We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHORT STAY BREAK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller's House

Miller's House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miller's House
Save
You added Miller's House to your Saves list
13 John Street, Stromness KW1 3AD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
kirkintilloch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SHORT STAY BREAK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Miller's House should be used as a training experience for budding bed and breakfast proprietors. It provides a welcoming atmosphere and Mrs Dennison, the hostess bring a lifetimes experience to create a professionally run and visitor friendly environment. It's always a pleasure to see things done well. Mary and I would like to say thanks for a very pleasant stay.

Steve Shepherd visit was in May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

What a place, this is by far the best B&B we have stayed in our hosts are so helpful, the room is brilliantly equipped, the breakfast range and standard of food is outstanding. The place has been lovingly restored as it is housed in the oldest building in town and this has been completed to a very high standard.

We have been made to feel very much at home here, they have tried to ensure that they cater for Gluten free and they have been very willing to offer advice on getting around and what to see in the short time we have here.

This will live for a long time in our memory and we absolutely recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this lovely B&B and had a really great time. It is homely, comfortable and in an ideal location. The Dennisons are friendly and relaxed and we enjoyed chatting to them. Maureen is a marvellous baker - her shortbread alone could have crowds flocking to Stromness! We would definitely return here if we went to Orkney again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A really friendly, helpful, comfortable, feel-at-home B&B, but/and the breakfasts concentrate the care and attention into something truly fine. Great smoked haddock cooked to perfection, so you start your day on a note of lipsmacking happiness. The homemade bread and the baked extras changing each day - the scotch pancakes, fatty cutties, cinnamon buns - add that generous spirited extra to it all. We always try to pick up on the promise of something special in a B&B, but this one is up there with the very best handful. All right, slightly less than a handful. Maybe a handful if you include Ireland and France. This review is late too, but the memories are as fresh as the baking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very belated review from April 2012 but a stay at this wonderful b and b in Stromness was a great break. My sister and I stayed here for only 3 days but it was perfect. Our room was a lovely en-suite twin room,quiet, roomy withall the extra's that are appreciated. Also, great breakfast with homemade breads and even cheese. I highly recommend this lovely home with hard working hosts and will be definitely coming back..a long way from Australia but truly worth it for position,quality of room and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

excellent excellent excellent. A breakfast to die for, made getting up in the morning exciting wondering what the home made bread would be that day. and the homemade yoghurt.... words fail me
The bedroom was clean warm and spacious with lots of little touches to make it homely. a fab place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, Orkney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was the best B&B of our fortnight's holiday - and the one closest to home! It's just a short walk from the ferry terminal in Stromness which is very convenient of you're on foot. Maureen and Magnus made us most welcome and the accommodation was excellent. The most welcome thing was fresh milk in the fridge in the bedroom as standard (so often I read in a B&B's info pack that "fresh milk is available on request", but it's usually about 10.30pm when I read this and far too late to go and bother the owner). Homemade cake was also provided in the room. The room, and indeed the whole establishment, was immaculately clean and tidy, without you feeling that you mustn't touch anything!
Breakfast was a sight for sore eyes - home-made bread, yoghurt, jams, 'fattie cutties' (an Orcadian equivalent to Welsh cakes) and locally produced sausages and bacon from the butcher down the road. All in all I would highly recommend Miller's House.

Room Tip: We had the North room. A very nicely appointed twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miller's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's House

Address: 13 John Street, Stromness KW1 3AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Miller's House Stromness, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.