We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effortless luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gleneagles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gleneagles Hotel to your Saves list
Gleneagles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Effortless luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very special hotel and such a great asset for Scotland.

Very relaxing, clean, spacious and rooms were a treat. Lovely dinner at the Strathern restaurant and cocktails were fabulous. Spa was superb and my therapist was very friendly.

Must mention that the buffet breakfast in the Strathern restaurant in the morning is something special. Def opt for a breakfast rate as the choice is huge and the buffet is vast.

Negative point: Wifi is painfully slow and the TV quality is very poor. We payed for a movie after dinner and the old TVs did it no justice. Contrast very dark and changing settings didn't help. Stay in the bar longer or bring your own movie on a tablet!!!

Room Tip: The TVs in the rooms in the main building are very old so if your going to pay for a Movie, expect d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    239
    94
    33
    14
See reviews for
352
678
29
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my third stay at Gleneagles, there is never anything that disappoints. The hotel represents true class and old world charm with every modern convenience.
Played the PGA course again, looks in suberb condition ahead of the Ryder Cup next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel really hits all the five stars. Exquisite location, fine dining, great staff, lovely rooms. Couldn't have spent a better honeymoon here. Also played a round of golf and bought some of the first Ryder Cup 2014 merchandise.

Room Tip: The Embassy Suite is ideal for a romantics weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is Scottish hospitality at it's best!!! Food excellent and staff wonderful. This is the place to stay for totally luxury. It is certainly one of the most beautiful spots in the world and a paradise for golfersy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A lovely break at Gleneagles with some friends.

The Spa treatments were first class and for myself probably the best massage I’ve had (Kirsty at the ESPA) I had the “mankind” treatment. The only frustration being one of the pool buttons did not work (something I remember from our last visit at the start of the year and I mentioned it then) and people not having treatments (3 men) “blagged” their way in to use the pool. I presume this was off the back of the normal pool not being complete yet but this was unacceptable in my mind.

We ate at Deseo and were well looked after by the staff – the only minor points being continually having to chase for tap water and that no sugar was brought with the espresso at the end of the meal (meaning the coffee would have been cold when the sugar did arrive so I had drunk it, replacements were offered but I didn’t want two shots!).

Breakfast was great quality though again the service perhaps let it down as we needed to chase to have plates cleared, drinks brought and toast as well.

The newly done up pool looks great, the main pool and Jacuzzi was too cold for my liking and that was a shame, the improved outdoor area looks great. I was surprised the changing room water fountain was broken on such a new facility but overall the upgraded pool was great.

We stayed with friends who had a great time, for my wife and I this was our 5 or 6th stay and I was surprised to see so many points above that could have been better.

Room Tip: Top floor of Braid house is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just returned from a short stay at Gleneagles where I attended a conference - hard work doesn't seems nearly so hard when you are surrounded by such grandeur. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was 'taken care of' by the well-trained, attentive but never intrusive staff. My room was, well, perfect, even though I was only in it to change and sleep. I had the best night's sleep I've had in a long time. It was a tranquil and well-appointed room, and I wanted to bring the bathroom home with me - spacious - or maybe I mean capacious - with the most elegant tiling, fixtures and fittings, and furnishings.
Given we've had a foreshortened summer, the fires were ablaze in the grates when we arrived - so comforting. All the meals we had were first class and the service cannot be faulted.
If you want a small corner of heaven, it's right there. The views are enchanting and somehow the Gleneagles wizards have managed to keep the dreaded wind farms that blight so much of Scotland's beautiful landscape these days well away from this very special place. Can't wait for next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had a 3 nights at Gleneagles at a corporate event in June 2012. Setting aside the corporate hospitality which was superb the hotel can only be described as luxurious, beautiful and a pleasure to stay at. The grounds are amazing and the hotel, well 99% of it, is as you would expect from a hotel like this. Traditionally classical in a typical Scottish theme. It's extremely clean and well kept and the bedroom was sumptuous having nothing left us to want or need. Everything was provided for you.

The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was beyond amazing. Whether it was mainly due to being a corporate 'do' I'm not sure but if this is the normal standard then rest assured it will please your taste buds and tummy.

Thankfully my stay was free and I could never have afforded this trip otherwise. However if you have deep pockets or you are looking for somewhere to stay for a very special treat then this is the place to go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleneagles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Hotel

Address: Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Gleneagles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder, Scotland
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleneagles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.