We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairn Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cairn Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Cairn Lodge Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Orchil Road, Auchterarder PH3 1LX , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just spent the weekend at the fabulous Cairn Lodge Hotel and found the entire experience 5 star !! On our arrival Laura, the wonderful General Manager, made us feel very welcome and the food, wine,decor and service can only be described as WOW! The steaks were the best we have ever tasted and the Seabass Risotto was simply fantastic! We will be recommending this hidden treasure to all our friends but it won't be hidden for long as the Cairn Lodge is surely destined to become one of Scotland's best hotels....look out Gleneagles! Look forward to going back in a couple of weeks to enjoy afternoon tea with the family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    59
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
32
151
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Called in one afternoon for a glass of wine, which we wished take in the gardens. Staff looked surprised that we wanted to sit outdoors, given that it had rained earlier -but the sun was out - rare! After ordering we made our way outdoors and had to arrange our our furniture - it had been tidied away. With 3 staff hanging around, why did they not think on their feet and follow us out to move chair & cushions etc. The drinks duly arrived, no nibbles or anything to accompany them. Not really what we expected and not what a so-called 5-star establishment should be offering.
There was also quite a lot of road traffic noise; it is at the bottom of a hill and vehicles were emitting fumes and noise. Will swerve by the next time; there are other places to try. Bill was ok, but we would willingly paid a little extra for an olive or two, or some nuts. Must try harder, I say

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla,macfarlane@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. However, should you wish not to contact me on this occasion please do contact me if you would like to book again at The Cairn and we will endeavour to make your stay/meal a more enjoyable experience. Kind Regards Isla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked for dinner at weekend and eagerly awaited the new restaurant opportunity in our home goegraphical location.
The recently refurbished hotel is nicely decorated and we were welcomed very efficeintly and served very quickly. The menu was extensive and well priced with a good selection of wines again that were well piced.
Two of the starters were excellent but two were overcooked and dry, the main courses were good buit again steaks overcooked.
We enjoyed the evening and particular the service and will try again but some parts of the food offering will need to improve

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla,macfarlane@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. However, should you wish not to contact me on this occasion please do contact me if you would like to book again at The Cairn and we will endeavour to make your stay/meal a more enjoyable experience. Kind Regards Isla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Went for dinner with a view to taking a party of 14 at a later date. Disappointed to sit in a drafty dining room with front door continually open (what will it be like in November) and to find that Ayrshire smoked pork ribs was a very small pork chop which was rather dry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla,macfarlane@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. However, should you wish not to contact me on this occasion please do contact me if you would like to book again at The Cairn and we will endeavour to make your stay/meal a more enjoyable experience. Kind Regards Isla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

On a weekend stay at Gleneagles we passed this en route. As the building looked very attractive from the outside we decided to stop in for a bite to eat. As soon as you enter the building, first impressions are wow! beautiful decor. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating especially as we had our 2yr old daughter. Nothing was a problem in the restaurant, we only wanted a light bite and the menu and choice on offer is excellent. Good fresh food at good value . Even our 2yr old daughter was impressed as she ate every crumb of the black pudding and crispy poached egg starter. The service was good and we later moved into the small bar area for coffee which also had a nice atmosphere...so nice we could have stayed there for the rest of the day. Having also viewed a few of the rooms, I must say I really was impressed with everything, I could not fault it and there's very few places I have ever said that about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I are regular visitors to Airth Castle and we heard of this new premises and decided to visit en route to Perth We popped in for a quick wine and were welcomed by Jamie who showed us around and when I asked, he was more than happy to show us the rooms We were most impressed with the decor and eye for detail ( hi fi systems and beautiful bathrooms) We will most certainly visit for a special occasion and look forward to staying overnight . Well done Aurora Group

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Visited for a meal tonight, fantastic hotel great decor. Service was excellent, and food equally good. Enjoyed all courses especially the steak platter for two. Would definitely recommend it and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairn Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Lodge Hotel

Address: Orchil Road, Auchterarder PH3 1LX , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairn Lodge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairn Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Auchterarder
Cairn Lodge Hotel Auchterarder, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairn Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.