We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asgard B&B

Asgard B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asgard B&B
Cairston Road, Stromness, KW16,, Stromness KW16 3JS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
Colchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

What can we say Dawn and Harold were the perfect hosts. Our room was in show house condition, with views out to the port and sea, with wine, toiletries and little extras a plenty. As somebody who is new to b&b's Dawn went out of her way to make me a lifelong convert, which I now am, thanks to the positive friendly welcome I received here. Breakfast was delicious, and plentiful and the lunch box on our early morning departure a lovely gesture. We find it hard to fathom the previous negative comments, as when we return to Orkney Asgard will be our place of choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double en-suite which in our opinion surpasses some so called 4 star hotels we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
36
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

A welcoming, warm and friendly b&b with excellent breakfasts and many nice extra touches.

We phoned Asgard on-spec after wet and windy weather prevented us from continuing our campervan holiday on Orkney. Dawn and Harald were extremely welcoming on our arrival in the early evening. Dawn showed us to our room with minimum fuss and left us to settle in.

The quality of our room - and all the communal areas -
was of a very high standard indeed. Every last detail had been thought out, down to fluffy robes in the wardrobe, and a bottle of wine and chocolates on the dresser. The en-suite bathroom was a haven with efficient shower and again, everything you could need on hand.

Breakfast was at the family kitchen/dining table with the other guests. Our sitting places were allocated by room numbers to avoid confusion and to ensure guests sat together with their own travelling companions. The breakfast itself was cooked to order (guests fill in a form the night before from a fairly extensive list) and was hearty and delicious. Harald and Dawn were both there with friendly banter and helpful local tips and the dogs (they are big dog lovers) were kept away from the table and from guests.

On our departure after 3 days (we'd have stayed longer but Asgard was fully booked) we found a sprig of thistle and a carnation on the windscreen of our campervan - Dawn's humorous farewell gesture to her "hippy guests".

Thoroughly recommended and thank you Dawn and Harald for a lovely restful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This B&B was a fantastic place to stay on Orkney.
Dawn was welcoming and had thought of everything- WiFi, Freeview, everything you need in your room, including a small bottle of wine- very welcome!
We had a lovely 2 days and nights here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Orkney.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Asgard is a wonderful B&B just on the edge of the port of Stromness. The owners are great people with a excellent knowledge of the Orkney's. The house is a very comfortable place to just relax or to base from for seeing the island/s. The breakfasts are first rate with a wonderful "down home" feel.
I will be recommending The Asgard to any and all who visit the Orkney Islands.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We spent 20 days in Scotland, staying in ten different B&B. The general level of Scottish hospitality is very high: all the rooms was clean, all breakfasts huge and tasty, all owners nice and knowledgeable.
In my opionion Asgard is no exception and I overall enjoyed the place.
The house is ten minutes walking distances from the village centre, very close to the ferry terminal. The room is spacious and nice, and bathroom is also good.
The rooms is provided with so many little but adorable touches like the water bottle, the chocolate and wine, many toiletries.
The room wasn't serviced during the day and we found our dirt coffe cups when we went back in the evening. This was a little bit disappointing, but I have to say that Dawn was on holiday that evening and house was kept by another girl.
The house is full of rules and sometimes you got the impression that the host does't like other people, but actually this didn't bother me.
The host do smoke in the kitchen: we are smokers so it didn't bother us, but I understand this could be annoying for other persons.
House private parking is to roomy enough if the BB is full. We were asked to park on the street opposite the house: it doesn't seem to be very ok, but everithing went fine.

Stromness is a small village, with just a couple of restaurant, pretty bleak in the evening as most tourist go in daily tours from Thurso (Kirkwall was the same!). We spent three days travelling around Orkney, but probably two would have been enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

What a great B & B, having previously stayed in other accomodation on the island, I can wholeheartedly recommend Asgard to any traveller. The rooms were spacious, clean and inviting. Dawn's breakfasts are legendary; we were there a few days and worked through the menu, delicious, much better than my previous accom.! Only 5 minutes walk from the ferry, so handy even if you haven't brought the car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Dawn and Harald received us very well and friendly. The room was clean and very nice. The bathroom was spacious, clean and functional. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful (compliments to the chef Dawn!). The B & B is close to the ferry terminal, 5 minutes walk. The only bad thing is that we spent one night in this beautiful B & B!
Andrea e Giuditta, Italy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asgard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asgard B&B

Address: Cairston Road, Stromness, KW16,, Stromness KW16 3JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walkers, Anglers, Cyclists, Golfers, Bikers, bussines and holiday makers all welcome, Just leave the kids at home and come and spend a few days in Orkney. The rooms are all on 1 floor with ensuite bathrooms. A large lounge is available for your use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asgard B&B Stromness, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asgard B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Asgard B&B to your Saves list