We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Largs Self Catering (visitlargs.co.uk)

Visitlargs Lanico apartment bedroom
Visitlargs Lanico apartment bedroom
Visitlargs Lanico apartment bedroom
View from local vantage point 5 minutes drive from apartment
Evening view towards the islands from one of our local golf courses
Visitlargs Trinaka apartment Kitchen
Visitlargs Lanico apartment lounge
Largs
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marsam196...
bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent accomodation ,well equipped good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Me and my wife rented the lanico apartment as part of a large family group who also rented 3 of the other apartments.
We were welcomed by Karen who was very pleasant and very helpful and they also supply a welcome pack that is very nice including haggis and scots oats which were lovely &and a lovely pamper pack in the bathroom.
The lanico is a well equipped apartment which has everything you would need ,the kitchen has just been refitted and is very well equipped.
the living and dining area is large enough to spend time comfortably and eat.
the bathroom has a bath and shower which have constant hot water which is very handy.
The location of the apartments is excellent as you are very close to local amenities such as the seafront and food shopping.
Just round the corner is a local butchers which stocks all the usual meats plus a few you may have not tried before ,my wife chose ZEBRA & I chose IMPALA which were both beautiful.
There are several excellent pubs nearby which do very good food for a reasonable price the best we found was JD Sharps which is a 5 minute walk away.
Once again the accomodation is excellent and the location is superb.

Thank you very much Karen and Richard we would definately reccomend you and your apartments to anyone visiting largs.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: accomodation and location
Liked least: could not fault anything
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sgtchilco
South Glos
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

I have stayed in this accommodation several times over the years.

They are spacious, spotlessly clean, functional and very well equipped.

Ideal for either short or long stay and in a very good location for the centre of Largs, the ferry port or the railway station.

The owners always make me feel very welcome and I look forward to my return visit.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: clean and spacious
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
karin p
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air and stroll along the westcoast and islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

In our search for any kind of accommodation on the south-west coast of Scotland we found this appartment on the internet. A clean, luxurios and cosy appartment near the town center.
We were welcomed by the very friendly owners and were shown around the appartment with bath, washer/dryer, oven and microwave available.
In the appartment there were much brochures and folders of museums, castles, activities and walking tours in the area. Anything else we would like to know we could ask.
For the price we payed, we certainly could not have brought our caravan on the ferry from the Netherlands.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: near the town center
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ginabella...
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ideal location, clean and homely, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Largs for 1 week and had a lovely time staying in one of Karen & Richards apartments. There was a friendly welcome from Karen although we turned up with our suitcases at 9.00am, didn't seem to be a problem. The kitchen was well equiped, the bathroom was adequate, bed was comfortable and plenty of TV channels to wach just in case it rained !! The apartment was clean and the location was ideal. very close to the main shops, local supermarket.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The overall cleanliness and feel of the apartment
Liked least: The Stairs in the landing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Margaret...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A cancellation - booked the day before - what a gift!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The apartments were all booked for the week I needed but Karen kindly contacted me when a cancellation came up and as I hadn't made any firm plans I was able to come at a day's notice. The location is excellent, within walking distance from the train station. Local transport is also just around the corner and all the shops you need are also on the doorstep. The local swimming pool has a sauna and steam room and is only 5 minutes walk away. All in all, a great place for a week of relaxation.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Owner management
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2011
Hi Margaret. Thank you for your very kind comments. Karen and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Lanico apartment, and of course we really hope that you'll return for another realxing break in the near future if your job permits. God bless! Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
fgc189970
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm friendly welcom to the start of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Richard and Karen always provide a warm friendly welcome on arrival, which helps to relax us after a lot of travelling. Their apartments are small but tastefully furnished and includes everything one needs in an apartment. We have visited them on 4 of the last 5 years and hope we will be able to continue this in the years to come.Richard and Karen provide that personal touch which makes all the difference.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: central position and value for money
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NormandMa...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A perfect base from which to explore Ayreshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Karen and Richard were very friendly and helpful. They left us a selection of Scottish produce and some milk in the fridge which was greatly appreciated. Morrison's supermarket is only half a mile away so stocking up with essentials is no problem.
The apartment we had was on the top floor with a view of the surrounding hills. Everything we needed was provided and it was easy to relax in the evening with a comfy settee and armchair and a good quality TV/DVD with basic Sky channels.
Largs is a good resort with many cafes/bars/restaurants and shops. Best of all are the Italian ice cream shops with Nardini's Art Deco ice cream mecca on the sea front a must for all visitors to try.
Returning guests get a guaranteed discount on future holidays and we hope to return next year.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$78
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Richard & Karen T
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a week
Calendar Updated: 116 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing