We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glitzy chic design, good grills.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant

Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant
Orchil Road, Auchterarder PH3 1LX, Scotland
1764662634
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 22 Restaurants in Auchterarder
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Glitzy chic design, good grills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Like the rest of this hotel, The Grill restaurant is a glitzy melange of white, black, chrome, mirrors and big chairs. It boasts a Josper Grill and it seemed best to give that a try. My lamb was cooked just as I requested and my partner's pork chop was also very fine and generous. The rest of the meal was rather average but service was attentive, friendly, prompt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. The team at the Cairn Lodge was pleased to read that you enjoyed you both enjoyed your main meals from the Gill Room and that you found the team to be helpful. I have passed all of your comments on and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    12
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected and more about interrior design than food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent lunch out with friends, really tasty food and reasonably priced but what a strange place. Almost felt like eating in the hair salon. V strange. The negative was how long it took from sitting to eating but if you are laid back, not ravenous or scheduled to be back at the office and in fun company this can be quite acceptable. If you are on a short stop I would duck out now.
The food though on this occasion wast tasty, nicely presented, HOT and on hot plate (thank you), and served with grace. I have heard from other diners that consistency is an issue. Was I lucky or were they unlucky. I will leave you to decide!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an excellent lunch with your friends and that you found the food to be hot and enjoyable. I have passed all of your comments on to the team at the Cairn Lodge and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely boutique hotel in Auchterarder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A small hotel very tastefully done by Italian designers. The decor is outstanding. Modern , acic and elegant. Staff very friendly and excellent restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. I was delighted to read that not only did you like the décor of the Hotel but also your experience within the Grill Room restaurant. I will pass all of your comments on to the team at the Cairn Lodge who will be very pleased and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cairn lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited cairn lodge on Sunday 25/08/2013 for an evening meal. On first impressions the hotel is lovely and we were welcomed in by a nice receptionist. After being shown to our table we were shown the menus by the very competent staff. We were never rushed and the staff get the service just right without being OTT. We opted for the set menu -3 courses for £18 ,and I was pleasantly surprised that there were 5or6 choices for each course..I thought that the supplement of £2.50 for prawn cocktail was nt necessary and that £6 for a sirloin was too much. The food was of a high quality and obviously freshly made and I felt that the drinks were priced well too. All in all I will defiantly return and its a great place for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Grill Room at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant meal at the Cairn Lodge and that you found all of the food to be of good quality. I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team at the Cairn Lodge and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super evening in sophisticated surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A lucky last minute booking for dinner resulted in an evening to remember. Pleasant and efficient staff, delicious three course meal, very reasonably priced, and wonderfully comfortable black velvet dining armchairs made a very convivial evening for six, after a round of golf at Gleneagles. Venture away from the resort of Gleneagles, and enjoy great value and imaginative food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your dining experience at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. I was very pleased to read that your last minute dinner reservation turned into a memorable evening for you and your friends. The team at the Cairn Lodge will be delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the evening from the food to Grill Room chairs. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairn Lodge Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.