We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastward House - a destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastward Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Margaret's Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastward Guest House
Save
You added Eastward Guest House to your Saves list
St. Margaret's Hope KW17 2RN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eastward House - a destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Our family of three stayed for seven days at Eastward in July, as a base to explore Orkney and saw all of the principle archaeological sites as well as taking a trip on the worlds shortest scheduled flight that hopped the islands. After each day of travelling and sightseeing we found ourselves increasingly looking forward to getting back to the hospitality of the Guest House. This place could become a destination in its own right because of its outstanding evening food. Whilst we were there, a couple booked to stay the night just to get the Japanese evening meal. It is clean, modern and well organised with a relaxing atmosphere and a great guest lounge to chill-out in. It was good to have found a truly family-friendly place.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
99
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Eastward Guest House has a suitably seafaring sound to it, being on the Orkney island of South Ronaldsay with its close proximity to Scappa Flow, the scuttled German High Sea`s Fleet, Royal Oak, connections to the Franklin expedition, etc etc.
A converted Victorian church, it benefits from its architectural features, the bedroom`s clean and bright, with the Guest lounge on the same floor a plus point
Food, or quality of food can be a bit subjective, but if you leave this Guest House feeling disappointed i would be amazed. Patrick and Keiko put in a lot of time and effort and we are rewarded with the results. The "Tokyo Nights" Japanese meal just has to be tried, authentic courtesy of Keiko
All in all an enjoyable, childfriendly (they have two lovely daughters) experience, we will be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We arrived on Sunday afternoon following a 1 hour ferry trip to the small town of St Margaret's Hope (approximately 5 miles from Eastward). On our arrival we were cordially welcomed by Patrick and his wife Keiko who informed us that the evening meal was going to be a Japanese banquet. This proved to be no exaggeration and we were treated to several courses of exceptional Japanese cuisine, accompanied by sake and wines. After dinner, we were able to relax in the comfortable residents lounge to enjoy coffee and liqueurs. We found that this was no exception and that Patrick and Keiko regularly offer 'speciality' dining nights of equally high standard (check the website for details). At breakfast we had several choices from fresh fruit, cereals and porridge to the full 'Scottish Breakfast'. Overall, this was an excellent choice. The area is quiet and travelling to the numerous attractions that Orkney has to offer is relatively easy. Although most are several miles to the North, the roads are relatively free from traffic. We were very impressed with the welcome that we received and had the impression that nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our family of three stayed for seven days at Eastward in July, as a base to explore Orkney and saw all of the principle archaeological sites as well as taking a trip on the worlds shortest scheduled flight that hopped the islands. After each day of travelling and sightseeing we found ourselves increasingly looking forward to getting back to the hospitality of the Guest House. This place could become a destination in its own right because of its outstanding evening food. Whilst we were there, a couple booked to stay the night just to get the Japanese evening meal. It is clean, modern and well organised with a relaxing atmosphere and a great guest lounge to chill-out in. It was good to have found a truly family-friendly place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The renovated church is delightful, and clearly Patrick and Keiko had given a great deal of thought to how to best please our family group, ranging in age from 8 to 82. Despite our short stay with late arrival and early departure, they looked after us all individually. The Japanese food was exquisite with the correct sake and wine served with each course. We had to dash to catch our ferry in the morning, but Patrick kindly supplied take away boxes and freshly baked rolls to allow us to continue enjoying the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs until well into the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill Head, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I am a hotel type-of-person and always thought of B&Bs as places run by little old ladies doing their knitting. However I needed a remote location to get business people away from the usual stresses. We took the directors of our small business to Eastward Guest House for a three day commercial strategy development time, booked five rooms and used their business facilities. The whole thing was a great deal less expensive than the usual hotel conference facilities and walking and talking on local beaches for private chats worked extremely well. Actually our best brainstorming meeting was in a field near the sea!

On the last night we splashed out on the Japanese banquet ‘Tokyo Nights’. It was exquisite food. I would rank it above most London Japanese restaurants. My partner and I have now booked a romantic weekend there. Although the place is run with the organisation and efficiency of a hotel the atmosphere is really very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

No need to recap on all the splendid attractions on offer at this "boutique" style b&b, as they fully described in the existing reviews Suffice to say, Patrick is a oneoff, a wonderful eccentric who's attention to detail is breathtaking, and at times bewildering. The explanation for this level of service is that clearly he and Keiko are not in this game for the money. They are on a mission, and I hope they continue to enjoy it as much as they seem to. What other b&b offers a complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste? My 8 year old boy also found a model glider kit on his bed. My advice is book this place and from the moment you arrive all you'll need to is sit
back and enjoy the ride!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theflyingparsnip, Owner at Eastward Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed meeting the thee generations of your family and hope that we can meet again.

Best wishes

Keiko and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastward Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastward Guest House

Address: St. Margaret's Hope KW17 2RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > South Ronaldsay > St. Margaret's Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Margaret's Hope
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Eastward Guest House Orkney Islands, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastward Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.