We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views - even better food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stromabank Hotel

Stromabank Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stromabank Hotel
Save
You added Stromabank Hotel to your Saves list
Longhope | South Walls, KW16 3PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hoy B&B and Inns
Cornwall
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Superb views - even better food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ate here twice during a short stay on Hoy in Orkney. The views - even on a wild summer evening were to die for - but Maureen's cooking was even more mouth-wateringly wonderful! The mackerel pâté, the mushrooms, the fish, the scampi, the steaks - all super-delicious!! And the chips were the best in the land!! Good to be in Orkney and enjoying the best things in life......
NOTE - I did not stay - just enjoyed great food. I did not even TRY to sleep!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

i stayed here with my husband, on a return trip back home after 20 years Maureen and tam and family were so freindly. our room was beautifully decorated and the en-suite was wonderful. The food was brillant,(stornoway black pudding a must), local produce was used and maureens orkney fudge cheesecake was to die for!! The views from the dining room were amazing, along with the sunshine we had, it took your breath away. To end each day it was a pleasure to sit in front of an open fire and enjoy a tipple from the well stocked bar. will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends this Easter and can highly recommend it to anyone that happens to find themselves in this part if the world!

Our rooms were a good size and well kitted out. The bar stocks a range of local beers, which was great for us!

However, the best feature by far was the view from the dining room, which looked over the islands and out to the sea. From here you get a real impression of how quickly the weather can change, bright sunshine one minute, blizzard the next!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've stayed at Stromabank twice now and always had a great time.

I arrived the first time a total stranger but was greeted like the proverbial country cousin. Although travelling alone that trip I was shown to a spacious twin room. It was nicely decorated. Facilities like tea/coffee/tv/storage etc all beautifully presented. The ensuite was large by hotel standards and also looked new. The bed was comfortable, bedding clean and a good nights sleep was had.

One thing new visitors might not realise about Hoy is that if you miss the museum cafe, and it isn't Thursday, you ain't gonna find a takeaway any time soon so plan to eat in! I did and have no complaints. Recommendations? Leave room for the Sticky Toffee Pudding.

Breakfast in the panoramic conservatory can be anything from healthy to a proper cooked breakfast and again was very good.

This time round I took Mam with me. Again we were greeted warmly and coincidentally had the same room as I'd had last time. Although the room looked just as I remembered it, it still looked brand spanking new and nipping clean, including the ensuite.

We enjoyed a delicious evening meal especially the Sticky Toffee Pudding!

The night was topped off later by a chat with the regulars whilst enjoying a small beverage at the bar.

As on my previous trip, a good nights sleep was followed by good cooked breakfast.

If you do the tourist thing on Hoy and you're asked where you're staying just note the response you get when you say Stromabank. Lots of oohs and aahs and umms. Either the whole island has been coerced into subliminal marketing or the Stromabank is the place locals like to go and you can't get a better recomendation than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orphir, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went to this hotel for a meal while on a visit to Longhope with our family.
Meal was OK. Owner firstly complained we were early for our booking, 20 Minutes at most, nobody else in restaurant anyway, but said had booking before us that had not turned up still that he had to deal with first. Did not show us to our table, had to ask where it was and did not give us any menus. My husband went to bar for drinks and in this time the owner decided that the other booking was not coming and gave us menus and hovered over us with the waitress until we ordered as he said he had a lot of bookings and was going to be busy later, made us feel very uncomfortable having to rush and pick our meals. We were there for a family outing and not interested in his bookings, which when we left at 8.15pm about 8 people had arrived for meals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have stayed at Stromabank and always eat here when visiting relatives on Hoy - Tam and Maureen are always warm and welcoming and the food delicious - well and thoughtfully prepared and presented! It is always a comfort to know that superb small hotels like this still exist and I would recommend a stay at Stromabank to everyone - it will perk up the dullest soul and the views will inspire you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

The food was okay the sticky toffee pud was great unfortunately all a bit over priced and the service wasn't particularly friendly. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stromabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromabank Hotel

Address: Longhope | South Walls, KW16 3PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Hoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hoy
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with fantastic views over the Pentland Firth. This island has many great walks, and is enjoyed by all. We have facilities for disabled and elderly. We use local produce as much as possible in our menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stromabank Hotel Hoy, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stromabank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.