We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge house luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairn Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cairn Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Orchil Road, Auchterarder PH3 1LX , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Dunblane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lodge house luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just experienced a fantastic stay at the Cairn Lodge. Our party consisted of 9 adults and 3 children, so being able to all stay in the Lodge House accomodation was a bonus. The rooms are luxurious and spacious, beds exceptionally comfortable and bathrooms very stylish. All of this with the bonus of a lounge with a dining area. We enjoyed cocktails in the hotel bar. We asked for dinner to be served in the lodge. We had a few hiccups - not enough chairs, the starters arrived before the chairs and cutlery, but to be fair, the hotel was very busy and the staff did everything they could to rectify the situation. The food was excellent, piping hot, despite having to be taken from the kitchen to the Lodge and the staff serving us were pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. After dinner, there was the hot tub to enjoy, the children in our party loved it.
Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant, there was a good selection of cereals, fruit, juices and yogurts. The hot breakfast was cooked to order - a great selection, from full Scottish breakfast to blt bagels, omelettes and Stornoway black pudding with poached eggs and hollandaise. Service was good, staff friendly and food delicious.
If you are looking for a relaxing break in luxurious surroundings, with good food, great friendly service and at a very reasonable price, this is the place to book.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    50
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
137
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fife
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for one night with a group of friends which was our 'annual' Christmas night away. We arrived around lunchtime on the Saturday and from the minute of our arrival the service from all of the staff could not have been better. We were very impressed with the décor of the hotel when we arrived and when we saw the calibre of the rooms we thought wow! Our experience staying at the hotel was absolutely first class and we will certainly be back. Our thanks to Jamie (Manager) for his 'attention' and also to all staff who were involved with our party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have just spent 2 days at this beautiful hotel on their special offer "January" deal. The whole place has a real "Wow" factor, the decor throughout is very cutting edge, an eclectic mix of black, white and silver all finished to a very high standard. If you are looking for log fires and a cosy atmosphere then Cairn Lodge is not the place for you.
I must stress that the deal we got was terrific value and for the money we paid I could not fault this hotel, the service from all of the staff was excellent (particularly the 2 young waiters in the Dining Room) the standard of food at Breakfast and Dinner was first class and surprisingly good value.
However if we had paid the full rate I would have had a few basic complaints, all of which concerned our room.
We stayed in Room 1, it was a beautiful room to the front of the hotel, very spacious and luxurious. Some minor issues did bug me, there was no soap in the bathroom. Drying my hair was a nightmare as there was no accessible socket near the dressing table,also there wasn't a mirror that could be used whilst sitting down.
The bedside lamps were a big fashion statement but were no good for reading (way too dim)? The TV system was badly positioned, stuck in one corner of the room it could only be viewed from the bed. The wardrobe space was a tiny cupboard which also housed the ironing board and iron, on the floor was the safe which could only be used if you were kneeling down. I would suggest that all of these petty issues could be easily sorted and if so would definitely improve the overall experience of Guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at The Cairn. Absolutely faultless. This is a stunning boutique hotel which lives up to its 5 star rating. Our room was stunning and spotless with high end fittings and products. The service from all the staff was superb, welcoming and friendly. They couldn't have done anymore for you.
We had dinner in the grill which couldn't have been improved. I would highly recommend the fillet steak but my husband had the sea bass which he said was equally as good. The only thing better than the starters and mains was the white chocolate cheesecake....to die for!
We would definitely return to The Cairn, hopefully soon, and would recommend this hotel to anyone. ++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great meal here yesterday!! Everything was lovely and the service was brilliant, can highly recommend the Cairn Lodge for a visit, I will be back soon! Infact the chairs were so comfy I am surprised I managed to leave at all!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on 3 January 2013, we booked at lunchtime and arrived that afternoon. We had been looking at Airth Castle Hotel which is owned by the same group but after checking the Cairn Lodge Hotel on Tripadvisor decided to go there based on the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed the hotel is fabulous, we were in Room 2 and the room was very luxurious - huge bed, comfortable seating area, sound system and beautiful bathroom complete with extra large bath and great shower. Our meal in the restaurant was great my husband had steak and I had Sea bass, the food was lovely and the service excellent although the restaurant was busy. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and was the perfect end to our stay as unfortunately we were only there for one night, but we will absolutely return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dined at Cairn Lodge on 27th, the place is a class act, the Manager dealt with our questions regarding the menu in a very professional manner, an issue with our steaks was rectified immediately, my only negative is the waitress on duty that night we found rather abrupt, apart from that a great dining experience, the Manager also took time out to show us the room accommodation on offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairn Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Lodge Hotel

Address: Orchil Road, Auchterarder PH3 1LX , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cairn Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Auchterarder
Cairn Lodge Hotel Auchterarder, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairn Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.