We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnside Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnside Farm
Save
You added Burnside Farm to your Saves list
Northend Road, Stromness, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our room was lovely, we weren't en-suite but the bathroom was just next door and it was very clean and modern. It wasn't like staying in a b&b, more like a hotel. Breakfast was also great with a fabulous view. Joy and Robbie were very welcoming, I would highly recommend Burnside Farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A wonderful warm welcome from Robbie and Joy. This is a truly amazing B&B - super breakfast with a great view of the harbour. Fantastic modern bathroom and a really comfortable bedroom with everything you need plus Joy's amazing home-made shortbread. Thank you both for a terrific stay.

Room Tip: Hoy View and Scapa View have the edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just returned to Kent having spent 3 magical days with Joy and Robbie at Burnside Farm. The hospitality was warm and friendly, the bedrooms were fantastic and the bathrooms even better ! The breakfasts were absolutely superb and there was nothing that Joy wouldn't do to ensure her guests were happy; this included tips on where to eat in Stromness, places to visit on Orkney and, even, the weather forecast for the day ahead.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We also picked Burnside because it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. Sometimes reviews are mixed but these are universally positive ... and correct! Wonderful place with great views. It's definitely worth paying extra for the view rooms even if you think you won't spend much time inside. All the little details have been thought of. Orkney is absolutely fascinating and this is the best possible base.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the small extra price for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Burnside is a working farm on the edge of Stromness. It's a peaceful place and boasts a herd of beautiful cows shepherded by an intelligent, patient dog. Our bedroom had a view over the town and beyond to Hoy. Two great features deserve mention. One is the luxurious bathroom with a shower you won't want to leave. The other is the white crispness of sheets fresh from an Orkney gale. It was hard to leave this room in the morning but worth it for a five star breakfast. It's all the little touches... perfectly cooked fresh laid eggs, local and farm produce, home baked bere bannocks, the size and sweetness of the fruit. Joy is an unflappable, kind hostess.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We picked this as it was number 1 rated on Trip Advisor - and having stayed there it is no wonder it has this accolade.

From the first warm welcome from Joy to our last breakfast 7 days later there is not one bad thing to say about this amazing place.

The view out over Stromness to Hoy from the breakfast porch is one which never ceased to amaze and to see this with the wonderful breakfast - Orkney cheese, homemade jam and bread. We even had special 'hot smoked salmon' one day and all because the other lady staying didn't like normal smoked salmon - thanks Joy.

Our room - North View - is the one without the integral en-suite, but your own private bathroom is next door and offers every level of comfort with lovely soft towels and robes and the luxury of the Scottish soaps. The room itself is very well decorated in a wonderful homely manner (it reminded me of my grans, with lovely china and enormous tea cups!) The provision of little touches - cotton wool, cotton buds, even a diffuser on the hairdryer, all add to the luxury of this wonderful b&b. Fresh milk from the fridge - help yourself if Joy's not there and a jar of shortbread biscuits.

We even had the offer of 'help yourself to a whisky'.

Cows moving across the land when eating breakfast, the arrival of the milk lorry to collect the milk to make the fab cheese - all in all a great place to stay.

New Zealand's loss all those years ago was certainly Orkney's gain - thank you Joy for a fantastic stay Yvonne and Ian

Room Tip: There are only 3 - we looked in all of them and I suppose a front room with a view of Stromness Harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in May staying in "Hoy View" (the room name doesn't lie) and were delighted with our choice. This B&B is part of a working farm with the cows passing by the front door twice a day on the way for milking. The hospitality was second to none. The "attention to detail", the furnishings and decor of the room were outstanding. The shower room was pure luxury. The breakfast faultless with dairy produce direct from the farm, home baked bread and preserves and much more. We would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to others and should we return to Orkney it will be top of our list. Thank you Joy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnside Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Farm

Address: Northend Road, Stromness, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnside B&B is family-run and part of a working dairy farm. We have stylish and comfortable rooms (2 en-suite, 1 private facilities) with delicious breakfast a specialty. Close to town with impressive views. Freeview, WiFi, pets by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burnside Farm Stromness, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnside Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.