We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful history.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corrigall Farm Museum

Corrigall Farm Museum
Corrigall, Harray KW17 2JR, Scotland
01856 771411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Harray
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Elgin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is brilliant. Packed with interesting items and has a very knowledgeable guide who was very friendly and keen to share information. A great insight to early Orkney farming.

We came across the sign to this museum by chance - so glad we did!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
abrdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Corrigall Farm Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice, knowledgeable guide. Interesting view into Orkney farming in the past. Very friendly resident cat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombwell, South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Brilliant look back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a brilliant little farm museum. On arrival it's easy to think as we did that there's not much here , won't take long to look around. How wrong you can be. With a personal guided tour we learned so much about farming and living in Orkney in bygone times. Fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Real gem of a museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This may be a small farm museum, but it packs a lot in. We visited while on a weeks holiday in Orkney and were really pleased we did. The buildings themselves are up to 200 years old and are just as they were left after the last owner died about 30 years ago. They illustrate just how hard life was and how hardy the folk must have been (The Hudson Bay Company recruited in Orkney and the arctic explorer John Rae was from Orkney). We had never seen nor smelt a peat fire before with lots of smoke and not much heat. The whole building is made from flagstone with the exception of the rafters and some of the furniture as wood was in short supply.

A really excellent and knowledgable guide bought the whole experience to life.

The museum is run by Orkney council and is free, yes free to visit. A must for anyone interested in farming history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Shows how hard life was in days gone by with the open hole in the wall fire and the box beds and bare walls they must have been hardy people then also shows the outhouses and if you are at the right time of year you can see kittens and some of the animals that used to be there

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrigall Farm Museum also viewed

Birsay, Orkney Islands
Stromness, Mainland
 

Been to Corrigall Farm Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corrigall Farm Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.