We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for ferry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel

Sands Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sands Motel to your Saves list
Sands Motel
Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Convenient for ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This small comfortable hotel ( I am not sure why it calls itself a " motel" ) is a 5 minute drive from the ferry terminal at St. Margaret's Hope, useful if one is catching the 0745 departure. Continental breakfast is available from 0700.. All bedrooms have a good.. view across the bay. The entrance, rather surprisingly, is from the car park at the rear.. The surroundings on approach are not very attractive, as one passes a large wharehouse or shed, with another one to the back.. Behind the hotel there is a slipway for those wanting to launch a dingy or cannoe.. There is a small sandy beach in front of the hotel
The main feature which remains in my mind is that the helpful and friendly staff were all locals who had worked there for some time, no doubt one of the benefits of remaining open thoughout the year..The evening meal menu was ambitious with locally sourced ingredients, ( we had hand dived scallops and Orkney lamb); many diners were not residents. The wines were reasonably priced , eg £14 to £18 for a bottle..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
28
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visiting the Orkneys was my partners idea. ( as it was his special birthday I went along with his treat) I was unsure expecting rough crossing and colder weather but it was just the opposite . We had a good crossing and the sun shone most of the time we were there, plus our stay at the Sands was so comfortable, lovely room with delightful views, and very pleasant helpful staff (from owner to chambermaids) We were sorry to leave and wished we had booked for longer especially as there was so much to see on the island. Hopefully we will return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms face sea. We had one in roof with but it was quite spacious, very light and nice bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked this hotel for our one night stay in Orkney, after having read reviews of other hotels, picked this one glad we did, we had a lovely room overlooking the harbour. Room was beautiful comfortable bed, lovely en suite. Dinner was excellent , and breakfast too was excellent, friendly staff, and nice peacefull location thoroughly enjoyed our stay wish it had been longer, however we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYBSTER
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I have been to this hotel many times often staying overnight, this time we had an evening meal which was impossible to fault and the service was excellent thanks to all the staff for such lovely evening

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sands motel, with its nice waterfront location. Walking out of the front door, one can have a relaxed stroll along the waterfront. Rooms are clean, spacious, all with wonderful harbour views. Beds perfect. Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout.
We were a bit less impressed with the food; good, but nothing out of the extraordinary. We have dined better at other Orkney-restaurants.
Location is great; quiet, but close to the main road through (west-mainland Orkney,) Burray and Ronaldsay.
So, overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Sands Motel served as our base during our 4 days in the Orkney Islands. The staff was very friendly, helpful and conscientious. The hotel sits right by the water and our room was spacious, clean and had natural light and a view of the pier. We had a roomy bathroom en suite, as they say, in our room. The delicious breakfast each morning provided many choices prepared to our request. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return on our next trip to these enchanting islands with their rich history, hard working people and many birds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We ate here on a recent visit to Orkney. We had not booked and the resturant was full, but they managed to fit us in on a table in the lounge. Service was good even though they were very busy. I had the salmon which was excellent, husband who is a veggie had the Moroccan pie which he said was very good. I had the raspberry teardrop dessert which was nice but not great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Motel Burray, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.