We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brisbane House Hotel to your Saves list
Brisbane House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Got this through Itison voucher and went for a midweek break to Largs. Everything that was offered on the voucher we got even drinks on arrival !! Prices for drink were reasonable in the bar and the 3 course meal and breakfast was superb and worth the money alone ok its not a 5 star hotel but its clean tidy and ideally located for a wee break. Staff were superb especially the waiteress(apologies cant remember her name but she served dinner and breakfasts and worked behind bar she never stopped and nothing was a problem) the room was very hot even though heating was off but I would rather be like that than cold

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    64
    63
    36
    13
See reviews for
48
103
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at Brisbane Hotel late November '13, this was my first experience of the hotel and the second time my wife had stayed here.

The hotel has a lovely setting overlooking Largs beach, the entry to the hotel is very modern and welcoming, as were the reception staff who quickly dealt with the oversight of a travel cot not being assigned to our room.

The room itself, for me, was a massive let down. The room was extremely small in size with virtually no space for the small travel cot making the stay uncomfortably squashed, the decor was little better than average however it was certainly clean. I can only assume the room was situated above the main function room within the hotel as the noise levels were incredible, in fairness there was a wedding on however I felt it impossible to actually sleep until the music stopped around 2am. I had called reception on two occasions however I got no reply each time. Thankfully my 2yr old son didn't find any problem in sleeping.

In fairness to the hotel, I didn't make them aware of my complaint the following morning as I left for work very early the next morning and didn't have the time. Due to this I am also unable to rate the breakfast - which I'm told was nice.

My rating is largely based on the room size/quality, especially considering the cost, and the noise within the room - if it was a Premier Inn I'd certainly be looking for my 'no sleep' money back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the west side of the hotel to ensure you are not near to or above the function roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Brisbane Hotel on 15th March 2014 using an itison voucher . On arriving at the hotel we were told our room was not ready we were asked to have a seat in the restaurant area and offered a complimentary drink the waitress then came over and told us our room would be about a 30 minute wait and gave us a complimentary lunch we thought this more than made up for our room not being ready. The staff could not have been any nicer. We stayed on the 2nd floor room 201 the room was clean but could do with a bit of a makeover large stain on the ceiling from water damage really needs to be addressed , the leather sledge bed has seen better days .The floor boards were really creaky so people underneath must have heard us walking about. Also when other guests are having a shower the noise comes straight through the room.Our shower also did not work this only came to light in the morning before we checked out so we informed staff of this. We probably would stay again if we got another deal but definitely would not pay full price.

Room Tip: Ask not to be given room 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely two day break at this hotel. Food was superb and amazing value for money and staff could not do enough for us. The modern decor was appealing and lighting was stylish . We will be back!

Room Tip: Lovely view from room 205 front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

First visit to Brisbane for a couple of years but still as lovely as we remembered it. Good service, lovely food- our only gripe was the noisy floorboards from the room above but we pointed this out when we checked out - don't believe in slating the hotel on here and sure they will look into the problem. We only stayed one night so was not a big deal. Will be back in future as it is a great comfortable hotel in a central location. Great deal through Itison.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

my partner and i stayed overnight last week at the brisbane house hotel and had a really enjoyable stay.the worst thing about it was the weather but i suppose you cant hold anyone responsible for that!!
check in was efficient,staff all friendly and helpful(sorry cant remember names),it waas nice to have a glass of wine brought up to the room-nice gesture.
the room we had was comfortable and clean-well decorated.nice to have a larger tv to watch instead of those wee portable efforts.
the food at the hotel was second to none-excellent menu,a 3 course meal was incuded in the deal price as was a full cooked breakfast.there was an extensive menu to choose from,all food cooked to perfection.
i stuggled to find fault with the stay package-i think the only thing i found was that the bedroom was too warm despite the radiator being off.

we would definately go back there,might just call in for lunch next time we are in largs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A massive thank you to all at the Brisbane House Hotel. We were married here on Friday and had the perfect day, exceeded my expectations at every turn. The wedding planners Liz & Marion are so professional, lovely and helpful, the most stress free wedding ever. We were made to feel special from start to finish nothing was too much trouble. Everything ran so smoothly. The food was lovely, service was fast - again perfect! All our guests have been saying its the best wedding they have ever been to, praise indeed,

For anyone looking to book a wedding venue I honestly couldn't recommend the Brisbane House hotel any higher. amazing venue with wonderful staff who will ensure you also have the perfect day.

Many many thanks!!!
Mr & Mrs Crossan

Room Tip: On the eve of the wedding We stayed in the family Glen Room. beautiful 4 poster bed. 2 sofa beds in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane House Hotel

Address: Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2009- Boutique, Chic, Ayrshire Luxury by the Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brisbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Hotel Largs
Brisbane House Hotel Largs, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.