We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, friendly efficient service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barley Bree

Barley Bree
6 Willoughby St, Muthill, Crieff PH5 2AB, Scotland
+44 1764 681451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Crieff
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Aberdeen and Stavanger
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicious food, friendly efficient service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was pouring with rain when we arrived for lunch having pre booked our table. It was great to discover that Barley Bree has it's own car park round the back, and, we could pop in the back door so didn't get wet. The warm welcome we received set the scene for a wonderful afternoon. We had drinks in a cosy room while we browsed the menu and made our selection. We were then taken to the restaurant which had a lovely rustic, cosy atmosphere. I had delicious pigeon breast for starter, mouth watering sea bream for main course and a 'to die for' chocolate desert.
The food was fabulous and the service was professional yet friendly. We will certainly go back and will be recommending a visit to all our friends,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    24
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful restaurant with rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited this lovely restaurant having read a newspaper review. Comfortable modern bedroom, great shower in en suite.
Delicious food,very well presented. Staff pleasant and ambiance just what we like, relaxed and welcoming.
Our evening was completed with an invitation into the kitchen and a chat with Fabrice, the owner/chef.
Very good breakfast next morning called for a brisk walk up Torlum Hill to work off the calories!

We have already recommended Barley Bree to several friends and will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food warm proffesional service in a very interesting setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Eclectic deco with a modern tasteful spins, using old word furniture set in lovely old building. Barley Bree is in interesting Muthil near Crief (visit the ancient church across the High street form Barley Bree or Ardoch Roman Fort at nearby Braco). I was in charge of a large group visiting Scotland from Scandinavia. They loved the restaurant and friendly accommodating service. Staff had no problems seating and serving my large rather boisterous group efficiently and with a smile. We all agreed it was very tasty food, brilliant service perfect lunchtime for all of us. There are so many little satisfying surprises when dining at the Barley Bree. If you are single couple or group this place will satisfy . It was my first time to visit but I’ll be back with friends and family. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Barley Bree. The restaurant has a cosy snug area to have a drink before eating - great on a cold evening. The menu is short; often a good sign. I had West Coast Scallops for a starter, Ox cheek (main) and I've forgotten what I had for dessert (only 1 bottle of wine between 4 of us honest!). All 3 courses were good, the Ox Cheek has exceptionally good - very tender meat served with caramelised white cabbage - new to me. The food is good and is not fussy. The restaurant has a great atmosphere - quiet and informal - good for an evening with friends and suitable for a romantic meal too. The artwork in the restaurant is amazing - all the work of a local artist - Sam MacDonald. So - go there - eat there and see the art.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“french treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we have dined at this restaraunt many times and have always enjoyed our visits the staff are always very pleasant and helpfull on this occasion i had a scallop and red mullet starter whith spicy noodles which hit the mark my partner had rabbit pasty also very tasty for main i had the lamb dish which melted in the mouth my partner had the loch etive sea trout also delish we finished off sharing a excellent cheese board and a sticky toffee and marmalade pudding all washed down with a nice bottle of wine from the well priced wine list all in all a very good dining experience and we will be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Bree also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley Bree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.