We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the whisky drinker” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Famous Grouse Experience

The Famous Grouse Experience
Glenturret Distillery | The Hosh, Crieff PH7 4HA, Scotland
+44 1764 656565
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh.  Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse.  Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience.  Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.  And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience. 
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dollar
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for the whisky drinker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Done a few of these tours and this one was the best. I was driving so did not take a tipple but my wife and friend had several, the fell asleep in car, so win win for me. Great tour then peace and quiet in the car

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Hoggan67,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Great to hear that you had a lovely time! Hopefully next time you'll be able to taste some samples :)
Look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

The Famous Grouse - Global Brand Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    149
    34
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really good tour, shop and restaurant. We had the taste of scotland tour and it was well worth it. After a good tour and very good film we had a taste of Macallan, Glenrothes, and Highland Park 25yo. Staff really nice and knowledgeable. spent a lovely afternoon. Well worth a visit,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review of our distillery. Taste of Scotland tour, good choice! And lovely feedback! It's also great to hear that you found our staff really nice and knowledgeable :)

Haste ye back soon!

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

The Famous Grouse - Global Brand Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Scotlands oldest distillery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the oldest distillery in Scotland and well worth a visit if in the Crieff area. The tours are well done with very well informed staff to guide you through the complexities of the whisky making process. The shop is well stocked with plenty of choice from a good range of whiskies, glass ware and clothing. They once had a distillery cat called Towser who has been entered in the Guiness Book of Records as having caught in the region of 30.000 mice. Towser is immortalised in a statue on a plinth at the distillery.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for your review! It's lovely to have a local review us :)
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you'll pop in again soon!

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

The Famous Grouse - Global Brand Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good wee tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Tour guide was very good and knowledgable and was able to answer the questions asked, the information about the distillery was ok, although my view may be tainted as I have been to a lot of distilleries since i was a child as my father is a big whiskey fan, he seemed to thoroughly enjoy it. The shop is lovely and full of all the whiskeys mentioned in the tour plus glasses, pens, keyrings etc. the restaurant/bar is lovely too but stops selling meals at 3pm even though the last tour is at half 4, selection of cakes and drinks are tastey though as are the coronation chicken wraps and potato salad which I had for lunch, overall a grand day out :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Meggilymooch!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We're so glad to hear that you had a "grand day out"! We will take on board your comment regarding the time that the hot food is served in the Cafe till. At the moment we have it out for a short time to make sure that it is a fresh as possible daily, however I understand how this may be frustrating in the afternoon.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon! :)

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serious Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Light hearted fun or a serious whisky experience, the choice is yours. If you want an experience then go for the dearer tour, buy a Glenturret single malt and get a nice whisky glass to put it in. The glasses they give the samples in help you taste the whisky better so it's worth that small investment when forking out £34+ for good malts in the first place. Check online for independent reviews and reasons why some cognoscenti regard it highly. Ask the staff for tips on tasting and how much water to put in, which varies from dram to dram and your own tastes/tolerance. Many 10 year old bottles of whisky have older spirit in them as the age statement on the bottle must be the age of the youngest spirit in the bottle. You get a real bang for your buck here. Hint.

Light hearted stuff: A large model grouse in the car park of Stalin proportions, the interactive game, the virtual flyover of Perthshire and Towser the cat. Towser dispatched 28,899 mice in her lifetime. That's a staggering one mouse away from 28,900 (whoever was counting). Her less illustrious successor broods unseen and for the moment unlamented. Perhaps in 200 years time there will be a papal style succession of bronzed pussies in the distillery grounds immortalised in the pursuit of mouse murder. Cue white smoke, all hail Tiddles XXIV.
What impressed me most was the approachable, friendly staff which is an achievement considering whisky is now a fashionable, expensive thing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear greedyguts,

Thoroughly enjoyed reading your review! Thank you very much :) we're chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your visit with us!
Our new cat Barley is a fantastic mouser and you never know he might be catching more than Towser's impressive record soon!

We welcome you back soon for another day of "serious fun",

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Famous Grouse Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.