We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country n western weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbank Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Willowbank Hotel to your Saves list
Willowbank Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96, Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8PG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Largs
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“country n western weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

just spent weekend in this hotel while we visited the country n western weekend millport . nice cosy wee hotel but the dining room service was so slow and food was very basic . breakfast was cereal , bacon egg and sausage on 1st morning and bacon egg and beans on the 2nd morning . we thought the country music would have continued in the hotel but it was sequence dancing which was going on beside us while .we were having our meal that's how long it took to feed us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
33
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

As part of a coach trip, we stayed 2 nights at the Willowbank Hotel in Largs. The rooms are clean and acceptable, the bathroom we had was VERY small and in great need of a makeover. Lots of mould and bulging walls. The pillows were the worst I have encountered for a long time. The were thin and heavy, so if you can, take your own.
The meals were average, with the breakfast being just below average. No fresh fruit. Toast already made and on the table, so it was stone cold. Not great. barely average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Traveled with David Urquart although the trip was awful. The hotel was ok food was good, but for once I do have to agree the portions were quite meagre.. Also when a member of the party asked the manager who seemed a nice friendly chap. What time the bar closed his answer was "your residents we're open as long as you want a drink. A few people were moaning that it actually closed at midnight.( Which was plenty late enough for me normaly). As we didn't get back to hotel after midnight after the tattoo, after a harrowing wasted day. They decided they would open bar for a few minutes although I did need a drink I decided to decline there graciouse offer! Hotel was nicely situated and clean would not baulk at staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a recent coach trip to the Edinburgh Tattoo. Excellent location. Staff very friendly and provided an excellent service especially at meal times. Food was excellent. Hotel has a high standard of cleanliness throughout. Ideally situated 15 minute walk to the ferry and town centre. Perfect for either a short stop over or a longer stay. Wish I could have stayed longer, would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms are all on either the ground floor or first floor, there is no lift but stairs are easily mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a very clean and comfortable little hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. The only drawback I could find was the food. I was on a bus tour, so perhaps this could have had some bearing on the quality. Otherwise top marks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

my wife grandaughter and i spent four lovely nights here the food was excellent and the service,nothing was too much for the staff,the decor was a bit worn but acceptable,the htel was near the town and ferries with a bus stop right outside, we would have liked to have gone to the Grafitti Castle but could not find out if abus went there,a job forthe staff next time.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great small Hotel in the seaside town of Largs Ayrshire, good food and friendly staff , nice front garden with outside seating , and beautiful flowers ....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willowbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Hotel

Address: 96, Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally run, independently owned 3 Star Hotel (STB & AA graded. Conveniently situated off the main coastal road in the seaside town of Largs. The Willowbank Hotel has a large private carpark with free parking for guests and a lovely garden area. All rooms are ensuite with TV/DVD, Tea/Coffee facilities & hairdryer. The Lounge Bar and Function Area host regular entertainment for guests enjoyment. There is also a Restaurant and relaxing TV Lounge. Free wifi is available in most public areas and some bedrooms.If you are looking for character & warmth with friendly & efficient service look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Willowbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Hotel Largs, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.