We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balnearn House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balnearn House to your Saves list
Balnearn House
Aberfeldy PH15 2BJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Large, clean room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

The house is lovely and we had a large room. There was a small collection of videos & books in the room to use, which was great! Breakfast was hot & cooked to order, but the portions were quite small compared to other places we stayed on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Balnearn as a stop on a longer trip around Scotland. The owners are charming. From the outside, the building is a little disappointing, in the sense that it looks more exciting on the website. But the owners have been decorating and the inside is very nice; there's lots of antique furniture, and high ceilings. Our room was quite large and very clean. The breakfast is also excellent. We stayed off-season and got an excellent price.

We liked this hotel and recommend it.

  • Liked — The interior, the breakfast
  • Disliked — The exterior of the building. But who cares?
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

My husband and I travelled to Scotland for a long weekend and came across this lovely guest house. The owners were suprisingly young, but very warm and welcoming.

We stayed in a lovely big room, with a large bathroom, so we were very comfortable. The lounge was upstairs and had views over the snowy hills and a log fire - fantastic! My husband enjoyed the local malt and I enjoyed the peace and quiet to read my book.

Breakfast was substantial and well cooked. It certainly set us up for the day! The location was perfect as we could walk into town and the area was great for all the walking we had planned.

  • Liked — The Lounge with the open fire and views of the hills
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed at this B & B strictly for the location. I thought it was a lovely old home from the photo on the internet but it was more like an old hotel. The rooms were dorm roomish and the bathrooms were small.

This is a B & B that has a liquor license so be careful to drink only in your room or in the garden. If not you will be charged the infamous "corking fee". I don't know how much it is at Balnearn. Prices are never posted either on the web or in the lobby. We did not see much of the owners at all.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

While traveling thorugh the Scots countryside my wife and I decided to stop in Aberfeldy and, spotting the Balnearn, stopped in to inquire as to vacancies. What we found was an exceedingly nice place to stay. Mark and Claire Dimmock are very friendly folks and we were greeted warmly and sincerely. The establishment is a delight; the rooms are large and comfortable, very clean and neat. They have a commons lounge area upstairs that is quite a nice place to sit and read or play a game of chess or other board game they have available for guest's use. It is even possible to enjoy a glass of wine or a locally distilled spirit of an evening in the elegant surroundings. They have a beautiful backyard garden area which is open to visitors to enjoy.
Breakfast is very good and is cooked to order. I felt the rates were very reasonable for the surroundings and the service offered. If you ever find yourself in Aberfeldy Scotland (which is a very nice little town, by the way) I would heartily recommend staying at the Balnearn Guest House. It is a very nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIncs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

We stayed here as part of a wedding party, and were delighted with the choice. It's just a moment's walk from the Birks, and the Church if you are going to a wedding, also a few minutes walk from the town centre where you will easily find places for an evening meal. The views from the lounge and dining room, and back bedrooms are superb, and fine from the front. In the lounge is a comprehensive selection of information books and leaflets about the area. The bedrooms are immaculate and the host and hostess, who took over last year, are very observant and attentive. They have already worked on the house and have many plans to make it more their own style, in the meantime, guests enjoy their quiet attention and the super freshly cooked breakfasts. You will not need to eat for hours! Our bed was comfortable with good quality linen. The shower room was fine, not huge but big enough, equipped with nice shampoos and gels etc., plenty of hot water, and towels that seemed just about new. We fully intend to return here. There's plenty to see in the area and tbis is an excellent base.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2004

Balnearn House was a lovely large home just off the main road in Aberfeldy.

Our family of five stayed in one room. The hosts were friendly, full Scottish breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Loved the sitting room with chess set and telescope.

Only drawback was the tiny bathroom with shower that didn't drain well.

Overall nice place and would stay there again (if we're ever lucky enough to get back to Scotland.)

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balnearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balnearn House

Address: Aberfeldy PH15 2BJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balnearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balnearn House Aberfeldy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balnearn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.