We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An attraction not to be missed!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Famous Grouse Experience

The Famous Grouse Experience
Glenturret Distillery | The Hosh, Crieff PH7 4HA, Scotland
+44 1764 656565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Activities in Crieff
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Famous Grouse Experience at Glenturret Distillery, Scotland's oldest working whisky distillery, is home to Scotland's Favourite Whisky, The Famous Grouse. A unique insight into the only working distillery still using traditional methods of whisky production, you will learn about the The Glenturret Single Malt and its contribution to one of the world's most loved blended whiskies The Famous Grouse. With the World's Largest Bottle of Whisky, a Bafta award winning interactive show and our extremely passionate and friendly guides, you will have a 5 star experience that cannot be rivalled by any other Distillery in Scotland. Situated in the picturesque heart of Perthshire, with ample free parking available on site, we have cultivated a selection of specially crafted tours that offer visitors a chance to really taste and learn about Scotland's national drink, and ensure your whisky experience is as unique as the malts we distil. You will be able to enjoy the facilities of our recently refurbished Cafe/Bar and 'Bottle Your Own' Glenturret whisky in our unique gift shop, as well as take advantage of our beautiful location with local walks along the fresh waters of the River Turret that flow into our exceptional Single Malt. Open 7 days per week, all year round, your trip to Scotland will only be complete with a visit to our 5 Star attraction and our team look forward to welcoming you to The Famous Grouse Experience and sharing a traditional Scottish dram together.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An attraction not to be missed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Would recommend this to anyone.Our guide,Alastair,was informative and professional.We were taken through the whole process from beginning to end,and the interactive room was wonderful.the tasting session,of course,was the highlight for us,already fans of Famous Grouse.
The bar shop,and restaurant areas are very comfortable and stylish.One feature in the bar was a selection of the four most famous Grouse whiskies.Large measures,served on a wooden platter,each glass identified,so that one could choose a favourite,and all for a fiver!!! Good value by anyone's standard.
Set in a beautiful part of Scotland,this is an attraction not to be missed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear MargaretDavid,

What a great review, thank you for taking the time to write this!
It was great to read how much you enjoyed your visit and Whisky of course!! :)
We really hope to see you visiting us again very soon.

Best wishes,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    131
    29
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Distillery Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Tour was great guide Keith was informative and professional. We loved the full experience especially the film which was interactive. Will recommend the family and friends.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear smokieFalkirk,

Thank you for your review! :)
Keith will be chuffed that you enjoyed his tour and it's fantastic to see that you will recommend us to your family and friends.
We really hope to see you back again this year.

Kindest regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Taste of Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

For people who have never experienced a distillery tour, the Famous Grouse experience is a great way to start. Knowledgeable staff, interactive exhibition areas and a superb tasting session introduces the whisky newbie to the uninitiated. A great day out and a good on site Restraunt and shop to round the trip off.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi AGarcarz,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! :)
Really enjoyed reading that you had enjoyed all the facilities that we have here at the distillery whilst visiting.
Haste ye back soon!

Best wishes,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“THE FAMOUS GROUSE EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really enjoyed our visit.The guide explained everything in detail.The restaurant was wonderful,very modern and comfortable.Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Josie,

Thank you for your review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our guide explained everything thoroughly for you.
We hope to see you again soon! :)

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“No grouses about our experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have often had lunch at the Famous Grouse but had never done the tour as I have to confess we usually take visitors to the Dewars Distillery in Aberfeldy, partly because it is a beautiful drive there from Perth. However we had an unexpected visit from Canadian relatives over the New Year and wanted to take them on a distillery tour but the Aberfeldy distillery was closed till 6th January. Luckily for us the Famous Grouse experience was open on 2nd January. So we had lunch in the restaurant first - haggis, needs and tatties and a dram of Famous Grouse - before going on the distillery tour. Unfortunately the distillery was in "silent" mode as it was closed for a few months rest but it was still an excellent tour. It is a lovely little distillery producing just a relatively small number of bottles. There is much less walking than in the big distilleries like Glenfiddich but you see everything you need to, perhaps more and the commentary from Louisa (hope I've got the name right!) was excellent. The highlight of the tour for me however was the "film". My heart sank when I heard those words. The films in distillery tours are always very informative but not very exciting. However the famous Grouse have taken the "film" to a whole new level. It is difficult to describe but you are in a small room and the screen is perhaps 10 feet away. You stand facing the screen and see the various distilleries in Scotland through the eyes of a flying grouse. It is a bit weird and disorientating but you really feel like you are flying. Louisa said that if anyone felt they couldn't cope to say to her and she would guide them out. I was ok to start with as there is a sort of a bar on the wall opposite the screen that you could sit on and I hung onto that but towards the end I was out in the room and I really felt quite weird. However it was an amazing experience and I will certainly be taking future visitors there

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Gill021,

A very Happy New Year to you and thank you for such a wonderful review of our distillery.
With so many beautiful distilleries in the area we're thrilled that you chose to visit us with your Canadian relatives. We'll be back in production towards the end of January again and we're looking to upgrade a few areas of the tour in the next few months so there will be lots of improvements to look forward to for 2014. We really hope to welcome you back again this year and thank you again for all of your kind comments regarding your visit.

Best wishes for 2014,

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Famous Grouse Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.