We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gleneagles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gleneagles Hotel to your Saves list
Gleneagles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Well the famous gleneagles hotel lives up to its reputation of luxury, style, class and service. It obviously ticks all the boxes but sooooooo expensive .... Almost obscene. I have been here three times now and I can see why people would want to spend a lot of money on the above categories but the bar !!!! Well that's just instance. My local charges £3.80 for a Gordon's gin and tonic ... Here it's closer to £12 .... Justifiable ???? Not one little bit. Ice is the same ... A straight forward glass nothing fancy ... Gordon's ordinary gin and a slice of lime !!!!! That really disappointed me and made me realise obscene was the only descriptive word I can think of! The most MASSIVE plus on this particular break was the Oesteopath (forgive me I've forgotten his name ) I think it was Brandon. I've suffered from sciatica for 4 years having to take 32 tablets a day including tramadol two x twice a day and morphine at night. One session with this chap included acupuncture, some marginal massage and relaxation. I am now on one tablet a day!!!! It was incredible immediately after the treatment ... I am now pain free ... Something three conultants, 7 doctors and constant heavy medication failed to do. Well done ! Can't recommend a visit strongly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    215
    87
    30
    14
See reviews for
326
584
25
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

2nd stay at Gleneagles and found it just as good as the first time.

There was a slight hiccup in our room not being ready but the hotel staff were great about it and made sure we were well looked after. They do go above what is required to make ammends. A simple "sorry" would have been enough for us but the bottle delivered to our room was very greatfully received.

The breakfast is superb and I would challenge anyone to say otherwise.

We again ate at Andrew Fairlie's which I will review seperately, I will only say superb meal again.

If you get the chance stay at Gleneagles, it is well worth the time.

Small and I mean small niggle is I like to drink a specific Scottish vodka (Valt) which the bar does not stock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Accommodations, staff, and, rooms, are fit for royalty. Kings Course is challenge enough, but those blind shots were cruel. Breakfast buffet was sumptuous. 6 couples were traveling, and, wives were met for dinner with husbands in full dressed kilt attire. All were lead to dinner by bag piper. Heavenly! It would have been a story book ending, but a group of 12 was a bit large. Service between main course and selection of desserts was intolerable. Smaller groups perhaps better scripted. Otherwise, magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Gleneagles is a wonderful place to relax, play golf, dine,shop or spa...shooting, fishing,and equestrian center also on premises. The grounds are meticulously maintained for an afternoon walk if you choose. The recently remodeled Dormy House at the golf course offers excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere. I have been returning to Gleneagles for many years. Once you visit I promise that you will want to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very special hotel and such a great asset for Scotland.

Very relaxing, clean, spacious and rooms were a treat. Lovely dinner at the Strathern restaurant and cocktails were fabulous. Spa was superb and my therapist was very friendly.

Must mention that the buffet breakfast in the Strathern restaurant in the morning is something special. Def opt for a breakfast rate as the choice is huge and the buffet is vast.

Negative point: Wifi is painfully slow and the TV quality is very poor. We payed for a movie after dinner and the old TVs did it no justice. Contrast very dark and changing settings didn't help. Stay in the bar longer or bring your own movie on a tablet!!!

Room Tip: The TVs in the rooms in the main building are very old so if your going to pay for a Movie, expect d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my third stay at Gleneagles, there is never anything that disappoints. The hotel represents true class and old world charm with every modern convenience.
Played the PGA course again, looks in suberb condition ahead of the Ryder Cup next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel really hits all the five stars. Exquisite location, fine dining, great staff, lovely rooms. Couldn't have spent a better honeymoon here. Also played a round of golf and bought some of the first Ryder Cup 2014 merchandise.

Room Tip: The Embassy Suite is ideal for a romantics weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleneagles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Hotel

Address: Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gleneagles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder, Scotland
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleneagles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.