We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay but a short 5 minute drive from Gleneagles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duchally Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duchally Country Estate to your Saves list
Duchally Country Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gleneagles, Auchterarder PH31PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay but a short 5 minute drive from Gleneagles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night at Duchally Country Estate but would highly recommend this place. The staff were very pleaseant. We arrived mid morning and although our room was not available the receptionist Jackie took our phone number and said she would ring as soon as it was (and she did!) We stayed in Lodge 301, the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The only downside was that the heating was preset at 15 degrees on arrival (it was 0.5 degrees and snowing outside), so it did take a while to get the place heated up. We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was really good and reasonably priced. Unfortunately we did not have time to make the most of the Spa facilities but they looked great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    102
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
145
135
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. Stayed for 2 nights, hotel room massive and spotlessly clean. We had dinner in the hotel both evenings, 1st night in the resturant and 2nd in the bar. Food really good, bar prices average. Staff friendly. The spa facilities were some of the best ive seen in a hotel, you could actually do some serious swimming in the pool. Will definately return to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beware of making the error of taking a dog to this hotel as we did, not being aware of the no dogs on the estate policy. We were turned away AND charged for the so called cancelled booking. The receptionist in charge was ungracious bordering on downright rude. Our pet has always travelled with us and sleeps in the car in a cage, warm and safe. Reception said this was unacceptable as they could not allow the dog to sleep in the car as it was cruel. Big brother is definitely watching over you at Duchally.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Duchally Country Estate, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do state clearly on the booking conditions section of our website that pets are not allowed and this is a policy which our guests have been happy to observe. On this occasion the weather was inclement but that aside I have to stress that, as our receptionist informed you, it really is not possible to make exceptions to this firmly fixed rule. We are always happy for our guests to clarify any queries they may have before booking either by telephone or via the 'contact us' section of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I can only comment on the reataurant really...

The setting seems lovely (though it was blizzard-like all day) and the building nice enough from the outside.

The meal itself was decent, some of our party liked it more than others but felt the service was slow and staff not overly attentive in the main.

Fiends/colleagues love the place but I don't think i'd return in a hurry having enjoyed other similar venues more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Duchally Country Estate, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do receive many positive reviews about both the quality of our food and the level of service we aim to provide and I was sorry to see that you were disappointed. However, your feedback is important to us to help us maintain our high standards.
Resort Manager, Duchally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful accommodation, set on a hill, with stunning views over the country side. The facilities in each lodge were first class. Rooms and kitchen areas were decorated to a high standard and very comfortable. Snowed all morning and was lovely.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helensburgh --Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a great experience , it was a short break given as a gift, so unsure what to expect.We were in the hotel, where the staff were excellent , very helful, but asked to view one of the self catering chalets and were VERY impressed by the standard of excellence they offered. The Hotel room was large and very comfortable with every possible convenience provided.We had dinner 2 nights in the hotel, and the quality of the food and service was excellent.In the room there was free wifi provided and a radio with docking station for listening and recharging your ipod,also a lovely sports centre with the usual indoor pool etc. and free use of a computer, they have thought of everything!Would certainly consider a return visit. Located a very short distance from Gleneagles and also 20 mins from Perth,I and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms in the hotel so expect they are all good,mostly on the first floor with only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Duchally Country Estate, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was delighted to see that your holiday gift was a success! We do our best to anticipate and meet our guests' requirements and it is always nice to hear that we have been successful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Resort Manager, Duchally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a 2 night break using an Itison voucher. It was terrific value with B@B and dinner on first evening with a bottle of wine. Food was excellent and a fair choice at breakfast.
Super bedroom with a lovely view over to the snow covered hills. Staff were very friendly , particularly Carol on reception and George who gave attentive almost old-fashioned service and advised on what best to see. The location is great and although not too far from Glasgow felt miles away. Parking is good conveniently located outside front entrance. Leisure centre is situated a 2 minute walk away from the main hotel and was a hit with my partner.
Although we did not use it there is a games room probably good if you are on a family break and its raining. Also had one of the best manicures ever from Brenda, the beauty therapist.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duchally Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchally Country Estate

Address: Gleneagles, Auchterarder PH31PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duchally Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duchally Country Estate is set in prime Perthshire parkland near to Gleneagles and is the ideal base for a holiday in Scotland. Duchally Country Estate, while secluded, is perfect for short breaks and overnight stops in the Country House Hotel or a full Scottish holiday in luxury lodge accommodation that is conveniently located for easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Duchally Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clc Duchally Country Estate Hotel Auchterarder
Duchally Country Estate Auchterarder, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duchally Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.