We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th visit to Castlehill and more to come” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlehill Orkney

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Evie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlehill Orkney
Save
You added Castlehill Orkney to your Saves list
Castlehill, Evie KW17 2PJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Evie B&B and Inns
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
2 reviews
“4th visit to Castlehill and more to come”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Jim and Denise make you feel welcome from the word go and keep on doing so.
We know, since we have been there for the fourth time.
The room - with a view across the sound to Rousay - was bright, cosy and impeccably clean, as always. Everything in it is to the highest standards and blends state of the art appliances with tasteful and comfortable furnishings.
In the public rooms you are bound to meet interesting other guests from around the globe, whose conversations at the large breakfast and/or dining table are an asset to this house. Both pieces of furniture are the appropriate stages for Jim's cuisine, at breakfast or for dinner.
The locally supplied food reaches global standards when it is on the plates after Jim's magic. We are still talking of the sea-food and beef we had this summer.
And Denise's baking - simply yummy.
Both, Jim and Denise make you feel at home in any respect, so much so that we will be back for sure.
Thank you, you two.
We are looking forward to another stay with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a wonderful welcome from Jim and Denise, they are fantastic hosts and make you feel at home instantly. Jim is a great cook, all the evening meals we took were excellent and made with tasty local produce. Denise can bake anything, her cheese scones are amazing. The twin room was excellent clean and tidy just right for our needs. The slower pace of life meant we had a fantsatic holiday. The views and wildlife can be stunning at times, even the low cloud can have benefits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wonderful welcome made to feel at home,the room was beautiful with amazing views and the bed very comfortable, just wish we had booked our evening meal after seeing Jim`s menu, Jim helped us to make the most off our short time on Orkney by going over the map with me before we left in the morning, never been made to feel so welcome anywhere else we have stayed, I hope to return to Orkney in the future and would not stay anywhere else. Thank you Jim and Denise for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellon Charles, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We visited Orkney for the first time in May, this year, as a treat for my husband's birthday. I am so pleased that I came across the Castlehill B & B when I trawled the internet, as Denise and Jim made us so incredibly welcome in their beautiful home. Everything was immaculate and the room was just right for our needs - there was absolutely nothing lacking. Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely couple and I can see why they are booked up right through the season! Future visits to Orkney will always see us visiting with Jim and Denise! Thank you both

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Never stayed in such a friendly place - amazing hosts!
Jim sent loads of information before we even arrived for our four day stay.
Website has so much information. Then we met Denise!! Homemade scones every morning and she sat down with me and sorted our whole trip to get the best out of the island in the short time we had to see this fantastic island. She even brought a bag of goodies I had left, to Stromness - a 45 min. drive away!
Jim's breakfast's have to be experienced. I even got my favourite seafood! for breakfast.
Yes it is up a bumpy track but so worth it! The room was great - what a view of Eyehallow.
Little owl on the fence during our first evening meal!
Beat this if you can! Run now Jim and Denise cos' we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Jim and Denise welcomed us not only as guests but as if we were long-standing friends. This, together with comfortable accommodation and a readiness to cater for all our needs, ensured our week's stay was relaxed and care-free. If/when we return to Orkney we would aim to stay at Castlehill.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We are just back from our second break in Orkney with Denise and Jim at the Castlehill B&B in Evie and enjoyed every moment. Denise and Jim are perfect hosts and make you feel like part of their family. Nothing is too much trouble for either of them, and they go out of their way to add the extras that you wouldn't get anywhere else. For example, wrapping up our purchased painting so it would be safe on the flight home - and it was!

Castlehill itself is very cosy and comfortable, and the food is second to none. Jim and Denise are both excellent cooks, and Denise's baking, whilst seeming effortless, is amazing. If you visit try the fresh cheese scones at breakfast (yes, she gets up and makes them fresh every morning) and her lemon drizzle cake is the best we have ever tasted.

We are looking forward already to our next visit when the hot tub room will be ready!

Thanks to you both!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlehill Orkney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlehill Orkney

Address: Castlehill, Evie KW17 2PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Evie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star listed with Visit Scotland. Rural high quality B&B, overlooking magnificent sea view & islands in Evie, West Mainland, Orkney. Prices per room, high quality evening meals catered for. Close to all archaeological sites, world heritage & RSPB for bird enthusiasts. Beach close by. We have en-suite rooms, oak furnished and luxury linens provided. We can arrange for fishing needs and guides. B&B has free wi-fi, debit & credit card facilities. We also have a sauna & large hot tub. We aim to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Orkney is a great place to holiday with lots of attractions for the visitor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlehill Orkney Orkney Islands/Evie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlehill Orkney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.