We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnside Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnside Farm
Save
You added Burnside Farm to your Saves list
Northend Road, Stromness, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
Stafford
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unbelievably wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We picked this as it was number 1 rated on Trip Advisor - and having stayed there it is no wonder it has this accolade.

From the first warm welcome from Joy to our last breakfast 7 days later there is not one bad thing to say about this amazing place.

The view out over Stromness to Hoy from the breakfast porch is one which never ceased to amaze and to see this with the wonderful breakfast - Orkney cheese, homemade jam and bread. We even had special 'hot smoked salmon' one day and all because the other lady staying didn't like normal smoked salmon - thanks Joy.

Our room - North View - is the one without the integral en-suite, but your own private bathroom is next door and offers every level of comfort with lovely soft towels and robes and the luxury of the Scottish soaps. The room itself is very well decorated in a wonderful homely manner (it reminded me of my grans, with lovely china and enormous tea cups!) The provision of little touches - cotton wool, cotton buds, even a diffuser on the hairdryer, all add to the luxury of this wonderful b&b. Fresh milk from the fridge - help yourself if Joy's not there and a jar of shortbread biscuits.

We even had the offer of 'help yourself to a whisky'.

Cows moving across the land when eating breakfast, the arrival of the milk lorry to collect the milk to make the fab cheese - all in all a great place to stay.

New Zealand's loss all those years ago was certainly Orkney's gain - thank you Joy for a fantastic stay Yvonne and Ian

Room Tip: There are only 3 - we looked in all of them and I suppose a front room with a view of Stromness Harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in May staying in "Hoy View" (the room name doesn't lie) and were delighted with our choice. This B&B is part of a working farm with the cows passing by the front door twice a day on the way for milking. The hospitality was second to none. The "attention to detail", the furnishings and decor of the room were outstanding. The shower room was pure luxury. The breakfast faultless with dairy produce direct from the farm, home baked bread and preserves and much more. We would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to others and should we return to Orkney it will be top of our list. Thank you Joy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night while on business in Orkney. The B&B is just a short walk from Stromness and overlooks the town, the harbour and Hoy. The room itself (Scapa view) was spacious and very comfortable, the bathroom was modern with an amazing shower. Breakfast is on the porch with local Orkney produce and an opportunity to meet and chat with the other guests. I felt very much at home here and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location
Located just above Stromness, just a short stroll into the pretty city, wunderful view over the harbor and Hoy. Enjoyed the view very much from a nice bench right in front of the house.

Rooms
Large rooms, very well decorated with lots of comfy details as a chaiselongue right at the window, very comfy beds and cosy cushios, beautiful view out of the window. Perfect luxury bathroom you would find in *****hotels with rain shower, heatable mirror (!), wonderful tiles.

Breakfast
Lots of homemade things, quite a choice of freshly cooked breakfast homemade jams, cakes, fresh fruit, I can't remember it all. Just perfect.

Hosts
Very friendly, welcoming, nice hosts, helping you out with everything needed (even with plates when you brought fresh fish & chips in the house :-), had quite some of very interesting and nice chats with Joy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was our first visit to Orkney but won't, we hope, be our last. The warm welcome and the hospitality of Joy and Robbie was the icing on the cake. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed and we agree with all the praise heaped on Joy's breakfasts in other reviews. And thank you Joy for urging us turn around and head back out, one evening, so that we caught the sunset from the Ring of Brodgar. Magic!

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a room with a view down to the town and the quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Burnside Farm for two nights. It was really nice. Especially the rain shower was great, we were really lucky staying for two nights it could had be more!

Thanks for your warm welcome. We enjoyed it a lot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our stay at Burnside was perfect in every way! The room was excellent and the breakfast outstanding, with home cooked goodness and local ingredients. I will never forget the view of the water from the breakfast room! Would recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnside Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Farm

Address: Northend Road, Stromness, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnside B&B is family-run and part of a working dairy farm. We have stylish and comfortable rooms (2 en-suite, 1 private facilities) with delicious breakfast a specialty. Close to town with impressive views. Freeview, WiFi, pets by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burnside Farm Stromness, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnside Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.