We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A port in the Storm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stromness Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stromness Hotel to your Saves list
Stromness Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier Head, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A port in the Storm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed 1 night in the Stromness Hotel after our tent was blown away in a storm, and our return ferry was next day. The price we paid for the hotel was probably near the top end for the Island, but with a lot of B&B's full, we didn't want the hassle of driving round trying to find somewhere cheaper.
The hotel is a bit dated and basic, but clean with friendly and accommodating staff. The breakfast was fine with a buffet for fruit, juice and cereal and A' La Carte for cooked breakfast. We had dinner in the the restaurant, which was a lovely meal (especially the seafood) and had a drink in the lounge. Overall, a great hotel, warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
9
41
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Farrington Gurney, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Stromness Hotel is located in front of the harbour, in the middle of the town. Rooms are standard and very roomy. Restaurant offers a varied menu. The bar at the restaurant has a nice selection of ales from two Orcadian breweries. What is most remarkable is the Hotel's Whisky Bar, which claims to offer more than 100 types of whisky. I counted 85 different bottles in total ... Overall, it is a nice place to stay. Hotel staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at the Stromness Hotel for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a family room with 4 single beds which was very spacious and clean. The hotel has old fashioned charm and the staff were extremely welcoming.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent and great value for money. Breakfast was also very nice and we would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in Orkney.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here with a group of 27 visiting Orkney. It's a fantastic location: close to the harbour, buses and with a fabulous view over to Hoy. There is also parking provided if you need it. The rooms were all comfortable and quiet and the staff were invariably helpful. The breakfast was great: haggis, full Scottish and porridge to die for. We didn't book in for supper but ended up eating here most nights. It has the best food in Stromness with the best views to compliment a meal - far better food and value than anywhere else in town.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

Imposing and solid and a couple of minutes walk away from the ferry terminal you're greated by a building which looms over you but is perfect in its setting.

The interior has seen better days and is over due some TLC. If you're a bit on the fussy side you might not enjoy your stay.

The lack of a proper shower was at first irksome but the huge bath tub with its big gushing tap provided my first bath in about a year in no time at all.

I loved the hand painted, Victorian style, signs that ar dotted around which gave the hotel some unique character.

The breakfast of locally smoked kipper was delish.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed 11-18/6/11 with a group from the Ramblers Association. we had a lovely big room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the garden which was very comfortable and quiet. We ate our meals in the restaurant as a group and the food was consistently outstanding with a god choice and some really creative dishes - the soups and puddings were especially good. Staff throughout the hotel made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble

Room Tip: If you want a shower you need to specify that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This hotel is in a great position and very comfortable. We had a lovely double bedded room on the front overlooking the harbour and Scapa Flow. The room was large and had a comfy settee in the large bay window and also a comfy chair. There was only a shower in the bathroom but that was fine with us. The food was very good as was the service. ould go there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stromness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromness Hotel

Address: Pier Head, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stromness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1901, our historic 42 bedroom hotel lies in the heart of the unique fishing port of Stromness, overlooking the working harbour and Scapa Flow. The bedrooms are en-suite with telephones, colour television and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a lift to all floors and car parking is available to guests. Indulge in the charm of a picturesque village harbour view from the bay windows of the Hamnavoe Lounge Bar where award-winning Orkney Ales are available on tap or enjoy a welcoming open fire and warm atmosphere in the splendour of the Flattie Bar. Residents can enjoy a cosy quiet atmosphere in the Still Room with a choice of over one hundred malt whiskies. The a la carte Scapa Flow Restaurant prides itself on using the finest local Orcadian produce - the very best grass-reared beef, fresh fish and succulent shellfish. To the rear of the hotel we have a large beautifully kept Victorian Garden where residents can enjoy a stroll in the evening or a quiet refreshment whilst relaxing in the afternoon. The hotel can also cater for weddings, parties and functions for up to 120 guests or any special event you may require, at very competitive rates. Please contact us for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stromness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stromness Hotel Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stromness Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.