We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““3 Years On...” Bacon and Bed-GATE put to rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hamilton Rd | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
““3 Years On...” Bacon and Bed-GATE put to rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Date of stay 18-20th May 2014

Room 233

My last review of this hotel was in March 2012 and previously to that in March 2011.
This review is to hopefully act as an update to my last reviews. I currently stay at this hotel about 4-5 times per year. The Holiday Inn Express at Strathclyde remains a cheaper style outer circle Glasgow hotel, with easy 20-30 min car access to the city if required, it is also situated within a few hundred meters of Scotland’s only all year round theme park and sits next to Glasgow’s rowing / boating lake which makes an ideal walk or run of an evening. (for info the lake its about a 4 mile loop)

If you do choose to walk round the lake, on the right hand side there is an underpass which leads over to Hamilton (under the motorway) where there is a Cinema, Supermarket and further shopping outlets. (It’s about a 20-30 minute walk, about 2 miles)

The hotel was originally owned by the Six Continents Group and was one of the first Holiday Inn Express hotels that the founding group established, it has now been sold to a franchisee (like the majority of the chain) .
Over the last few years the hotel has undergone a "makeover". This has resulted in a flat screen TV renaissance in the bedrooms, replacement of the lounge and dining room furniture. The all IMPORTANT free WiFi has been granted throughout the whole hotel since my last review

My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows: On arrival at the hotel the check in staff are welcoming and friendly. Check-in is simple and easy. The reception area is the typical open plan bar, breakfast and dining area which is always well kept, tidy and clean. The rooms, are of brand standard and were clean and tidy and well maintained. A number of other reviewers have complained of the softness of the beds, however I found the bed to be just the same as every other hotel in the chain with no noticeable difference.

The hotel has a free car park which I have never encountered a problem with.

The breakfast (complimentary) is now the typical Holiday Inn Express “part English, part continental” which is a mix of croissant and pastries and or sausage, powdered scrambled egg mix and baked beans, with toast or bread option and machine orange and coffee available. A number of reviewers have posted that bacon is noticeably missing from the breakfast options, however Holiday Inn Express do not offer bacon as part of their branded breakfast, Bacon is available in the more expensive Holiday Inn chain.

The hotel does provide an evening meal service which I have not tried to date. As with most Holiday Inn Express’s they are happy to let you order food in from local takeaways (menus are available from behind the bar). Opposite the hotel is the "standardised" Tobey Carvery which is available apparently for "good food" but this review is not for that particular chain. Check-out is normally a pain free process with very helpful staff. 
You ask why I stay, the answer is simple, on the staffing front, as a seasoned traveller, a special mention to the following staff members, David from the breakfast team who always wears a smile and is always happy to say hello.

David (who was front-of-house staff then the Food Manager and subsequently the night porter) who over the last many years has been the heart and soul of the hotel for many a weary traveller sadly was not here on my visit (come back soon David)

Finally Isabella who is quite simply the nicest hotel Manager I have had the fortune to meet, so much so if I could copy her into every hotel I wash up in, I would.
In summary I have sustained this review as a 4/5 for an older style looking Holiday Inn Express that has the extra special staff touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Regular Guest

A big big thank you for your excellent feedback. You are a great ambassador for this hotel and understand the Holiday inn Express brand concept very well. I will pass on your comments to the relevent staff and all of the team here at Strathclyde.
I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    88
    58
    18
    6
See reviews for
45
42
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Irthlingborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Convenient location means a lot of business traffic stays there - large trucks and vans when we stayed.

Room large enough and clean and tidy. Shower was nice. Beds are soft but you'll never please everyone with beds will you? Breakfast included and whilst I was happy with what was on offer, I was surprised there was no bacon with the rest of the cooked offerings.

Location easy distance from Glasgow or Edinburgh and so ideal from that point of view.

My one gripe might be that the bed was too soft for the wife but the sofa bed was just right for her. Only one issue was no bedding available for it. If you have the bed, you should be able to get the bedding right? We were offered a blanket but not ideal in any way.

Parking good and plentiful - enough so my car did not get knocked and scratched - CCTV is another nice security thing.

For the money - yeh, it was fine. Staff there were pleasant enough and all in all, not a bad place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your feed Steve. Sorry you were only offered a blanket for the sofabed. We always provide full linen prior to arrival for any requested sofabed.
I will address this with the staff concerned as a training need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was my second stay at this Holiday Inn Express this year.

The hotel is conveniently located just if the motorway and is next to Strathclyde Park. There is a very large car park available which is free for guests.

On arrival the reception area was clean and well maintained and I was served within a few minutes with an apology offered for the short wait. Check-in was completed quickly and as a member if the hotels loyalty scheme I was offered a choice of additional points or a free drink from the bar.

My room was on the top floor and at the end of one of the corridors therefore it was away from the lift and was nice and quiet. The room itself had been thoroughly cleaned throughout prior to my arrival and was comfortable.

Food is available in the bar area in the evenings with a reasonable choice available. I chose the chicken pie which was served with vegetables and mashed potato. The quality was pretty good with lots of filling whilst the mash was also decent quality and not powdered. There is also a Toby Carvery next door to the hotel.

I had a good nights sleep and there were no disturbances or excessive noise which was very good.

A complimentary breakfast is offered in the morning which is continental with three hot items also available (Beans, sausages and scrambled eggs) so there is a decent choice available. This hotel I feel benefits from the Great Room being much bigger than most Holiday Inn Express' out there so it is not as cramped or uncomfortable as some out there.

When checking out there were no delays and I was wished a safe journey as I left.

Overall another decent stay and I'd be happy to return again in the future. I prefer staying here than at the nearby Holiday Inn Express at nearby Hamilton as the parking set up is much better here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very simple room and hotel, with average service and prices.

You could get a lot more for your money if you did not stay in a large chain hotel like this, I feel you do not get a personal touch when staying in places like this.

Although the lady that welcomed me was new she was not very clued up, I have not experienced this in the past.

My bill was incorrect but soon rectified.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do have a new member of staff in the process of on the job training and supported by an experienced member of staff.
At the hotel we do pride ourselves in delivering a personal touch, I am disappointed that you felt that this was not what you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was on business in the area and due to head back home when an emergency kept me in Scotland. I ha d previously attempted to stay at this hotel but it is so popular it is hard to get a room. I tried on speck and was fortunate to get a room, as several coach trips were booked in. The staff on the desk were excellent and handled the booking with great speed as I was soaked to the skin having just left a construction site.

Room Tip: Book early odd numbers on the first floor are quiet I was given 137.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much I am delighted that your experience was great. It will be my pleasure to feedback to the staff and let them know they are doing a grand job. I also hope you will return soon to this hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portknockie, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

great place for a few nights away, near plenty places to visit, beds comfortable and rooms clean.

could possibly have a plug socket near the mirror for hair appliances?
all in all great stay, staff extremely friendly always a smile as you came and left!
thank you

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much rachel I will feedback your comments to the team. Come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location when travelling south as it has very easy access from the motorway. Friendly staff, an adequate breakfast and although near the motorway it was a quiet room. Mattress a bit soft for our liking, but otherwise very good

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments which will be shared with the hotel team. I hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park

Address: 1 Hamilton Rd | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Motherwell, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.