We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy little cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Kisa

Cafe Kisa
128 High Street, Auchterarder PH3 1AA, Scotland
+44 1764 663340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Ice Cream, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in Perthshire at the heart of Scotland, not far from the world-renowned Gleneagles Hotel and Golf course, Cafe Kisa on Auchterarder High Street is a favourite haunt of Perthshire locals, as well as a popular destination for the many visitors who flock to stunning Strathearn all year round. Our regulars love wallowing in our comfy sofas as they sip their speciality tea or rich roasted coffee, happily munching our home baking while catching up with friends. And if it's breakfast, lunch or high tea that you're after, you'll be sure to find something that meets your expectations on our deliciously varied menu. Cafe Kisa is all about freshly cooked food, friendly staff and a welcome retreat from the bustle of the High Street. So what are you waiting for - why not pop in for a bowl of homemade soup or one of our scrumptious toasties today? Whether you live locally or are just passing through, we look forward to seeing you - and anyone you know who appreciates wholesome good food! - At Cafe Kisa's very soon. Meanwhile, check out our tempting menu for a flavour of what awaits you on your arrival...
st andrews, scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“yummy little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place for a bite to eat or to relax over a coffee and a chat. Loved the homemade ginger beer. Can also recommend the spicy chicken Nachos, very yummy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    50
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A serendipitous discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were driving through Auchterarder and happened upon this delightful cafe for lunch last week. A largeish car park was right next to the cafe (shared with the local supermarket), and although the cafe was almost full, our party of five was seated immediately. The menu was superb for a small town cafe, and the service was very friendly and quick! Lots of vegetarian options, as well as various choices for light meals or full-on lunches. Disabled toilet discreetly hidden but very accessible, and very clean ladies' room (can't vouch for men's!). There were homebaked-looking cakes and a very impressive array of teas and coffees. As Gleneagles was nearby, we assumed they catered for a "classy" crowd, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Especially the hand-dipped ice-creams, says my daughter! All in all, a real find!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Busy -not overwhelmed by food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Visited during festive period. Cafe was busy. Parking is on street and I has to park some distance away and walk back. Visit was on recommendation of others. There is a sign asking you to wait to be seated and there was a short wait to be taken to a table. None of the staff seemed to be monitoring in coming diners. When seated it was noted that others then came in and ignored sign and made their way to an empty table.

Extensive menu. Waited about ten minutes to be served. The staff seemed to be a bit disorganised. The chicken dish not a big serving and there was not much chicken in it. The side salad was very good-crisp and fresh, and effort made to have it well presented.

Neither the food or tea was hot. For food served in a cafe the prices were a bit higher than expected. However, it was of good quality.

It appears the cafe is popular with locals and it was nice to see that the staff knew their regulars by name. One of the waitresses was v helpful and knowledgable on the wines and beers they serve.

Didn't sample the cakes/sweets as felt hurried to give up table for others.

Would certainly return but on a quieter day.

There are other eating places close by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cafe Kisa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

May I recommend the enjoyable experience which awaits anyone visiting Cafe Kisa in Auchterarder.
Food, chosen from a wide and varied menu, served by welcoming, helpful and friendly staff, is quite simply delicious.
In what has become a harsh and bruising world, Cafe Kisa provides a congenial haven in which to relax and escape for a while.
Congratulations, Cafe Kisa on doing such a magnificent job!!!
Sheila Lockhart
Aberuthven.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely buzzy cafe. Great food, super wine choices and lovely staff. Always busy so that speaks volumes!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kisa also viewed

Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cafe Kisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Kisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.