We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Orkney gem, and a MUST for food lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creel Restaurant with Rooms

Creel Restaurant with Rooms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Margaret's Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creel Restaurant with Rooms
Save
You added Creel Restaurant with Rooms to your Saves list
Front Rd., St. Margaret's Hope KW17 2SL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An Orkney gem, and a MUST for food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I took my Mum and Dad (both in their sixties) to Orkney for a short break to celebrate my Dad's birthday. We had a mad internet search for a B&B and after discovering that Orkney leisure industry starts to shut down in September had a lucky break when we secured two rooms at The Creel. And we mean a lucky break!

Originally we were relieved that we had found ANYTHING and I even had a back up lined up for night two should it not be to our liking (the website doesn't really do it justice) BUT we confirmed for our second night almost as soon as we walked in.

Each room was spacious, warm, airy and wonderfully clean (we had Number 1 with a double and a single bed, M & D were in number 2 with a double bed - no i don't feel bad the boyfriend is very tall and a starfish sleeper) and each had a double window view out to sea - lovely.

Joyce and Alan were perfectly accommodating and strike the balance perfectly between welcoming and intrusive - they left us to ourselves but nothing was too much trouble. Night one the restaurant was closed (like I said Orkney winding down in September) but Joyce sorted us a bottle of wine, lovely homemade bread and olives before we went off to the (crappy) Sands for dinner. Night two was a different matter...

The food - ah the food! We had no idea that we were staying at such a good restaurant, and as total foodies this made us nearly cry with joy. My dad doesn't eat shellfish but had a mutton pie that he inhaled for a starter then the boys both had Orkney beef three ways which was melt in the mouth. The girls went for soused, tartare and smoked fish trio starter and then I had monkfish with pork belly and the mum had the scallops - A. MAY. ZING.

We gave Alan candles for Dad in the morning asking him to put them in his pudding but he made him a cake! And it was yum! And the puddings were lovely too (have the chefs special - dee-lish!)

Breakfasts followed a similar tack with steamed kippers, smoked fish risotto, and a delicious scottish breakfast (fabulous bacon and tomatoes) consumed by various across the two mornings, homemade tea bread and jams rounding it all off nicely.

It's not the cheapest by an Orkney mile but it's well, well worth the price. The word on the street is that they may be selling up (the street being an estate agents in Kirkwall) but as this is Orkney that may take some time so GET THERE WHILE YOU CAN

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I have eaten a lot of breakfasts, so I say it with it some authority, that this was a breakfast above all others. It's rare to be served by your famous owner chef - prepared to serve a fish special for breakfast in addition to all usual full Scottish or haddock and egg... We had a seafood risotto (for breakfast!!) which was just simply divine - seved up with freshly squeezed orange and artisan bread, and homemade museli.

Do eat in the restaurant - the quality of the cooking is not to be missed. The prices are exceptionally reasonable.

Room are comfortable and well-appointed.

Go soon - it's for sale!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Looking at a map of the Orkneys with St Margarets Hope down on South Ronaldsay, it does not look like a particularly good base for a holiday exploring the many delights of the islands. However, this is misleading because the roads are excellent and it really does not take very long to get anywhere, Kirkwall is 20 minutes drive away for example. As a bonus, the drive over the Churchill Barriers is stunning - not a problem to do every day on holiday! It is all worth it to stay at The Creel. Welcoming and friendly, in a beautiful site, and of course the fabulous food for which Alan Craigie is famed. A fish and seafood lovers delight, also often the opportunity to try the unusual seaweed fed mutton of North Ronaldsay, and excellent breakfasts. An imaginative wine list at sensible prices, also the malt whiskeys. But The Creel is for sale, so if you want to go don't put it off.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

The room was a good size if a somewhat odd layout. (bathroom down a corridor next to an unsed room). The furniture was modern and clean and the room was warm with lots of light.
The breakfasts were amazing with homemade bread and jam and were big enough that we didnt have tobother with lunch. The only downside was the size of the bed, it was very small!
Lovely location but is quite remote which we enjoyed. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

The Creel is delightfully situated right on the harbour at St Margaret's Hope - you can see and hear the sea from the guest rooms. The rooms themselves are reasonably sized and very clean. The Creel has a good and well deserved reputation as a restaurant, and this is reflected in the absolutely excellent breakfasts which are served - good choice and superb quality.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford,UK
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We were shown to our room on the second floor - up in the attic. The room was lovely, but a strange layout. We had the whole of this top floor, our bathroom being a bit separate from the bedroom, across the landing and next to an unused kitchen - it appeared to be a self catering unit.

We were just there for the one night, and when we got up in the morning an electricity circuit had tripped - the TV and table lamps worked, but not the overhead lights and, more importantly, the electric shower. No telephone in the room, so we had to manage without a shower. We went down to breakfast and told the waitress that we were without power in our room. She said she would speak to someone about it and it wasn't mentioned again!
The power was back on when we went back upstairs after breakfast. We got packed up ready to catch the ferry and checked out, but no-one ever apologised or gave us any discount for the inconvenience of not having a shower!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Creel during May and ate in the restaurant on the first evening. Allan, who is the Creel's chef and owner certainly impressed us with his superb food.

We were looked after very well by Joyce, his wife, who does an excellent job of maintaing the rooms to a very high standard. We were very comfortable and would certainly stay at the Creel again, should we return to the Orkneys.

The Orkneys were absolutely beautiful, well worth a visit

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creel Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Front Rd., St. Margaret's Hope KW17 2SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > South Ronaldsay > St. Margaret's Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. Margaret's Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Creel Restaurant With Rooms Hotel St. Margaret`s Hope
Creel Hotel With Rooms
Creel Restaurant With Rooms Orkney Islands, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creel Restaurant with Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.