We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food & Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooftop Restaurant

Rooftop Restaurant
Drummond Terrace | Knock Castle Hotel and Spa, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland (Formerly The Stags View)
01764 650088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 restaurants in Crieff
Price range: $6 - $78
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: one of 2 restaraunts at knock castle hotel & spa
Aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife & I were on a 3 day short break which was also our puppy's first holiday. I can only say that everything about this trip was perfect. We decided to eat in the rooftop restaurant every night of our stay & the food & service was way beyond anything we have ever had before. We have eaten in numerous hotels worldwide & the Rooftop is one that tops our list. Our puppy Bailey would like to thank the chef for making him his breakfast & treating him like a king.

Gordon & Norma Harrison

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear AberdeenSheeps...,
Thank you for your kind words,we are glad that you had a great time and you did enjoy the food and also stay with your close friend Bailey.We will be more than happy look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    156
    16
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had the chance to eat in the rooftop restaurant of the hotel and i have to say that it was the best decision I've ever made!!! The menu and especially the degustation menu was excellent, flawless! From the start till the end everything was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpfull, they made the whole evening unforgetable!
Congrats to everybody! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear 710Victoria710,
Thank you for your lovely review.We are very happy that you had amazing time and that you found everything so good as you described.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The food was exquisite and the prices are fantastic for the quality and presentation for each dish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The service at this restaurant was top class, they were not in your space constantly but were instantly at your table when required. Our waiter was very attentive and the fact that the chef came out and asked for an opinion on each dish was extremely professional. After the main course they happily waited until I was ready for the dessert, no complaints/ did not look at watches (my experience in other restaurants).
With regard to the breakfast I am not one for unhealthy cooked breakfasts, however there was not any grease or fat on this plate. Compliments to the chef!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Tlouy,
Thank you for all compliments we are very happy that you never found anything wrong with your meal and that you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seilh, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, awesome view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything was perfect!
We got a 7courses meal on the terrace.
The food was very good, in particular, a discover for me, the pigeon.
The view from the rooftop is absolutly stunning!
All the staff is very friendly.
I would love to go back in this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Pauline V,
Thank you for your kind words and we will be glad to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte Marie, Reunion Island
1 review
“The best meal ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything was absolutely perfect, the food was amazing from the starter till the dessert, the view was awesome and the waiter was so friendly with me and my friend . Wonderful moment at the rooftop restaurant !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Coralie b,
Thank you for your review.We are happy to hear all nice words,we just hope to see you back soon so you can enjoy again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooftop Restaurant also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Rooftop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooftop Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.