or self catering accommodation in Crieff, Scotland. It is situated on the east side of Crieff on the main Perth Road. The house enjoys uninterrupted views of the Ochil Hills and Strathearn Valley. The town centre is only a few minutes walk away and has an interesting selection of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Galvelbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galvelbeg House Crieff, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galvelbeg House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.