We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice rink doesn't let under 5's on the ice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Famous Grouse Experience

The Famous Grouse Experience
Glenturret Distillery | The Hosh, Crieff PH7 4HA, Scotland
+44 1764 656565
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh.  Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse.  Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience.  Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.  And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience. 
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ice rink doesn't let under 5's on the ice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We decided to go the the Christmas Market and ice rink to meet with friends and exchange Christmas presents. We looked up the event on the Internet but couldn't find very much written, so took the time to phone in the morning to confirm details.

Unfortunately no-one mentioned that under 5s are not allowed on the ice rink. This was the main reason for our visit! Our daughter is 4 and our friends son is also 4. Not only had we driven 30 miles for an ice experience that didn't happen, but we also disappointed our children to the point of tears. we have been ice skating with our daughter since she was 2, at various locations in Scotland and England and never been told that she was too young except Crieff. It was obvious that the ladies who were selling the tickets had no idea that there was an age limit and the signs were updated very quickly once the problem was identified, however it doesn't take away from the fact that poor advertising has led to a wasted trip.

We went for a walk and as an earlier reviewer mentioned, the location is better than the venue.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    150
    35
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Informative, fun and very Scottish !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really nice way to spend an afternoon - the tour is good value for money and well done and the whole thing is rounded off by a cracking cafe with good food, great coffee and a toasty fire with big sofas. Well worth a trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very enjoyable day at The Famous Grouse Experience.
Chris our guide was very informative about the whisky production and a great day out. Our 9 year old son enjoyed the interactive experience.
Finished the day with a lovely lunch in the restaurant

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Iain,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the visit & hope you may visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hills Shire, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor old Glenturret - history has been erased”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We lived in Crieff 23 years ago and visited the Glenturret Distillery a few times during the mid-90's. On holiday from New Zealand we returned to find an awful commercialised Famous Grouse appalling Experience. History has been completely wiped - why????? We were so disappointed it actually brought tears to our eyes. May as well stick a McDonalds on there as well. What was once a beautiful, historic, fascinating and very special old place has been completely destroyed by commercialism.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Gail,
We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your visit and felt that the Glenturret history was not as prevalent on your tour as it once was. All our tours show the age old production process of The Glenturret single malt, a process which we have preserved to ensure it is still produced in a very traditional way.
The second part of each tour informs visitors about The Famous Grouse blended whisky which was first produced in Perth (17 miles away) and dates back to 1800.
We feel this gives visitors a two for one experience as they can learn about both single malt and a very successful local blended whisky in one visit.
We pride ourselves on providing 5* customer service and investing in visitor facilities including a recent update of our cafe and interactive show. We believe the distillery in fact remains a beautiful, historic, fascinating and very special old place.
If you would like further information on the history and heritage either whisky please don't hesitate to get in touch on +44 1764 656565 or email enquiries@thefamousgrouseexperience.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

had a trip around the distillery which was very informative and well conducted. however it was all downhill after that,-- the visit ends in the "shop" which is grossly over priced, even the smallest gift caused a "how much" and i thought it was the scots with the tight reputation. there own brand of famous grouse was £5 dearer than asda--then on to the restaurant where a jacket potato cost £5 with a £3.50 glass of wine(small one)
the actual tour was £7.50 which took about 50mins-- i would recommend straight in and out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Famous Grouse Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.