We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kringla Apartments, Orkney

Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing
Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Comfortable dining and relaxing area
Dounby
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RonMBaler...
Balerno
1 review
“An excellent apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was my first visit to Orkney and I was lucky to find Kringla3.
The apartment is first class and Kay is a friendly, caring and informative owner. A lot of thought has been given to fitting out and equipping the apartment and the result is good.
Dounby is a good base from which to tour Mainland Orkney and has adequate shops, a post office and a petrol station.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The quality of the apartment.
Liked least: I can't really think of anything.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
scalliwag...
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful apartment,good central location for exploring,excellent host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Mum,myself and Skye (the dog) had a luxurious stay in Kringla 2.The apartment was immaculate and very well equipped.The location is ideal for exploring Orkney, central for all the important sights .Dounby is well equipped for shops,pub,Post Office, fuel etc. Kay and her family were more than helpful and full of advise and catered for our every need.It's nice to find somewhere so lovely to stay which is dog-friendly. Hope to return again soon to explore more.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Luxurious accommodation,ideal location,excellent host
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Greg B
Arcata
1 review
“Good view, excellent accomodations and our host was very helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Kringla for four nights while we attended the 2013 Orkney Folk festival. Brand new, light and airy, extremely clean, good view, and well located on Orkney. We really appreciated our hosts helpful suggestions. Dounby is pretty well located given that Stromness and Skara Brae are probably only 15 or 20 minutes away. Washer and dryer a huge plus as was the large kitchen and living room. A good bargain, we'd come back in an instant.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Light, airy, well located
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sally P
Mountain Ash, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place for a honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent our honeymoon week in Kringla 3 and can't praise it highly enough. Kay was kind enough to meet us to show us the flat at midnight (the Aberdeen ferry gets in to Orkney rather late in the evening) and gave us such a warm welcome. Kay had even plotted with some friends of ours behind our back to ensure that a wedding present of local goodies and treats was waiting for us on arrival.
The flat is very comfortable and has amazing natural light, it was a fabulous place to work on projects as well as a base to explore all the prehistoric sites and countryside from. We really didn't want to leave and hope to visit again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tapstar
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We've just returned from a lovely week staying in Orkney. Kringla in Dounby was a great base being in the centre of the West Mainland and it's easy driving to the main sights including Skara Brae, Maes Howe, Brough of Gurness, Kirkwall and Stromness. We were out most of the day, but the apartment was a lovely comfortable and warm place to return to after a long day sightseeing, walking or bird watching.

Kay Morgan is a delightful host and knows her island home so well - we found puffins just where she said they would be on our first outing! The apartment is really well appointed with everything you might need to self cater, including our yardstick - a cafetiere to make real coffee. Having a Co-op shop which is open until 10pm, a good butchers shop and a small hotel which serves great food, all just 2 minutes walk away, makes Kringla a very convenient base for visitors. Altogether I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kringla and I hope it won't be too long until we return!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sylvia W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I spend a great week in Orkney and stayed at Kingla Apartment 1. The owner gave us a warm, friendly welcome and provided useful local information. A nice touch was a welcome basket with local goodies and fresh eggs from their farm.
This is a very comfortable and well appointed new apartment, nicely decorated, a bright, modern decor with all the home comforts, very comfortable beds. Located in the quiet village of Dounby, which has a small supermarket (open long hours), a chemist, post office, butcher, and good restaurant and cafe. We highly recommend Kringla and would love to stay here again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The overall feel of the accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Steph_May
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I wish we had stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent 3 nights in Orkney and rented 3 Kringla, the upstairs apartment. We were the first to stay in this newly renovated, quiet, and beautifully fitted apartment. The beds were extremely comfortable, good heating, and all of the kitchen and bathroom fittings are first rate. They have really done this flat up as if they were about to move in themselves! There was also a lovely welcome basket with farm-fresh eggs, Orkney fudge and other treats. Kay met us at the apartment and gave us a lot of helpful local knowledge to plan our trip.

Dounby is central to 'mainland' Orkney and was a short drive to Skara Brae, Brodgar, Birsay, Maes Howe, and 20 mins to Kirkwall. We easily filled our three days with fascinating historical sites, wildlife spotting, craft galleries and a tour of the Highland Park whiskey distillery.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: very comfortable apartment, centrally located
Liked least: nice view out over the fields but perhaps on Orkney a sea view would be nice.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$102
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Kay M
44 01856 841803
Speaks English
Listed since : Dec 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 169 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing