We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to do well, good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai E san Crieff

Thai E san Crieff
7 James Square, Crieff PH7 3HX, Scotland
01764 652652
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 36 Restaurants in Crieff
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheadle Hulme
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Deserves to do well, good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The restaurant is upstairs, which might put some people off as you can't see what it looks like until you go in. Don't worry, it's a very pleasant restaurant, and we had one of their banquets which was very tasty, with a nice selection of food. The restaurant was quite quiet when we went, and it deserves better custom!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“t”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Entrance left a little to be desired, but once inside the restaurant it wasn't too bad. The staff (only saw 1) was very nice, he opened the door, served the drinks , took our orders, bought the food and cleared the table. He definitely earns his money! Food was nice, starters were excellent!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

As other reviewers have said, the restaurant itself is nothing to write home about. However, the food was really tasty. We went on a Saturday night and sadly there were only 2 other tables in there. The staff were very friendly, though, and the service fast & efficient. Even though we were the only 2 people left in the restaurant by the time we had finished eating, we felt under no pressure to leave.

Give this place a go. You won't be disappointed. Oh, take cash and it doesn't accept cards.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“They done their best with what they have!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The restaurant is as ropey as anything, but the food is pretty decent considering Crieff isn't the epicentre of oriental cooking. I know my Thai food, and its ok here. I would use again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had just returned from a few weeks travelling in Thailand so had experienced a range of Thai cuisine. I wasn't entirely sure about going to the Thai E San and whether it would match up to all the wonderful food we had in Thailand but Liz had booked it for my birthday. But the answer is "yes they can", this was authentic Thai
food, the real deal and here in Crieff. As other reviewers have noted it is easy to miss as it is not well sign-posted, the service is friendly, personal, fast and efficient, the decor Thai. Oh, if you want to stay the night it is also part of the Thai hotel.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai E san Crieff also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Thai E san Crieff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai E san Crieff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.