We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent scenery, but not much to do!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moness Resort to your Saves list
Moness Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent scenery, but not much to do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I went with my two friends at the beginning of April. We had booked on a budget deals website and eventually found the resort (it is not well signposted if you are coming from Glasgow!!). We were pleasantly surprised by the cottage we were given. It was extremely clean and modernly decorated. It boasts a lovely pool and sauna. The restaurants however are very overpriced, in particular the bistro upstairs. Apart from nearby Aberfeldy, there isn't a whole lot to do but ideal if you are just looking to relax! Main complaint- the ducks are an absolute nuisance- you can't open your door for 2 seconds but they are trying to get in! I would go back though!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    486
    240
    85
    69
See reviews for
302
643
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
linlithgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel was in ok condition but badly needing updated. Swimming pool with sauna and steam room plus hot tub was lovely. The hotel has 3 beauty rooms in a corridor on way to pool not relaxing at all as there is no relaxation room whilst waiting on your massage. The massage was terrible no one was happy. I would have been as well getting my niece to do it as she could have rubbed my back hardwired. I asked for the massage to be a bit deeper as I didn't know what to say I felt like bursting out laughing it was a joke! Big let down which is a shame cause pool facilities and the fantastic lunch was a ten out of ten!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in an eaves twin room in the hotel - a very clean room and bathroom and beds with lovely soft white bedding - a good night's sleep. Towels were really white and toiletries replaced daily. Our room had a good hairdrier and bottled mineral water as well as an iron with a board, and the usual kettle, biscuits, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. When we couldn't get the flatscreen tv on, we rang reception to moan. The Receptionist said to use STV for Scotland but by the time we had, she was at the door to check it was working! The pool, sauna and steam room weren't huge but very pleasant. Breakfast food was good quality and plentiful - fresh baked croissants particularly delicious. The bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushroom, baked beans and potato cakes from the buffet were definitely hot enough and I had a really nice specially cooked eggs benedict one morning. Staff were helpful - especially at breakfast. The location is exceptional - with the "Birks of Aberfeldy" just over the road, the Tay nearby and wonderful scenery everywhere - try the Highland Safari experience....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 on the top floor - it has a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lovely resort, nice room and excellent staff. The only down side was that when we arrived, £100 was debited from our bank card to cover any purchases made whilst staying at the resort, ie spa treatments, meals etc... I was there on a break via amazon daily deals, which was a really good saving, but we were on a budget with limited funds and didn't plan on spending too much. This deduction did not seem to be optional. There have been occasions I haven't had this amount of money in my account but was fortunate on this occasion that I did. This could have been embarrassing as there were a fair amount of guests at reception when we checked in. Upon check out, I asked when the £100 would be refunded to my account and was told "a few days". I'm not saying this policy is wrong, just a reminder to make sure you have £100 available on a card when you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked this place on a internet offer as I think everyone does. The package we took was for what we thought was a Moness Hotel break. Unfortunately there is not a hotel here only a accommodation block.
We arrived at about four o'clock and had to queue for sometime in the reception building before we could book in. We where then directed outside to another building that is called the Hotel. It has three different entrances on different sides of the building and is just rooms nothing else. I am afraid it is not easy to locate your room and there are a lot of stairs involved. The reception building is were most of the facilities are including a small tired swimming pool. We tried to get a cup of tea in the cafe/lounge here but we were told by the waitress she was the only one on duty and she was very busy and running about(exact words) but she did take our order. This was norm for the service you experience here.
The breakfast in the morning was buffet style except for the eggs which you order, it took 35min to get a plate of scrambled eggs. The rest of the food was only half cooked. Not a good experience.
I suspect if you stay in the Self Catering Chalets and don't use the facilities you may have a better experience than we had.
Will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,U.K
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Enjoyed a great weekend at this resort all women very relaxing. Chilled out at the swimming,sauna etc. Lovely meal in the Terrace bar in the evening with wine very reasonable prices.Well equipped 3 bedroom apt.5pm deal hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Moness, our first visit we stayed in the hotel on a Groupon deal and enjoyed it so much we decided to return again but this time we booked a cottage deal through Groupon.
When we arrived the staff at reception were very helpful and check in was a breeze, unfortunately it was all down hill from there.
The cottage we were located to was a Fir cottage which was a short drive around from the main reception. To start with we weren't sure which cottage was ours as they were not numbered. When we entered the cottage it was very dingy and had a strange smell within. The whole cottage is in need of modernisation and was a real let down especially when we had read on the website that they were 4 star quality cottages. The green carpet throughout and the very old marked furniture was horrible. A few of the appliances within didn't work, some lights and an electric storage heater in the hall and believe me it was very cold when we arrived and during the night.
We are so glad we didn't pay the £229 that the cottage is meant to be if booked through Moness itself and this does not include electricity.
I have been to a lot of cottages and lodges through Hoseasons which have been of equivalent price and have been of a very high standard and have never disappointed.
I wish I could have said better about the Moness but unfortunately we really felt it was such a let down on this visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of Moness Resort. We are sorry to read your second stay did not match the expectations of your first visit and whilst Fir cottage is used continually without concern al year, we are sorry for your own disappointment. Please be assured all constructive feedback is appreciated and used to improve the customer experience, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.