We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOCKING AND FARCICAL EXPERIENCE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Allandale House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Allandale House to your Saves list
Allandale House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 High Street, Auchterarder PH3 1DB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Auchterarder B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SHOCKING AND FARCICAL EXPERIENCE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Playing a golf tournament at Gleneagles and a friend booked this accommodation. After our first round of competition golf clubs got slightly wet during round and I wanted to dry them. Mr Gerry Gillbanks greeted me at the front door in aggressive manner and told me I could not dry my clubs in my room and could only leave them in their kitchen. After I explained they wouldn't dry properly there Mr Gerry Gillbanks became even more aggressive and told me either leave them there or leave B&B, no bargaining or explanation given by Mr Gillbanks just an ultimatum. I was shocked to say the least and felt very intimidated by Mr Gillbanks over aggressive manner when he grabbed my car keys from my hand mistaking them for his room keys!!! Unbelievable! Golf is my job and I need my equipment in perfect condition for the next day, so I had to leave at 9.30pm with no where else to go. Shocking way to treat a paying customer, my 3 other friends would have left also but they had paid a deposit. Look forward to hearing their reply! Abysmal episode.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
37
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A great two days spent here. You are made to feel very welcome, relaxed, and free to come and go as you please. Facilities are great, good free wifi in rooms. Jerry is very kind and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Many thanks for your complimentary review, we are glad you enjoyed a nice relaxing stay with us, we really value your opinion and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Auchterarder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

As with a number of other reviewers we were playing at Gleneagles and wanted somewhere to stay that was close by but that wasn't going to break the bank. We couldn't have chosen better.
Although the room was small we had everything we needed for a good nights sleep and a refreshing shower in the morning.
Plenty of choice at breakfast the next morning.
In the evening we ate at Jon and Fernanda's which is a very highly rated restaurant and I have written a separate review of that. I'd highly recommend eating there and it is literally opposite Allandale House.

We hope to play another course at Gleneagles in the future and would stay at the Allandale House again when we do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Allandale House, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found everything to your satisfaction, our guests opinions really matter to us, it enables us to continually strive to provide our guests with the high standards of accommodation and service they expect. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We only stayed one night but would make a point of staying longer if in the area again. Room beautifully furnished & lovely large ensuite with bath. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Very nice breakfast room with good variety of cereals/fruit etc. Cooked breakfast very good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We very much appreciate your review of your recent stay with us at Allandale House, your comments are very complimentary and we are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you felt quite at home, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Six of us had reservations to play golf at Gleneagles and thought it would be nice to stay in Auchterarder a short drive to the golf courses. Gerry and Loraine Gillbanks were perfect hosts and made us feel right at home. The Allandale House is located in the centre of town and close to all ammenities. The only problem encountered was the fact that the rooms facing High Street proved a little noisy but the jet lag helped to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Allandale House, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments, guests comments are important to us as we strive to improve our product and service. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Although we only stayed here one night we would highly recommend the Allendale House if you are in the area. We were scheduled to play Glen Eagles Golf and this is just a stone throws away from the course. Gerry and Lorraine were wonderful hosts and gave us lots of information about the area. Gerry drove us to the course by way of "millionaires" row. Some pretty fancy homes nearby! The house is very clean and the rooms were wonderful! Everything one needs in a B & B.
The breakfast were ready and wonderful. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for your complimentary comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay it was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you golf in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not a good experience with Mr. Gillbanks. I stayed one night in a twin bedded room. After I had left the guest house, he charged my credit card an extra £20, claiming that, "the other bed had to be remade", because I put my suitcase on it. There is nowhere else to put a case by the way, because the rooms are so small!

Never heard such rubbish. £20 to straighten a few sheets, even supposing they needed straightening - What hourly rate does he pay his staff? Seriously, if you do stay here, watch this guy like a hawk and pay in cash or beware.........There are nicer guest houses in Auchterarder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Mr Platt, you reserved a SINGLE use of a twin room en-suite, however unknown to us and without prior notification, you decided to use both the beds in the room, for whatever reason was up to you, in doing so you soiled both the beds in the room and both beds had to be stripped and changed, it stated clearly on your booking form that use of both beds would be a different charge to use of one bed, you were charged the extra charge for that usage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allandale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allandale House

Address: 17 High Street, Auchterarder PH3 1DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allandale House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're visiting Scotland and looking for a guest house right at the heart of things, a stay at Allandale House in Auchterarder is the perfect Perthshire choice. An Elegant Townhouse providing Bed & Breakfast in beautifully furnished guest rooms. All our rooms have en-suite facilities with Quality toiletries, Bath robes, Flat screen cable television with DVD player, Alarm Radio Clocks, Hospitality Trays, complimentary bottled water, Hair Dryers and Free Wireless Internet access. We are located 1.5 Miles from the 2014 Ryder Cup venue at Gleneagles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Allandale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allandale House Auchterarder, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allandale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.